We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too noisy to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger
Ranked #44 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Too noisy to stay”
Reviewed 6 December 2011

This hotel is located at the center district of Waikiki. Good location for shopping but too noisy for sleep. We couldn't get sleep till very late night, and frequently be waked by all kinds of loud noisy. I wish we could stay at a much quiet place for our vacation.
The $20/day parking is also a challenge for your brave and driving skill. The ramp is really narrow, steep with sharp turns. you have to be very careful when in and out of the garage. I can guess how many accidents by looking the scratches on the wall. My wife pray to the God every time we drove through the ramps.

Room Tip: It's not worth to pay extra money to book one bed room with 'kitchen'. A microoven and e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CBC80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    499
    221
    50
    31
See reviews for
351
272
93
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 December 2011

We vacation in Waikiki almost yearly and have been staying at the Malia for at least the last 15 years, possibly more. That staff have been consistently personable and professional from Sherry and Kristy, who we first meet about 16 years ago to Alvina, Troy, Peter, and the other young fellow whose name I don't remember who work there now. The Ohana Waikiki Malia is conveniently located to bus stops, restaurants, and Kalakaua Avenue stores and not far from the beach. It's not a high luxury hotel so it is perfect for people like us who spend most of the day out and around town and return at night to sleep and who like to stay atleast two weeks there at a time. We would have to limit our stay to a week if we stayed at the more expensive hotels. Perhaps what also works for us is that because we stay there so often, some of the front desk staff have gotten to know us and we consider them our friends. One last note: In every other city we stay in a Marriott and are Marriott reward members that could benefit from a two week stay per year at a Marriott in Waikiki but we choose to stay at the Ohana Waikiki Malia.

Room Tip: The parking lot is a little intimidating. I rent a car only on days that I need it. The bus system...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eru A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NaomiHonolulu, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger, responded to this review, 23 December 2011
Thank you for submitting your review on TripAdvisor. We really appreciate reading a review from someone who has 15 years of experience with our property. We have a wonderful staff here who has many years of service with our company, Outrigger Enterprise Group.

We are centrally located and a lot of our guests appreciated the conveinence to the beach, shopping and dinning. We are a mid-priced hotel which is a good value for a length of stay

Many friendships have been built over the years. These friendships have developed into what we call "OHANA", family.

Thank you for choosing us over a Marriott. We are grateful for your loyalty.

Mahalo,
Nora Weatherwax, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2011

Since we don't spend much time in a Hotel, this was perfect. We were in room 904 which was has a separate bedroom, but only one TV. The staff were very friendly, we asked for some extra Outriggers discount books so the 4 of us could enjoy a reasonable breakfast elsewhere. We were also able to find a parking garage not to far away, but again we stay gone alot so it worked cheaper for us. I would suggest paying their $20 fee if you going to use their shuttle or walking to most everything.

Room Tip: The pool was recently added and it is very small. Higher up less street noises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flipperjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NaomiHonolulu, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger, responded to this review, 23 December 2011
Aloha,

Thank you for your review regarding your stay. Room 904 is a one bedroom kitchenette in
our Luana Wing. Our Malia Tower was recently renovated but our Luana Wing's last soft renovation was in 2004. It was great to read that you enjoyed staying in 904 and that the room was clean. Currently, we do only have one TV in our one bedroom units but I am happy to report that we will be adding a second TV in the bedroom area shortly.

Our location is very central, close to the beach, shopping and dinning. Our friendly staff takes pride in showing the Aloha Spirit to all our guests. We post all our reviews for our staff and it is good for them to read that they are doing a great job!

Mahalo,
Nora Weatherwax, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

After travelling around the world, this was a very poor place (especially by American standards). Do not take a family room with kitchen (small, ugly, noisy). Lots of noise : Harley (motorcycle) shop across the street and the street noise, parking noise on the other side, A/C so noisy, and the sound of the toilet flushing/shower running down the pipes from the room above. And they were doing big noisy work on the building. Guess where the new tiny "swimming" pool and hot tub will be... between the 40 meter high concret wall (no windows) of the shopping mall and the 4-level parking garage. We wanted to run away after one night. Fortunately, the reception offered to move us without extra charge to the Ohana West, which is better.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pierre S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NaomiHonolulu, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger, responded to this review, 8 December 2011
Aloha Pierre,

Thank you for submitting your review to Trip Advisor. Please accept our apologies for the negative experience you had in our one bedroom units in our Luana Wing. Our Luana Wing was built in 1960. It underwent a soft renovation in 2004. We are hoping to renovate it again soon. We are very excited to now have a spa and pool on our property. It is small but we were limited on the space. It was nice to read that our staff was able to move you to our sister property, the OHANA Waikiki West and that your expectations were met there.

Again, thank you for your feedback.

Nora Weatherwax,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Stayed here one night. The staff at reception were very friendly and helpful from beginning to end. The room, though basic, was clean and the bed very comfortable. This hotel is on a busy street so I would advise getting a room higher up to minimize traffic noise. I stayed in room 930 which was corner room that had a tiny balcony but a view of the canal which most of the rooms would not have. The television cable channels are limited so I recommend this hotel for people who want to be on the move but who want a centrally located hotel and one of the least expensive in Waikiki. For those really on a tight budget an added advantage (if you have minimal luggage) is that the local bus from the airport stops outside the hotel. The cost is $2.50 one way compared to $15.50 for the shuttle. There are plenty of restaurants, bars and convenience stores within a couple of minutes of the front door of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room, 930, 1030 etc to get a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BuckeyeNewMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NaomiHonolulu, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
Aloha!
Thank you for submitting your review on Tripadvisor. All of us here appreciate your positive comments regarding our staff and clean and comfortable rooms.

We are located on a busy street in the heart of Waikiki. Kuhio Avenue is one of three major avenues in Waikiki. Our TV channels are limited but we are working on a new program that will bring in many more channels.

Your tip on the local bus from the airport is great especially if you have minimal luggage.
We also have the OHANA Waikiki Connection package that entitles all of our guests free amenities such as free trolley rides through out Waikiki, free local and long distance phones calls (first 15 minutes are free), free safe use, free coffee and tea, free high speed internet and free newspapers.

Mahalo for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Nora Weatherwax,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocklin, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

First of all, after booking this hotel I knew it was not going to be great but I was still not prepared for the disappointment or shock. AAA has it correct when it says 2-star because I can give no fathomable explanation for how travel sites are rating this location as a 3-star hotel. The only positives about this hotel that I can mention is it only two blocks from Waikiki Beach, we got a great rate on the room, and the air conditioner drowns out all the street noise.

At arrival, there is no noticeable entrance to park your car to unload and check-in. It wasn't until the next day that I noticed you drive onto the sidewalk area when you check-in. The parking garage is trecherous with a single, steep entry/exit ramp that only allows a single car regardless of direction of travel. We had a standard sized car and could barely fit in the parking spaces. There is only one elevator from the garage and you have to go to the lobby prior to being able to go to your room. Going back to the garage is also a chore since, once again, you go to the lobby, then only one elevator goes to the garage but it takes you through the unrenovated wing and then climb three stairs, and open a door before you're back at the garage.

If that's not bad enough, we get to the room and our internet is not working. I call the front desk for assistance and they refer me to an 800 number. I asked for them to send someone up or move me to room with working internet and they refuse, saying that the internet is contracted through another company. Of course the first thing on my list of vacation plans is to call tech support to walk me through a problem that I didn't create. Luckily I know enough to reset the room modem but I still had to pull the dresser away from the wall to reach it. Great customer service!

The beds were lumpy and the pillows felt like they were made of foam. The room also had a musty smell but at least the bathroom was remodeled. The maid was friendly but it was hit or miss with other employees. Some were friendly and polite, but others acted like they were bothered when questions were asked. My recommendation would be to avoid this hotel unless you are looking for 1- to 2- star because there is no way this is a 3-star hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cruzar007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NaomiHonolulu, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
Aloha,

Thank you for submitting your review on Tripadvisor. We apologize for the inconveinence you incurred during your stay here at the OHANA Waikiki Malia. Our hotel consists of the Malia Tower and the Luana Wing. We have four elevators in our hotel. One of them services the Luana Wing and the other three elevators services the Malia Tower. One of the three elevaters also services the parking garage. As a security precaution, the parking garage elevator does automatically go the lobby level before accessing the guest floors. The Luana elevator does also access the garage but I can understand the frustration in climbing steps and going through a door to get to the garage.

Please accept our apology for the problems you had with our internet. We realize that this issue needs correction and we are currently working on solving this problem. We also apologize for the service you received when you call the front desk. Someone should of been sent to your room to assist you. Our front office managers are aware of this and are speaking to all staff to assure that this does not happen again.

We strive to be as consistent as possible with our service. We have bought this review to our management team's attention as a challenge that we all can work on.

Mahalo for your feedback and for giving us an opportunity to improve on our performance.

Nora Weatherwax,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

We got stuck with this hotel after winning it on priceline. The rooms are tiny and the walls are paper thin. The parking garage is so tight, I've never see anything else like it. The hotel is like a Motel 6 that's been slightly remodeled. The pool is such a joke. I'll never stay here again. The only reason I gave it two stars is because it is close to food and the beach.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parkerpug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NaomiHonolulu, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
Aloha,

Thank you for your review. Please accept our apology for your discomfort during your stay.
We do have a garage that has narrow ramps that can be challenging. I would recommend driving slowly as you manuver within our garage.
Our pool and spa was just completed in October of this year. I apologize for the size of the pool as we were limited on the area avaiable to build one.
Our rooms in our recently renovated Malia Tower measure 331 square feet. Our one bedroom kitchenttes in our Luana Wing measure 510 square feet.
We apologize for not meeting your expectations here at our hotel as we strive to provide excellent guest service to all who visit us.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Nora Weatherwax,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#40 of 84 in Honolulu
1,820 reviews
Pagoda Hotel
#69 of 84 in Honolulu
497 reviews
Courtyard Waikiki Beach
#70 of 84 in Honolulu
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#64 of 84 in Honolulu
1,638 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#58 of 84 in Honolulu
1,886 reviews
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#60 of 84 in Honolulu
1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger

Property: OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger
Address: 2211 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2830 (Formerly Ohana Waikiki Malia)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#38 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#42 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger 3*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger is conveniently located in Central Waikiki on Kuhio Avenue and is a short stroll to a wide variety of shopping and dinning on Kalakaua Avenue and the Waikiki Beach Walk promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ohana Waikiki Malia Honolulu
OHANA Waikiki Malia By Outrigger Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing