We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, value”
Review of Park Shore Waikiki

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Park Shore Waikiki
Ranked #20 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We picked Park Shore because of its value and close proximity to the beach. Its location at the East end of the Waikiki strip turned out to be very convenient to get away to other parts of Oahu like Diamond Head, Koko Crater, Hanauma Bay, Kane'ohe, etc. The Waikiki strip is a traffic nightmare at times, so if you plan to explore beyond Waikiki, this could be the perfect hotel for you. Even if you plan to spend your entire trip in Waikiki, its still a decent choice.

Note: we were celebrating our 5th wedding anniversary and were given a "free upgrade" from a standard room to a partial ocean view (see photo).

PROS
- Steps away from Waikiki Beach (the "slightly" less busy end too!)
- Convenient location to 'escape' Waikiki to other parts of the island
- Wonderful "picnic food" shop (Tucker + Bevvy)
- Bar & Grill is one of the most popular nightlife spots on the Waikiki strip
- Surf School, ABC Store, Expedia expert, Starbucks all in lobby or adjacent
- FREE WI-FI (a must for all hotels I stay at)

CONS
- Small room (not a huge deal as we didn't spend much time there)
- Busy street corner, noisy on lanai or with door open
- Pool faces same busy street corner
- Wifi is a bit slow unless you pay for upgrade (its enough for email and browsing though, just don't try to download an iTunes movie in under 24 hours!)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Aloha David R,

Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review on your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our incredible location with all of the nearby amenities and the value you received for your experience with us. we hope that you are able to return again in the future, and will ensure that you have another nice stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,669)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,171 - 1,177 of 1,669 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights in April.

Booked two separate rooms (Junior Suite and a standard room for our two teenage daughters).

Both rooms were located on the 18th floor with the suite having a beautiful view out to Diamond Head.

Check in was very efficient thanks to Eric who went out of his way to provide information about the hotel and surrounding area.

The rooms were clean although the bed and pillows were on the firm side.

There was also no electric jug (kettle) in the room.

The pool is nice but we found the streamed music somewhat monotonous.

Overall this is a great hotel in close proximity to the beach and shuttle pick up/bus service.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite with a view over the beach and Diamond Head.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brent E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Aloha Brent E,

Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review on your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the beautiful views from your Diamond Head Suite, our outstanding service professionals, and our excellent location. I will be sure to let Erik know about your positive feedback. It is much appreciated. We do offer hot water kettles for tea. They are available by calling the Front Desk, and we will have it delivered to your room for you. We hope that you are able to return again in the future, and we will ensure that you have another wonderful stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed at the Park Shore the first part of April and were so pleased with our stay. GREAT location, walk out the front door and across the street to the beach. Far enough away from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki but close enough to walk anywhere you need to go. Beach was far less crowded at this end! Valet service was great and fast, under 2 minutes each time to get the car. We stayed in room 1224 (ocean view), great corner room with views of the ocean and diamond head. Second floor from the top. Room service every day was nice. Free towels to use for the beach. The only downfall I would say is that the room is a touch small but for all we needed it for it was just fine! Will for sure stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1224- corner room second floor from the top. Great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Crystal_Rae16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Aloha Crystal_Rae16,

Thank you for taking the time to write a very nice review on your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the stunning views of the Pacific Ocean and Diamond Head from your renovated Ocean Front room, our great location, and our efficient and friendly service professionals. We are very excited that you will be returning again in the future, and we will ensure that you have another wonderful stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Perfect. I was tasked with finding a hotel for myself and several friends - a scary proposition considering the expectations of a Hawaiian vacation. But the Park Shore met them all!

I booked the Partial Ocean View room and got just that and more. I was in room 719 which is in the corner of the building facing the ocean. While my balcony looked directly at the balcony on the opposite side I still had a fantastic view of the ocean, pool and zoo. My friends were in 608 and they had a window (no balcony) that looked directly at the ocean and a balcony that looked directly at another building but when you sat on the balcony you could look between the buildings for a nice ocean view. I liked my room better!

Lobby is bright and open. Rooms are modern, clean and spacious. My room was a bit smaller than some but it was a fair trade off for the view. All rooms come with a coffee maker and mini fridge. Perfect for those yummy finds at the Kings Village Farmers Market days. There's also a communal microwave on the third floor and complimentary coffee and infused water in the lobby.

Speaking of lobby, the front desk people, Brian, Jessica, et al, were always helpful and friendly. They offered us the use of a hospitality room when we had to check out but still had time to hit the pool. Oh, the pool. Yes, small but we liked it that way. Calm, nice pool chairs and a great view of the beach. On Wednesday the Management had a "get to know you" party at 5:30pm at the pool. I didn't go but sat on my balcony watching it and it looked like fun!

There are two ABC's, one on each side of the hotel, along with a Starbucks and a great little sandwich shop. Tiki's is just up the street. The food at Tiki's is a bit pedestrian for my taste but the views can't be beat. We ordered the edamame here and it came floating in butter and garlic. Super yummy but not your traditional healthy treat!

The hotel is directly across the street from a beautiful stretch of Kuhio Beach. The hotel has a limited number of beach chairs and towels that you simply sign out for (complimentary) at the Bell Stand. I first went to the right side of the pier where the beach is protected by a rock wall. Schools of beautiful fish swim through here and it's the perfect place for children as there are no waves…just a beautiful sandy beach. A bit tame for my taste so I spent more time on the "surf" side of the pier.

The Hans Hedemann Surf School is located in the lobby of the Park Shore and they have a stand on the beach where you can rent snorkels, boogie boards, etc. Take the surf lessons! We also booked a tour at the Expedia Desk to visit the USS Arizona and were not disappointed.

Overall, I think the happy, friendly vibe, the location and the clean, updated rooms made this hotel more of an "experience" than just a stay.

Things to do while at the Park Shore:
* Walk up Kapahulu to the Corner Kitchen for some good grub and fantastic local music from 6:30pm - 8:30pm each night but Sunday.
* Shop for a vintage Hawaiian shirt at Bailey's on Kapahulu (one block north of Corner Kitchen)
* Eat malasadas at Leonard's Bakery. They come straight out of the kitchen, warm and ready to eat. Eat them immediately for a heavenly treat! (oh, come on, you're on vacation!)
* Hike Diamond Head (a 3 mile walk from the hotel). Views are unbelievable.
* Have an authentic plate lunch at Pioneer Saloon
* Eat breakfast or dinner at Goofy's. Eggs Benedict with pulled Hawaiian pork was to die for.
* Go to MarakameUdon for the best noodles EVER. You will have to wait in line, it goes fast and is worth the wait. Have the #5 and then have some of the tempura on the side. So delish!
* Shop at 88 Tees for some of the funkiest, fun t-shirts ever. Plus just the store itself is worth the visit.

I, and my friends, will make the Park Shore Waikiki our first choice for a hotel when we return to Waikiki. And we will return!

Room Tip: I was in 719 and is considered partial ocean view and was a great room. Smaller than most but with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Jenifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Aloha Jennifer W,

Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review regarding your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your renovated Partial Ocean View room, our excellent location with all of the nearby amenities, and our incredible service professionals. I will be sure to provide your positive feedback to Brian and Jessica. Your comments are very much appreciated. We are excited that you will be returning again in the future, and we will ensure that you have another pleasurable stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed here in mid April as a family group of three parties and had a very welcoming and supportive visit. We received early check-in on the morning of our arrival and were all on the same floor which made quickly seeing each other so easy. Our views were all different but equally gorgeous and being on the 10th Floor kept us away from any real noise below. We hired an SUV for the day to drive around the island and it was organized through the hotel - delivered to the door and dropped off in the same way so it made for a hassle free process especially as we had a young child with us. The child friendly beach right outside was perfect for us all and we enjoyed many days relaxing there too. The Honolulu Zoo is just across the way and a terrific little zoo which the family enjoyed. Tucker & Bevvy the downstairs cafe had great healthy wraps, sandwiches, fruit, yummy smoothies and especially catered for the gluten free needs we had for a child - a rare treat!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Elsa2703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Aloha Elsa2703,

Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review regarding your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the views of the Pacific Ocean from your renovated guest room, our new onsite Volvo Car Rental Program, and our fabulous location with all of the nearby amenities. We hope that you are able to return again in the future, and we will ensure that you have another excellent stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

There seemed to be more rooms without a good clear view of the beach than with, so we weren't too disappointed when our view of the ocean was at an angle (i.e. looking down the side of the building). We also had a view of Diamond Head from the window, and it's a great view. It was handy to be so close to the beach, out the front of the hotel and cross the road at the lights and you're on the sand (well, on the footpath that leads onto the sand).

Although the room wasn't huge, we had a bar fridge and a safe, which were two things lacking in many of the other rooms we stayed in over the course of our four week US vacation, so we were happy with that! The bed was large and comfortable and the rooms were well maintained and clean.

The staff at the hotel were really helpful and friendly, anything we asked for was no problem.

We hired a car from the hotel, which is a new service they have started and made it very convenient. We'd been advised by the shuttle driver that it was cheaper to get a car from the airport, but that would have meant a cab or shuttle ride back to the airport to collect it and then either a fee to drop it in town or another ride back after dropping it off. The price to hire a good quality car (they are all Volvos) direct from the hotel is reasonable ($63 for a sedan or SUV and $71 for a convertible) and you don't have to pay valet parking at the hotel if you use one of their cars.

Make sure you check out the Japanese restaurant in the foyer of the hotel, as it was certainly not standard hotel fare. The food was fresh and delicious and the restaurant was full of Japanese people, which I always think is a good sign, and the prices were reasonable.

Room Tip: The full beach view rooms are lower level rooms and they are more pricey, but if that's what you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Aloha JulieLee75,

Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review regarding your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am happy that you enjoyed your renovated guest room with views of the Pacific Ocean and Diamond Head, our outstanding onsite Volvo Car Rental Program, and our superb service professionals. We hope that you are able to return again in the future, and we will ensure that you have another wonderful stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is in an excellent location at the end of Waikiki beach. We spend one night and were able to experience the whole beach scene. The hospitality room was awesome to freshen up for our flight to Maui! Cheeseburger in Paradise is down the street with an excellent progressive happy hour. Our room had an awesome view of diamond head, the zoom and the ocean!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Aloha Brian D,

Thank you for taking the time to write a very nice review on your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our incredible location, your renovated Ocean View room, the complimentary Hospitality Room for early arrivals and late departures, and our excellent service professionals. We hope that you are able to return again in the future, and we will ensure another wonderful stay for you.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Oasis
#25 of 84 in Honolulu
639 reviews
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#18 of 84 in Honolulu
1,699 reviews
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#13 of 84 in Honolulu
2,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#11 of 84 in Honolulu
680 reviews
Waikiki
Hotel Renew
Hotel Renew
#19 of 84 in Honolulu
2,301 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Shore Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Shore Waikiki

Address: 2586 Kalakaua Ave., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-6614
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £135 - £285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Park Shore Waikiki 3.5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the best views around, the renovated Park Shore Waikiki is perfectly located fronting world-famous Waikiki Beach and is situated between picturesque Diamond Head and the excitement of Waikiki. For the ultimate experience, select an Ocean view room that features breathtaking ocean views, or select a Diamond Head room for open views of the Diamond Head crater. All rooms have a private lanai. The hotel's remarkable location is steps to the Honolulu Zoo, Kapiolani Park, Waikiki Shell and Waikiki Aquarium. Learn more about Park Shore Waikiki during our weekly Manager's Reception. You'll also enjoy having a mini-refrigerator and coffeemaker in guestrooms for added convenience. Need to grab lunch or need some gifts for your family back home? Park Shore Waikiki offers an array of onsite shops and restaurant for your needs. Retail Shops ABC Store (6:00 am – 12:00 midnight) Hans Hedemann Surf School (8:00 am – 5:00 pm) Restaurants Lulu’s Restaurant (7:00 am – 10:30 am, 11:00 am – 2:00 am) Starbucks Coffee (4:00 am – 11:00 pm) Tucker & Bevvy (6:00 am – 7:30 pm) Yoshitsune Japanese Restaurant (Breakfast 6:00 am – 10:30 am Lunch 11:00 am – 2:30 pm) Dinner 5:30 am – 10:30 pm) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Shore Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Shore Waikiki Honolulu
Park Shore Hotel Hawaii
Park Shore Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing