We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger
Nearby Hotels
US$459
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$851
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$575
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$631
US$459
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$562
US$482
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$286
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$789
US$758
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$413
US$378
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$348
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Pearl Hotel Waikiki(Honolulu)(Great Value!)
US$320
US$274
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,144)
Filter reviews
1,144 results
Traveller rating
280
530
248
53
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
280
530
248
53
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsihop restaurantpink linefree trolleyparking garagefront desk staffroom keystreet noisesmall balconyliving roombeach towelskuhio avenueacross the streetdefinitely stay here againbooked this hotellocation is greatminute walk to the beachresort fee
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
422 - 427 of 1,144 reviews
Reviewed 6 December 2011

This hotel is located at the center district of Waikiki. Good location for shopping but too noisy for sleep. We couldn't get sleep till very late night, and frequently be waked by all kinds of loud noisy. I wish we could stay at a much quiet place for our vacation.
The $20/day parking is also a challenge for your brave and driving skill. The ramp is really narrow, steep with sharp turns. you have to be very careful when in and out of the garage. I can guess how many accidents by looking the scratches on the wall. My wife pray to the God every time we drove through the ramps.

Room Tip: It's not worth to pay extra money to book one bed room with 'kitchen'. A microoven and efigirator is all you can get.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CBC80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

We vacation in Waikiki almost yearly and have been staying at the Malia for at least the last 15 years, possibly more. That staff have been consistently personable and professional from Sherry and Kristy, who we first meet about 16 years ago to Alvina, Troy, Peter, and the other young fellow whose name I don't remember who work there now. The Ohana Waikiki Malia is conveniently located to bus stops, restaurants, and Kalakaua Avenue stores and not far from the beach. It's not a high luxury hotel so it is perfect for people like us who spend most of the day out and around town and return at night to sleep and who like to stay atleast two weeks there at a time. We would have to limit our stay to a week if we stayed at the more expensive hotels. Perhaps what also works for us is that because we stay there so often, some of the front desk staff have gotten to know us and we consider them our friends. One last note: In every other city we stay in a Marriott and are Marriott reward members that could benefit from a two week stay per year at a Marriott in Waikiki but we choose to stay at the Ohana Waikiki Malia.

Room Tip: The parking lot is a little intimidating. I rent a car only on days that I need it. The bus system is great. I like both views from the upper floors.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eru A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NaomiHonolulu, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2011

Thank you for submitting your review on TripAdvisor. We really appreciate reading a review from someone who has 15 years of experience with our property. We have a wonderful staff here who has many years of service with our company, Outrigger Enterprise Group.

We are centrally located and a lot of our guests appreciated the conveinence to the beach, shopping and dinning. We are a mid-priced hotel which is a good value for a length of stay

Many friendships have been built over the years. These friendships have developed into what we call "OHANA", family.

Thank you for choosing us over a Marriott. We are grateful for your loyalty.

Mahalo,
Nora Weatherwax, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

Since we don't spend much time in a Hotel, this was perfect. We were in room 904 which was has a separate bedroom, but only one TV. The staff were very friendly, we asked for some extra Outriggers discount books so the 4 of us could enjoy a reasonable breakfast elsewhere. We were also able to find a parking garage not to far away, but again we stay gone alot so it worked cheaper for us. I would suggest paying their $20 fee if you going to use their shuttle or walking to most everything.

Room Tip: The pool was recently added and it is very small. Higher up less street noises.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flipperjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NaomiHonolulu, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2011

Aloha,

Thank you for your review regarding your stay. Room 904 is a one bedroom kitchenette in
our Luana Wing. Our Malia Tower was recently renovated but our Luana Wing's last soft renovation was in 2004. It was great to read that you enjoyed staying in 904 and that the room was clean. Currently, we do only have one TV in our one bedroom units but I am happy to report that we will be adding a second TV in the bedroom area shortly.

Our location is very central, close to the beach, shopping and dinning. Our friendly staff takes pride in showing the Aloha Spirit to all our guests. We post all our reviews for our staff and it is good for them to read that they are doing a great job!

Mahalo,
Nora Weatherwax, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

After travelling around the world, this was a very poor place (especially by American standards). Do not take a family room with kitchen (small, ugly, noisy). Lots of noise : Harley (motorcycle) shop across the street and the street noise, parking noise on the other side, A/C so noisy, and the sound of the toilet flushing/shower running down the pipes from the room above. And they were doing big noisy work on the building. Guess where the new tiny "swimming" pool and hot tub will be... between the 40 meter high concret wall (no windows) of the shopping mall and the 4-level parking garage. We wanted to run away after one night. Fortunately, the reception offered to move us without extra charge to the Ohana West, which is better.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pierre S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NaomiHonolulu, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2011

Aloha Pierre,

Thank you for submitting your review to Trip Advisor. Please accept our apologies for the negative experience you had in our one bedroom units in our Luana Wing. Our Luana Wing was built in 1960. It underwent a soft renovation in 2004. We are hoping to renovate it again soon. We are very excited to now have a spa and pool on our property. It is small but we were limited on the space. It was nice to read that our staff was able to move you to our sister property, the OHANA Waikiki West and that your expectations were met there.

Again, thank you for your feedback.

Nora Weatherwax,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Stayed here one night. The staff at reception were very friendly and helpful from beginning to end. The room, though basic, was clean and the bed very comfortable. This hotel is on a busy street so I would advise getting a room higher up to minimize traffic noise. I stayed in room 930 which was corner room that had a tiny balcony but a view of the canal which most of the rooms would not have. The television cable channels are limited so I recommend this hotel for people who want to be on the move but who want a centrally located hotel and one of the least expensive in Waikiki. For those really on a tight budget an added advantage (if you have minimal luggage) is that the local bus from the airport stops outside the hotel. The cost is $2.50 one way compared to $15.50 for the shuttle. There are plenty of restaurants, bars and convenience stores within a couple of minutes of the front door of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room, 930, 1030 etc to get a better view.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BuckeyeNewMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NaomiHonolulu, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2011

Aloha!
Thank you for submitting your review on Tripadvisor. All of us here appreciate your positive comments regarding our staff and clean and comfortable rooms.

We are located on a busy street in the heart of Waikiki. Kuhio Avenue is one of three major avenues in Waikiki. Our TV channels are limited but we are working on a new program that will bring in many more channels.

Your tip on the local bus from the airport is great especially if you have minimal luggage.
We also have the OHANA Waikiki Connection package that entitles all of our guests free amenities such as free trolley rides through out Waikiki, free local and long distance phones calls (first 15 minutes are free), free safe use, free coffee and tea, free high speed internet and free newspapers.

Mahalo for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Nora Weatherwax,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews