We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view, bring ear plugs”
Review of Park Shore Waikiki

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Park Shore Waikiki
Ranked #20 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Talk about a sweet score. Hard to get more beach-front than the Park Shore. As others have mentioned, rooms are fairly small (think NYC size) but they are more than enough for your stay. Yes they are also spotless and very welcoming. I was given an upgrade to an ocean view room and enjoyed the sunset every night from the balcony.

Keep in mind, this is a narrow property as my wing only had rooms on one side. The other side of the hallway going to the room is open to an alley which happens to be where many trash trucks and delivery vehicles visit at ALL HOURS of night. I did hear it at 1am, 2:30, 4, 5am. Bring ear plugs just to drown out the BEEP BEEP BEEP that you could hear.

Even with the truck noise I would still highly recommend this property for your stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank grif858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Aloha grif858,

Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review regarding your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am glad to hear that you upgraded to our renovated Ocean View room and enjoyed the sunset views from your room. I am sorry about the noise. Waikiki is a very busy and vibrant city that does have noise throughout Waikiki. The noise happens to be less in our area at the end of Waikiki compared to the center of Waikiki. We appreciate your recommendation for others to stay with us, and hope that you are able to return again in the future as well. We will ensure that you have another excellent stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,750)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,163 - 1,169 of 1,750 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

Arrived at the hotel was greeted by staff very friendly , along the way we have asked questions about restaurants and shopping and they gave been very helpful , the rooms are clean , tidy they have a great Japanese restaurant ground floor , star bucks on the corner and is located across from Waikiki beach , very kid friendly staff and hotel the zoo is just across the road and staying in this hub it's only about a 10 min $10-$15 ride to the big mall

They have booklets for food you can order from restaurants .. No room service but there is so much surrounding this hotel it's a great find we will stay here again!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jadesingsnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Aloha jadesingsnow,

Thank you for taking the time to write a very nivce review regarding your recent stay at park Shore Waikiki. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our very attentive and friendly service professionals, and all of the nearby amenities that are offered. We are excited that you will be returning again in the future, and will ensure that you have another memorable experience.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We are coming to the end of a week stay and are glad we stayed here. I wanted a hotel on the beach with a lanai with ocean views. The view from our room (1007) is spectacular stretching from Diamond Head to a great expanse of Waikiki Beach. As the hotel overlooks the zoo the view is uninterrupted and you are not overlooked in the 07 rooms by any other room. Complete privacy. The lanais fit 2 chairs and a side table easily and are very large for a lanai. I was worried about the size of the rooms given other comments but we have 2 double beds and there is plenty of space. The 07 rooms also have a second window which overlooks the ocean to watch the sun go down. Lu Lu's the bar downstairs was noisy at night but shutting the doors cut out most of the noise. The airconditioning is very good and stays cold all night. The shower head and water pressure is superb. All round highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Windy-Beach-Princess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Aloha Windy-Beach-Princess,

Thank you for taking the time to write a very nice review on your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the impeccable views from your renovated Ocean Front Room. I am sorry that Lulus had created some noise, however, it is a very lively place, and a lot of fun. I hope that you are able to return again in the future, and we will ensure that you have another wonderful stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

There are more luxurious (and expensive) hotels elsewhere in Waikiki, but my wife and I agreed that the Park Shore offered the best location for us; a clean, not-overlarge, but quite satisfactory room (1121, I believe) with an eye-pleasing view of the beach and ocean; relative affordability; and very helpful staff. We found it quieter and less frenetic to be at very end of the Waikiki hotel strip, across the street from the zoo and a park, a walkable distance to Diamond Head. Nice that the beach area across the street from the hotel was sheltered by a breakwater. LuLu’s, the hotel’s second-floor open-air dining restaurant, seemed to have a varied and reasonable menu, and the sandwich shop adjoining the hotel entrance offered a quicker alternative. On Thursdays, for a more casual meal you might try the farmer’s market held in the courtyard of the Hyatt Regency up the strip. Overall we had a very pleasant experience at the Park Shore, and would not hesitate to recommend it. Though we lost a full day on Oahu thanks to United Airlines, the hotel understandingly modified our reservation from 3 nights to 2. We were still able to visit the Arizona and Missouri (with E Noa Tours – mahalo, Carlos!), and we did hike Diamond Head (took a cab to the entrance lot, but walked back to hotel), each of which should not be missed.

Room Tip: We had a nice view of the ocean, and woke early to the full moon suspended over it. Think seriously...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Aloha J K,

Thank you for taking the time to write a very nice review on your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean from your renovated Ocean Front room, all of the nearby amenities that are available on property and nearby, and our wonderful and helpful service professionals. We hope that you are able to return again in the future, and we will ensure that you have another exceptional stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed in July and I booked three nights in partial sea view room to hold down cost and then move to a full seaview for last two nights. Staff upgraded us on arrival to a seaview room on 11th floor so that was nice. We assumed we would stay there but after three nights they upgraded us again to a king sized seaview room on 17th floor. Staff were helpful to all that we saw in the lobby and there's a good price shuttle to the airport. The Zoo is opposite and is the amazing Diamond Head view and lovely beachfront. Not as noisy as central Waikiki but easy to walk to main area. An ABC shop adjoins the lobby and a woman assists with tours within the lobby. A great experience so thanks. If you like tea, ensure they give some teabags!!!!!!

Room Tip: Seaviews cost but the view to Doamond Head is also nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Chiefgreyhair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Aloha Chiefgreyhair,

Thank you for taking the time to write a very nice review regarding your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the views fro myour renovated Ocean View room, our very helpful and coutesous staff, and all of the nerarby amenities that are available. We hope that you are able to return again in the future, and we will ensure that you will enjoy another great stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed 3 nights in June. We arrived a few hours before the check-in time and I was nervous that we'd be sitting in the lobby for hours with our luggage. But we walked right up and they told us our room was ready. I was very pleased.
Facing Diamond Head and the beach, the view was breath-taking. We looked right over the zoo and could actually see the flamingos around the lagoon and hear the monkeys(?). The room was not large but was exactly what I expected in a city where space is at a premium. It had everything we needed including a large lanai where we spent most of our time when in the room. The room and, more importantly, the bathroom felt clean and the bed was very comfortable.
The only issue we had was on Monday night when the noise from Lulu’s club next door went into the wee hours in the morning. We like to sleep with fresh air but that night we had to shut the door and go with a/c. Even with the glass door shut, it was loud. Luckily it was only that 1 night. The other nights were perfectly peaceful.
We rented a Volvo directly from the hotel for one day on a last minute decision. For a last minute car rental decision, the price was fair. They have only a few available so be sure to inquire as soon as you can. The car was really nice. Getting to and from the freeway from the hotel was also extremely convenient. On parking, there’s metered parking on Kalakaua Ave as you head to Diamond Head. After 6pm, parking is free until sometime in the morning. It might be tough finding a spot during the day but if you wanted to park your car overnight, there were plenty of people leaving as it got later in the afternoon. We parked for a few hours about a 5 minute walk from the hotel and from our room, we could see the car. The bonus was we found a meter that still had time left in it and didn’t have to pay! It might be worth checking out the parking situation on that street.
Overall, the location being across from the beach was such a plus! And the people working at the reception desk were very friendly. Although when I asked about the best way to get to the airport, the girl was strangely unhelpful. She just said the best way depends on the person and how long they want to take to get there. Uh…thanks, but I kinda figured that out myself.
One tip: Right around the corner from the hotel, The Cookie Corner shares a space with Subway (between the Aston Waikiki hotel and the Starbucks). I would highly recommend the cookies. They were so delicious! We went there every day. And just before I climbed into the cab to take off for the airport, I ran over there and bought a dozen to take home.

Room Tip: When booking a room, call to talk to someone on the phone to make sure you get the type of room you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank stilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Aloha stilla,

Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review on your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the views from your renovated Ocean View room, all of the nearby amenities that our property offers, and the in house Volvo Car Rental Program. We do offer free parking when you rent a Volvo, so there is no need to park off property. We hope that you are able to return again in the future, and we will ensure that you have another excellent stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

In all fairness I must say up front that we only stayed overnight to catch our plane out the next day, however, from what we experienced at this hotel, it was very nice. We found the rooms comfortable and ample in size, although not near as nice as some of our other stays on the other islands. The beds were a little harder than I am used to, but not uncomfortable. We did not eat in the restaurant because it was way too loud for us. We like to party as much as the next person, but when I eat dinner, I like to be able to talk with our friends without screaming. However, a younger crowd was having a great time. They were helpful storing our luggage until we left, although one of the people at the desk were a little surly, overall the staff was helpful. I would stay here again, and I can recommend it. Based on other reviews, perhaps a longer stay and more use of the amenities would make for a fairer review.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Lexaqua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Aloha Lexaqua,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am glad that you enjoyed your renovated room. We do offer plush pads to add to the bed if you feel that it is too firm for your next visit. We do offer many dining options on property and close by, and I am sure with more time you would of been able to take advantage of them. I hope that you decide to return again in the future, and we will ensure that you have a fabulous stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#19 of 84 in Honolulu
1,745 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
660 reviews
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#11 of 84 in Honolulu
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#12 of 84 in Honolulu
2,651 reviews
Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis
The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Shore Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Shore Waikiki

Address: 2586 Kalakaua Ave., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-6614
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £119 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Park Shore Waikiki 3.5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the best views around, the renovated Park Shore Waikiki is perfectly located fronting world-famous Waikiki Beach and is situated between picturesque Diamond Head and the excitement of Waikiki. For the ultimate experience, select an Ocean view room that features breathtaking ocean views, or select a Diamond Head room for open views of the Diamond Head crater. All rooms have a private lanai. The hotel's remarkable location is steps to the Honolulu Zoo, Kapiolani Park, Waikiki Shell and Waikiki Aquarium. Learn more about Park Shore Waikiki during our weekly Manager's Reception. You'll also enjoy having a mini-refrigerator and coffeemaker in guestrooms for added convenience. Need to grab lunch or need some gifts for your family back home? Park Shore Waikiki offers an array of onsite shops and restaurant for your needs. Retail Shops ABC Store (6:00 am – 12:00 midnight) Hans Hedemann Surf School (8:00 am – 5:00 pm) Restaurants Lulu’s Restaurant (7:00 am – 10:30 am, 11:00 am – 2:00 am) Starbucks Coffee (4:00 am – 11:00 pm) Tucker & Bevvy (6:00 am – 7:30 pm) Yoshitsune Japanese Restaurant (Breakfast 6:00 am – 10:30 am Lunch 11:00 am – 2:30 pm) Dinner 5:30 am – 10:30 pm) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Park Shore Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Shore Waikiki Honolulu
Park Shore Hotel Hawaii
Park Shore Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing