We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lack of TV channels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger
Ranked #47 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney Australia
Level 4 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lack of TV channels”
Reviewed 27 December 2011

We are regular visitors to Waikiki and have stayed at the Malia quite a few times in the last two years. For the price, we are very impressed with everything about the hotel, including the friendly, helpful staff, super-clean rooms, free Internet and excellent location. We are returning to Waikiki in February for two weeks and this time have chosen not to stay at the Malia for one reason only: the extremely limited number of TV channels. We do not stay out late at night and enjoy relaxing in the room, however have found on our past visits that there is so little to watch on TV that we had to choose another hotel for our next visit. We noticed that you mentioned you would be improving your TV channel selection in the future. We will be very happy to return when this has been done.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kentstreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NaomiHonolulu, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger, responded to this review, 23 January 2012
Aloha and Mahalo for posting your review. Thank you for your gracious comments regarding our staff and rooms. I agree that our location is excellent. We are conveniently located in central Waikikli and we are a short stroll to a wide variety of shopping and dinning.
We are sorry to hear that you will not be staying with us this year due to the lack of TV channels. I can understand how important this is and yes we are working on improving our selection. I will be sure to comment on TripAdvisor as soon as this is completed.
Thank you for staying with us in the past and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Nora Weatherwax,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    502
    226
    51
    31
See reviews for
357
276
93
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

Just returned from my first stay at the Ohana Waikiki Malia and I couldn't be more pleased. The staff was friendly, always saying hello whenever we returned to the hotel, and the room was lovely and always cleaned impeccably. I requested a renovated room ahead of time and they accomodated me, no problem. Location is great, some street noise from Kuhio (which our room overlooked) but nothing that running the fan didn't take care of. We really lucked out and got quiet neighbors for all but one night of our stay too. I *do* have to echo the warnings about the parking garage. Yikes! Be mindful of it if you are renting a car and especially if you get an SUV (take my advice: don't! Get a compact). But the folks in the garage were super sweet and it was a pleasure to see them every day as well. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RubyinMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NaomiHonolulu, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger, responded to this review, 23 December 2011
Thank you for submitting your review to TripAdvisor. It was good to read that your first stay here was enjoyable. Our hotel staff is very good at demonstrating the Aloha Spirt. They truely enjoying meeting and greeting our guests with a sense of family. Our housekeepers take great pride in keeping all our rooms and public areas clean and lovely. Our Malia Tower was recently renovated.

Thank you for the echo warning on our garage. Yes, it is a challenge and everyone needs to be aware that it has narrow ramps. But our parking attendents are the best!

Mahalo and Aloha,
Nora Weatherwax, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corte Madera, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

I have had the pleasure of returning 6 times through the years to the Ohana Waikiki Malia. This year, with renovations complete, my stay was excellent. The installed internet in the rooms, the new lap pool and hot tub are very welcome additions.
Familiar faced staff treated me with friendly, respectful, attentive service.
Management were very generous and assistive to my needs as a severely disabled traveler. The handicapped acessable room has a large, sparkling clean roll in shower with hand held showering. It's perfect for those that need caregiver assistant.
I plan on returning the the aloha, and ohana (family) spirit of the beautiful island of Oahu, and the wonderful Ohana Waikiki Malia as often as possible. Mahalo!

Room Tip: As a handicapped guest, I find the handicap room a dream. Plenty of floor space for a wheelchair.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keshetconi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NaomiHonolulu, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger, responded to this review, 23 December 2011
Mahalo for your positive comments regarding your stay here at the OHANA Waikiki Malia. We always look forward to welcoming back our return guests. It is good to hear that all went well for you at our hotel and that the handicap room fulfilled your needs.

We have a excellent staff here and your comments regarding them are appreciated.

We are also very excited to have our new hot tub and HEATED lap pool. The sunshine is limited in the space where the pool is and so have the pool heated is an additional treat.

We look forward to welcoming you back home again soon!

Mahalo and Aloha,
Nora Weatherwax, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

This hotel is located at the center district of Waikiki. Good location for shopping but too noisy for sleep. We couldn't get sleep till very late night, and frequently be waked by all kinds of loud noisy. I wish we could stay at a much quiet place for our vacation.
The $20/day parking is also a challenge for your brave and driving skill. The ramp is really narrow, steep with sharp turns. you have to be very careful when in and out of the garage. I can guess how many accidents by looking the scratches on the wall. My wife pray to the God every time we drove through the ramps.

Room Tip: It's not worth to pay extra money to book one bed room with 'kitchen'. A microoven and e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CBC80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 December 2011

We vacation in Waikiki almost yearly and have been staying at the Malia for at least the last 15 years, possibly more. That staff have been consistently personable and professional from Sherry and Kristy, who we first meet about 16 years ago to Alvina, Troy, Peter, and the other young fellow whose name I don't remember who work there now. The Ohana Waikiki Malia is conveniently located to bus stops, restaurants, and Kalakaua Avenue stores and not far from the beach. It's not a high luxury hotel so it is perfect for people like us who spend most of the day out and around town and return at night to sleep and who like to stay atleast two weeks there at a time. We would have to limit our stay to a week if we stayed at the more expensive hotels. Perhaps what also works for us is that because we stay there so often, some of the front desk staff have gotten to know us and we consider them our friends. One last note: In every other city we stay in a Marriott and are Marriott reward members that could benefit from a two week stay per year at a Marriott in Waikiki but we choose to stay at the Ohana Waikiki Malia.

Room Tip: The parking lot is a little intimidating. I rent a car only on days that I need it. The bus system...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eru A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NaomiHonolulu, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger, responded to this review, 23 December 2011
Thank you for submitting your review on TripAdvisor. We really appreciate reading a review from someone who has 15 years of experience with our property. We have a wonderful staff here who has many years of service with our company, Outrigger Enterprise Group.

We are centrally located and a lot of our guests appreciated the conveinence to the beach, shopping and dinning. We are a mid-priced hotel which is a good value for a length of stay

Many friendships have been built over the years. These friendships have developed into what we call "OHANA", family.

Thank you for choosing us over a Marriott. We are grateful for your loyalty.

Mahalo,
Nora Weatherwax, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2011

Since we don't spend much time in a Hotel, this was perfect. We were in room 904 which was has a separate bedroom, but only one TV. The staff were very friendly, we asked for some extra Outriggers discount books so the 4 of us could enjoy a reasonable breakfast elsewhere. We were also able to find a parking garage not to far away, but again we stay gone alot so it worked cheaper for us. I would suggest paying their $20 fee if you going to use their shuttle or walking to most everything.

Room Tip: The pool was recently added and it is very small. Higher up less street noises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flipperjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NaomiHonolulu, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger, responded to this review, 23 December 2011
Aloha,

Thank you for your review regarding your stay. Room 904 is a one bedroom kitchenette in
our Luana Wing. Our Malia Tower was recently renovated but our Luana Wing's last soft renovation was in 2004. It was great to read that you enjoyed staying in 904 and that the room was clean. Currently, we do only have one TV in our one bedroom units but I am happy to report that we will be adding a second TV in the bedroom area shortly.

Our location is very central, close to the beach, shopping and dinning. Our friendly staff takes pride in showing the Aloha Spirit to all our guests. We post all our reviews for our staff and it is good for them to read that they are doing a great job!

Mahalo,
Nora Weatherwax, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

After travelling around the world, this was a very poor place (especially by American standards). Do not take a family room with kitchen (small, ugly, noisy). Lots of noise : Harley (motorcycle) shop across the street and the street noise, parking noise on the other side, A/C so noisy, and the sound of the toilet flushing/shower running down the pipes from the room above. And they were doing big noisy work on the building. Guess where the new tiny "swimming" pool and hot tub will be... between the 40 meter high concret wall (no windows) of the shopping mall and the 4-level parking garage. We wanted to run away after one night. Fortunately, the reception offered to move us without extra charge to the Ohana West, which is better.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pierre S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NaomiHonolulu, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger, responded to this review, 8 December 2011
Aloha Pierre,

Thank you for submitting your review to Trip Advisor. Please accept our apologies for the negative experience you had in our one bedroom units in our Luana Wing. Our Luana Wing was built in 1960. It underwent a soft renovation in 2004. We are hoping to renovate it again soon. We are very excited to now have a spa and pool on our property. It is small but we were limited on the space. It was nice to read that our staff was able to move you to our sister property, the OHANA Waikiki West and that your expectations were met there.

Again, thank you for your feedback.

Nora Weatherwax,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#40 of 84 in Honolulu
1,838 reviews
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#64 of 84 in Honolulu
1,645 reviews
Pagoda Hotel
#70 of 84 in Honolulu
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,888 reviews
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#61 of 84 in Honolulu
1,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger

Property: OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger
Address: 2211 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2830 (Formerly Ohana Waikiki Malia)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#38 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#42 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger 3*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger is conveniently located in Central Waikiki on Kuhio Avenue and is a short stroll to a wide variety of shopping and dinning on Kalakaua Avenue and the Waikiki Beach Walk promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ohana Waikiki Malia Honolulu
OHANA Waikiki Malia By Outrigger Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing