We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, great location, excellent price.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger
Ranked #46 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
SAN DIEGO
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, great location, excellent price.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

We apparently were put into one of the renovated rooms and it was lovely. The room was nicely furnished and very clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. The location was excellent.l We booked the AAA rate and it was a bargain compared to other hotels in the area. I highly recommend this hotel, but considering the other recent reviews would make sure that I was put in a renovated room. There is a spa,but the pool is very small. You can use the pool, however, in one of the sister hotels down the street.

Room Tip: Insist on a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RLJAAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NaomiHonolulu, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger, responded to this review, 4 November 2011
Thank you for your positive comments regarding our renovated tower and public areas.
We just completed the spa and pool in September of 2011 and are very excited to now have this on our property. Our pool is small due to the limited area we had to install one, but as you mentioned, all of our guests are welcome to use the pools at our sister hotels, the OHANA Waikiki East and OHANA Waikiki West.
Mahalo again for your feedback.
Nora Weatherwax,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    476
    218
    50
    31
See reviews for
340
261
89
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

My husband and I stayed in the Ohana Waikiki Malia for two nights at the end of our Hawaiian vacation. Before booking, we turned to tripadvisor (like always) and, given all the good reviews, we were pretty confident in our selection. Our confirmed reservation was for a king sized bed on floors "14-18."

Upon arrival, the front desk tells us that they do not have any king beds available, and that it is Ohana's policy not to guarantee specific bed sizes. We were offered either a queen or two twins. We took the queen, and weren't at all concerned, so what if we didn't get a king we thought. Big mistake.

Apparently this hotel has both newly renovated rooms and nonrenovated rooms. We were put into one of the nonrenovated rooms on the 10th floor. We got off the elevator, and spent a good 10 mins searching for our room. There was a sign with our room number on it, but when you opened the door it lead to a stairwell. After a bit of trial and error, we realized you had to go through the stairwell,. into a second stairwell, and up a few steps into an older building that really is more of a motel than a hotel. All of the rooms open on to a main outdoor walkway, like you'd see at most motels, and they all share one balcony on the back...meaning that any of your neighbors can walk right up to the sliding glass door of your room. The rooms look like they were last updated in the 70s, smelled of must and mold and had mysterious stains on the carpet and curtains.

When we went to the front desk to see if we could move rooms, or upgrade if necessary, we were told that the renovated rooms were rented at the same rate as the one we had, and that they'd gladly move us for no charge except that they had literally just rented the last renovated room. They couldn't seem to answer the question of why we were put in a non-renovated room when we checked in, especially since our reservation specifically confirmed that we'd be on floors 14-18 (the non renovated rooms are only on the first 10 floors).

We asked about a reduced rate, or partial refund and were denied. The best they could do was put us on the waiting list for a new room the next day. Luckily, a room opened and we spent the second night in a MUCH nicer room. The renovated rooms are really nice, and I can understand why they get such great reviews here. And aside from the fact that we were put into a crappy room, the staff was all really nice and helpful, so I guess the place has potential.

But I can't give it any higher than 2 stars because having seen the difference between renovated and unrenovated rooms, I find it unconscionable that they are apparently rented out at the same price. I've stayed in hostels that were nicer than the unrenovated rooms at this place!

Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank ambtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NaomiHonolulu, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger, responded to this review, 4 November 2011
Aloha from the OHANA Waikiki Malia Hotel,

Thank you for your feedback regarding our hotel.

Our hotel consists of the Malia Tower and the Luana Wing. We completed a 6 million dollar renovation on the Malia Tower and lobby in 2010. Unfortunately we did not renovate the Luana Wing. The Luana Wing underwent a soft renovation in 2005. The Tower and the Wing are connected exactly as you describe in your review for access to the 10 floor of the Luana Wing.
Please accept our apology for the inconvience you incurred in trying to find your room. We have four elevators in the lobby. One of them is a dedicated Luana Wing elevator. Someone dropped the ball here in not explaining that to you. If you use the one of the other three elevators, you will end up having to search a little to find access to the Luana Wing on the 10th floor. We have just installed additional signage on all our floors to help in this area.

Our Luana Wing is due for a renovation and we are working closly with our owners on getting this accomplished.

I apologize for not meeting your needs with a king bed and your request for a room on floors 14 - 18. We try to fullfill all our guests requests as much as possible. We are in the process of retraining our staff to respond to guest's needs in a more positive way than your case was handled.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding the staff. We value your review and we are working on the issues that you mentioned.

Mahalo and Aloha,

Nora Weatherwax,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

I was traveling for business and wasn't going to get much free time, so this hotel was a perfect choice. It is incredibly clean and well-kept and really well located in the heart of Waikiki, just a few blocks from the beach. My 16th floor room was very large and had a peek-a-boo view of the ocean. The bed was very comfortable and everything in the room was modern and well-kept.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank miwohl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NaomiHonolulu, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger, responded to this review, 4 November 2011
Thank you for staying at our hotel as a perfect choice for your business trip. It is a pleasure to present your positive statements regarding how incredibly clean and well kept our hotel is to our housekeeping staff. We completed our renovation of our Malia Tower and lobby in 2010 which accounts for the room being modern. Your room category is sold as a "city view" room but some of our guests are pleasantly surprise to find a peek-a-boo view of our beautiful ocean.
We appreciate you taking the time to do this review and thank you for your feedback.
Aloha,
Nora Weatherwax,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

We stayed here from Sept 19th 2011 for 4 nights. Our room was spacious and modern as was the bathroom. We had the rate that included breakfast (incl. gratuity) at the IHOP next to the hotel. As soon as the waitress noticed the green breakfast coupon her happy attitude changed! The breakfast is a "set breakfast" that includes eggs, 1 piece bacon, 1 piece of sausage and two pancakes and tea or coffee (a couple of times we were allowed a substitution of toast for the pancakes and hashbrowns for the meat but it depends on the waitress!). As you can get a good breakfast for $3.99 outside the hotel I would recommend going for the hotel only rate. Beach towels are offered at the front desk - the beach is a leisurely 10 minute walk away. You can use your room key to access the "pink Waikiki trolley" behind the hotel free of charge (ideal for the Ala Moana shopping centre). Coffee in the room is awful but there are many coffee houses around. As we had a late flight we were able to store our luggage and use the hotel's hospitality room (15 mins per person) to freshen up before travelling home. All-in-all a great hotel that's safe, in a good location with pleasant, accommodating staff at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loverofkauai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

We loved gthis hotel. When we arrived, we were greeted warmly and advised that $10.00 would be knocked off our already reasonable daily rate because we would be staying a few floors down from the one we booked. Already we're off to a good start. The room was spacious, clean and had a little balcony overlooking the city. It is on a strip with lots of restaurants and close to the shopping area by the beach. We made the mistake of eating breakfast in the IHOP attached to the hotel the first morning (very pricey and you can't get toast with your eggs, just pancakes. What's up with that ??). Fool us once. We walked around and discovered several reasonably priced and good places for breakfast for the remainder of our stay. There is a Mcdonald's a couple of blocks away for a quick start to your day as well.

The hotel does not have its own pool, but guests have the option of using two other hotel pools closer to the beach. We checked them out and both were very nice. Just beware of the time share sales agents in these hotels who will call you over on some guise or other just to give you the spiel on vacation time shares. They can be quite persistent and it's hard to get away without being downright rude. There is a shuttle service every hour to the airport from the lobby of the hotel. The desk staff were efficient and extremely personable. Overall, a good experience for our first trip to Hawai'i.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aprilwineMississauga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

This is a well positioned hotel, about a block back from the main street of Waikiki. The rooms are neat and tidy, beds comfy and the little fridge is handy. There is a good coin operated laundry, the staff are friendly and helpful. The biggest plus is the Waikiki trolley pass you get for free, saves you a bundle, and saves your legs a bit too.
The bathrooms are a little cramped, but the showers are nice and they have a bath in them, so again, all that you need is there.
its not the fanciest hotel, but its nice and what you save on accomodation costs, you can spend on seeing more of Oahu. or shopping ;-)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank junismum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

We stayed 4 nights. Nice lobby and rooms, very secure at night. No one is allowed up the elevator without showing room key to security. Trolley was easily caught behind hotel at DFS. Prime location for night life, as all clubs and bars/restaurants are within walking distance. Clean rooms, service was good, and the price was right. The IHOP was wayyy expensive, so we did not eat there.

No pool or room service but still good value. I recommend for a Waikiki Weekend.

Room Tip: Request high floor room if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cdoggHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#40 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,714 reviews
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
Pagoda Hotel
#66 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Waikiki Beach
#72 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#63 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,594 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#19 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger

Property: OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger
Address: 2211 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2830 (Formerly Ohana Waikiki Malia)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#38 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#42 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger 3*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger is conveniently located in Central Waikiki on Kuhio Avenue and is a short stroll to a wide variety of shopping and dinning on Kalakaua Avenue and the Waikiki Beach Walk promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ohana Waikiki Malia Honolulu
OHANA Waikiki Malia By Outrigger Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing