We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun in paradise!”
Review of Park Shore Waikiki

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Park Shore Waikiki
Ranked #20 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This was my 8th trip to Oahu and the Park Shore was one of the best I've stayed at. My husband and I recently stayed there early may to celebrate our 5 year anniversary. I've stayed at 7 other hotels but I never got the "Aloha" feeling from them like I did here. Leny, Desiree, Violet and a few others were always helpful at the front desk. This hotel is smaller but had all the amenities you will need. Every staff member (maintenance crew, maids, valet, etc.) said hi to us with a smile.

The rooms: We originally got the ocean front room (such a bargain for the incredible view). The room was on the small side but perfectly comfortable for the two of us. On the 2nd night, we had an issue with our room, the staff and manager on duty were quick to correct the issue and relocate us to a different room. We ended up getting the Jr. Suite that was almost double the size with an amazing view of the ocean and Diamond head. Definitely get a ocean view, ocean front or Jr. Suite rooms, totally worth the upgrade. Beds were comfy, plenty of space in the bathrooms.

Perks: You can borrow chairs and towels from the front desk, so no need to bring, buy or rent any. They also offer a car rental service (all Volvos) for $63/day for sedan or $71/day SUV. If you keep the car for multiple days, you do not have to pay for parking ($25). We ended up getting a sedan for two days, it was a lot of fun to drive and pretty good on gas. Lulu's is a fun place to go and have drinks in the evening. There is a pool but we never used it, the beach was right across the street.

Cons: You have to pay to print your boarding pass downstairs in the lobby, but it was only $1 so not a big deal. Other posters complained about the homeless people out front but that's a city issue that the hotel really has no control over. Other then that, I can't think of anything negative about our stay, that's why they get 5 stars!

Room Tip: Get an ocean view, ocean front or the Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itaneasily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Aloha itaneasily,

Thank you for taking the time to write a very nice review on your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our exceptional location, your renovated Diamond Head Suite, and our superior service professionals. I will be sure to let Leny, Desiree, and Violet know of your postive feedback. We look forward to you returning again in the future, and we will ensure that you have another outstanding stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,620)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,113 - 1,119 of 1,620 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

Just returned from our sixth year in a row to Hawaii .Changed to the Park Shore from its sister hotel at the western end of beach and worth the change .
Hotel recently upgraded , in a great location with plenty of eating options close by .A walk to the main shopping area is a comfortable 10 to 15 minutes .
The beach directly across the street is great for those who only want a quick dip in either the lagoon of the ocean proper.If the beach is too much then just relax around a very good pool area .
Towels and chairs provided free of charge
Wifi works great all the time .Buses stop literally at the front door which makes getting around very easy ,especially the Ala Moana shopping centre
Hotel staff all excellent especially those in the sometimes difficult activities planning area.
Only thing missing is tea making facilities in the room .Filtered coffee is provided daily .
Will be returning next year

Room Tip: The partial ocean views provide a balcony with an adequate view between the adjoining hotel . You c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Darrell W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Aloha Darrell W,

Thank you for taking the time to write a very nice review regarding your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed our stellar location, your renovated guest room, and the excellent service professionals. We do offer tea pots with tea upon request. Please contact our Front Desk, and we will be happy to deliver a tea kettle for you and ensure that you do not run out of tea. We hope that you are able to return again in the future, and we will ensure that you have another wonderful stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Our family have been guests at the Park Shore since 1974...it has it all for a wonderful family vacation or if you are just there for a few nights! The staff are customer service guru's...call for room reservations now!

We walk to the Aquarium and beach is across the street! Starbucks is on the first floor and something is always happening at Lulu's. Our rooms are clean and the beds smell fresh and flowery! Thank you for great trip Scott and team! See you soon, The Gallighers and Tammy Cook

Room Tip: All the rooms are great but the fifth floor ocean or partial ocean are great to people watch and tak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TLCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Aloha TL Cook,

Thank you for taking the time to write a very nice review on your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our prime location, the renovated guest rooms, and our wonderful service professionals. Your incredible loyalty is very much appreciated, and we look forward to your next visit. We will ensure that you have another great stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This hotel is located at the end of Waikiki right next to the zoo. Our room overlooked the pool and had a view of the beach and diamondhead. The location is a little noisy, so if you need total quiet to sleep you may want to choose another hotel. We were able to walk to the Diamondhead Market and Grill for a breakfast of delicious coconut pancakes.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annefrances2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Aloha annefrances2014,

Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review regarding your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our outstanding location, and the views of the Pacific Ocean and Diamond Head. I am sorry that Waikiki was too noisy. It is a big city with a lot of activity. Our higher floor rooms do provide more privacy. We hope that you are able to return again in the future, and we will ensure that you have a very nice stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

What a great find! I was just in Hawaii to celebrate my birthday it was a last minute trip and I have to say Park Shore was the perfect hotel for me! It is located at the east end of Waikiki - less than a 5 minute walk to the beach, great juice shop next to the lobby, and the rooms were perfect! Everything was clean and the room was big with a view of the ocean. The pool is also nice, but who hangs at the pool when there is a beautiful beach just outside? Overall this hotel was a steal in my opinion.
I would come back again!! Mahalo Park Shore!

Room Tip: I had a partial ocean view and it was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Aloha staravalos,

Thank you for taking the time to write a very nice review regarding your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our spectacular location with all of the nearby amenities and your renovated guest room. We hope that you are able to return again next year for your birthday celebration again or even sooner. We will ensure that you have another wonderful stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Back again for a second year and this time took an ocean front room. Well worth the extra money. It's great to sit out in the morning or evening watching the surfers or just the world go bye.. Location is great with buses at the door to the beaches , the shopping centres and the Arizona Memorial.
The beach itself is just across the street and the hotel supply beach chairs, towels and beach shoes so just bring your swimsuit and sun screen.
Staff are really friendly too so what more can you want?
Also free wifi, fridge, coffee, safety deposit and iron and ironing board.
Here for two weeks and wish I could come every year but three flights from Scotland make it a bit difficult. Still fingers crossed.

Room Tip: Ocean front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank L1z123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Aloha L1z123,

Thank you for taking the time to write a very nice review on your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the excellent views from your renovated Ocean Front room, the wonderful and friendly service professionals, and our incredible locatoin with all of the nearby amenities. We hope that you can make the journey again from Scotland soon. We will ensure that you have another fabulous stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Park Shore Waikiki is very well situated at the east end of Waikiki beach, just across the street from the beach and with the perfect view onto Diamond Head . Hotel is nice, clean and the staff is very, very friendly and helpful. Room was big and clean with a balcony with side wiew to the ocean. The free wireless internet was working perfect.

In vicinity is Starbucks, bar and restaurant with fast food but also any other attraction (zoo, aquarium...) and Waikiki beach are in walking distance.

If you get a good price for room in this hotel, I highly recomend this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose the room with the ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SebastjanP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Aloha SebastjanP,

Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review on your recent styay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our outstanding location at the end of Waikiki Beach, the incredibly friendly service professionals, and the stunning views from your renovated Ocean View room. We hope that you are able to return again in the future, and we will ensure that you have another wonderful stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Oasis
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
630 reviews
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#17 of 84 in Honolulu
1,684 reviews
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#13 of 84 in Honolulu
2,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#11 of 84 in Honolulu
638 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis
The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Shore Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Shore Waikiki

Address: 2586 Kalakaua Ave., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-6614
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £132 - £262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Park Shore Waikiki 3.5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the best views around, the renovated Park Shore Waikiki is perfectly located fronting world-famous Waikiki Beach and is situated between picturesque Diamond Head and the excitement of Waikiki. For the ultimate experience, select an Ocean view room that features breathtaking ocean views, or select a Diamond Head room for open views of the Diamond Head crater. All rooms have a private lanai. The hotel's remarkable location is steps to the Honolulu Zoo, Kapiolani Park, Waikiki Shell and Waikiki Aquarium. Learn more about Park Shore Waikiki during our weekly Manager's Reception. You'll also enjoy having a mini-refrigerator and coffeemaker in guestrooms for added convenience. Need to grab lunch or need some gifts for your family back home? Park Shore Waikiki offers an array of onsite shops and restaurant for your needs. Retail Shops ABC Store (6:00 am – 12:00 midnight) Hans Hedemann Surf School (8:00 am – 5:00 pm) Restaurants Lulu’s Restaurant (7:00 am – 10:30 am, 11:00 am – 2:00 am) Starbucks Coffee (4:00 am – 11:00 pm) Tucker & Bevvy (6:00 am – 7:30 pm) Yoshitsune Japanese Restaurant (Breakfast 6:00 am – 10:30 am Lunch 11:00 am – 2:30 pm) Dinner 5:30 am – 10:30 pm) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Splitty, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Park Shore Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Shore Waikiki Honolulu
Park Shore Hotel Hawaii
Park Shore Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing