We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget? for Waikiki”
Review of Park Shore Waikiki

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Park Shore Waikiki
Ranked #21 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Budget? for Waikiki”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

First time in Waikiki. We chose this hotel for the price, and not as many negative reviews as other similar hotels. The hotel is located at the end of the beach across the street from beach on one side, and the zoo on the other. Fairly quiet considering location. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel. They have paid parking with valet. A restaurant on the second floor with one of the best people watching areas we found--open air. Very good food. Breakfast is outstanding. Depending on bar tender, the drinks are excellent. We had a partial ocean view--hang over balcony and look down an alley. The view of the hotel in from of our balcony was excellent. To be fair, we did not pay any extra for the room over any non view room. We stayed at other ocean front rooms on Oahu, so no big deal. We REALLY liked the view from the restaurant. Very friendly staff in the hotel and restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lehn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Aloha lehn,

Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review on your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our spectacular location, our friendly and helpful service professionals, and the various amenities that are offered nearby. We appreciate your recommendation, and hope that you are able to return again in the future. We will ensure that you have another nice stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    687
    593
    152
    32
    9
See reviews for
394
729
91
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (479)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This was the first stop in our stay in Oahu so we decided to stay somewhere a bit cheaper at the start and then splurge a bit more when we returned to Oahu after a visit to other islands in the last few days. It turned out that the Park Shore ended up being the better of the two hotels mainly because it was less busy and has a less crowded beach. We booked an ocean front room which was well worth it as there's nothing like sitting out on your balcony in the afternoons and watching the sunset. We also made good use of Tucker and Bevvy which is located within the Hotel and has a great supply of takeaway or dine in sandwiches, salads and juices. The hotel is a short walk to the main part of Waikiki so is accessible to shopping, restaurants and other attractions. I definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank L_HarveySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Aloha L_HarveySydney,

Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review regarding your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the sunset views of the Pacific Ocean in your renovated Ocean Front Room, and also our restaurant Tucker & Bevvy and the other nearby amenities. We appreciate your recommendation, and also hope that you are able to return again in the future. We will ensure that you have another excellent stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kanagawa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2014

great location for body boarders. only minutes away. little far from main area.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yoyoarlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Aloha yoyoarlos,

Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review on your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the surf in front of our hotel. We hope that you are able to return again in the future, and we will ensure that you have another nice stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed in an Ocean Front room and the view was perfect! We could sit on our balcony and look out on the zoo & parkland, as well as the beach & ocean - just sensational. I'm sure there are fancier hotels in Waikiki and I wouldn't want to stay at the Park Shore without a room with a view, but our experience was great. There is a good organic food place off the lobby - Tucker & Bevvy - so you can have a very economical stay by eating their delicious breakfasts and take away salads. The hotel is located just across the road from the beach and they give you the use of hotel towels which is helpful. Others have complained about small rooms and this surprised us as our room was plenty big enough. Similarly, others have mentioned noise from a night club. Maybe we were just lucky but we slept with the balcony doors open so we could hear the ocean and never experienced any noise problems.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wisehams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Aloha Wisehams,

Thank you for taking the time to write a very nice review regarding your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the stunning views of the Pacific Ocean from your renovated Ocean Front room, and our outstanding location next to the Queen Kapiolani Park, and the Honolulu Zoo. We hope that you are able to return again in the future, and we will ensure that you have another great stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel is all about location. It is close to the beach, restaurants and cafes and shops. The service was great. The views were terrific. The only minus from making it above average is it is close to a night club which was noisy one night - even though I was on the tenth floor.

Room Tip: Asking for a quiet room might be good though you would have to forgo the view. The noise was only o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Aloha Carol G,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our incredible location, the views of the Pacific Ocean and Diamond Head, and our warm and friendly service professionals. I am sorry that the noise one night was too loud. I hoipe that you are able to return again in the future, and we will ensure that you have another wonderful stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Talk about a sweet score. Hard to get more beach-front than the Park Shore. As others have mentioned, rooms are fairly small (think NYC size) but they are more than enough for your stay. Yes they are also spotless and very welcoming. I was given an upgrade to an ocean view room and enjoyed the sunset every night from the balcony.

Keep in mind, this is a narrow property as my wing only had rooms on one side. The other side of the hallway going to the room is open to an alley which happens to be where many trash trucks and delivery vehicles visit at ALL HOURS of night. I did hear it at 1am, 2:30, 4, 5am. Bring ear plugs just to drown out the BEEP BEEP BEEP that you could hear.

Even with the truck noise I would still highly recommend this property for your stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank grif858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Aloha grif858,

Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review regarding your recent stay at Park Shore Waikiki. I am glad to hear that you upgraded to our renovated Ocean View room and enjoyed the sunset views from your room. I am sorry about the noise. Waikiki is a very busy and vibrant city that does have noise throughout Waikiki. The noise happens to be less in our area at the end of Waikiki compared to the center of Waikiki. We appreciate your recommendation for others to stay with us, and hope that you are able to return again in the future as well. We will ensure that you have another excellent stay with us.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Arrived at the hotel was greeted by staff very friendly , along the way we have asked questions about restaurants and shopping and they gave been very helpful , the rooms are clean , tidy they have a great Japanese restaurant ground floor , star bucks on the corner and is located across from Waikiki beach , very kid friendly staff and hotel the zoo is just across the road and staying in this hub it's only about a 10 min $10-$15 ride to the big mall

They have booklets for food you can order from restaurants .. No room service but there is so much surrounding this hotel it's a great find we will stay here again!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jadesingsnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spauli, General Manager at Park Shore Waikiki, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Aloha jadesingsnow,

Thank you for taking the time to write a very nivce review regarding your recent stay at park Shore Waikiki. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our very attentive and friendly service professionals, and all of the nearby amenities that are offered. We are excited that you will be returning again in the future, and will ensure that you have another memorable experience.

Mahalo,

Scott Pauli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Aqua Oasis
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
587 reviews
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#60 of 84 in Honolulu
1,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,888 reviews
Waikiki
Pacific Beach Hotel
Pacific Beach Hotel
#50 of 84 in Honolulu
3,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Shore Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Shore Waikiki

Property: Park Shore Waikiki
Address: 2586 Kalakaua Ave., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-6614
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Park Shore Waikiki 3.5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the best views around, the renovated Park Shore Waikiki is perfectly located fronting world-famous Waikiki Beach and is situated between picturesque Diamond Head and the excitement of Waikiki. For the ultimate experience, select an Ocean view room that features breathtaking ocean views, or select a Diamond Head room for open views of the Diamond Head crater. All rooms have a private lanai. The hotel's remarkable location is steps to the Honolulu Zoo, Kapiolani Park, Waikiki Shell and Waikiki Aquarium. Learn more about Park Shore Waikiki during our weekly Manager's Reception. You'll also enjoy having a mini-refrigerator and coffeemaker in guestrooms for added convenience. Need to grab lunch or need some gifts for your family back home? Park Shore Waikiki offers an array of onsite shops and restaurant for your needs. Retail Shops ABC Store (6:00 am – 12:00 midnight) Hans Hedemann Surf School (8:00 am – 5:00 pm) Restaurants Lulu’s Restaurant (7:00 am – 10:30 am, 11:00 am – 2:00 am) Starbucks Coffee (4:00 am – 11:00 pm) Tucker & Bevvy (6:00 am – 7:30 pm) Yoshitsune Japanese Restaurant (Breakfast 6:00 am – 10:30 am Lunch 11:00 am – 2:30 pm) Dinner 5:30 am – 10:30 pm) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Park Shore Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Shore Waikiki Honolulu
Park Shore Hotel Hawaii
Park Shore Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing