We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Solid average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger
Ranked #44 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Solid average hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed on the 12th floor for 4 nights. The hotel was certainly NOT the cleanest - some mold in the bathroom and hairs left from the previous occupants (gross!!). But, its location to the shops and restaurants was great especially for the price (we booked through expedia). We didn't spend much time in the hotel room so it met our needs. If you're looking to go to Waikiki Beach every day of your trip, I'd recommend finding an hotel closer.

Room Tip: There is definitely street noise even on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smitty304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoraWeatherwax, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Aloha and thank you for submitting your review on tripadvisor. Please accept our apology for the unacceptable condition in which you found your room. We are going through retraining sessions with our housekeepers regarding this. We do have a great location and we are a good value. We are glad that your needs were met. Thank you for your valuable feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back one day.
Nora Weatherwax
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,025 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    485
    218
    50
    31
See reviews for
345
264
90
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, VA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

First the good: clean room, reasonably spacious, location is fine as long as you don't mind being a few long blocks from the beach. The main plus is that the price is right. Some big negatives: no Wi-Fi in the rooms, And the front desk that just can't get its act together. I waited over two hours for a room when many people after me were checked in. I was told it would be before 3 PM but had to beg to get a room at 3:15. Turns out there were rooms all along, they just didn't change my assignment. Weak!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fred_moose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoraWeatherwax, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Aloha and thank you for submitting your review on tripadvisor. Please accept our apology for the unnecessary wait you endured while checking into your room. We will be working closely with the front desk staff to ensure that this does not happen again.
We also apologize for not having WiFi in our rooms. We have plans to install this soon.
We are glad that you found our rooms clean and spacious and that you found our location convenient. Thank you for recognizing our value.
We appreciate your feedback.
Mahalo,
Nora Weatherwax
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

we booked thru a travel agent. She didnt really recommend it as it was a few blocks from Waikiki Beach, but I wanted a cheaper priced hotel.
in the end, the hotel was actually well located, well priced and had great facilities.
certainly good value and would stay there again. the only downside is that it doesnt have a pool and bar area to lounge around in, but hey- there are plenty of other hotels you can do that in

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thetraveller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoraWeatherwax, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Aloha and thank you for submitting your review on tripadvisor. We are happy to read that your found our property well located, well priced and with great facilities. We are a good value and would love to have you stay with us again. We do have a pool with a bar and we also have pools at our sister hotels, the OHANA Waikiki East and the OHANA Waikiki West that are available for our guests to use.
Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back one day.
Nora Weatherwax
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

Got my room on Priceline for 6 nights. This was a great location for my budget. The hotel needs a little work and the amenities are nothing special. (Embarrassing excuse for a pool, no special restaurants, terrible parking.) However, when you are 5 minutes from the beach, restaurants and bars, you can't go wrong. We were close to everything we needed and to save an extra $200 per night I'd say it is definitely worth it.

Room Tip: Try to stay away from a parking lot view. Our lanai was overlooking the entrance to the parking gar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottmik1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoraWeatherwax, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Aloha and thank you for submitting your review on tripadvisor. We appreciate your recognition of our value for our location. We realize that we have a small pool but we were very limited in space in which to put one. We do have the IHOP (International House of Pancakes) restaurant in our lobby which works great for guests, especially those with families. Please accept our apology for our garage as it does have narrow ramps. It is great to read that you found your stay with us worth it due to location of the beach, restaurants and bars. Thank you for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back one day.
Mahalo,
Nora Weatherwax
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

We have been travelling to Hawaii for the past 25years and have stayed at the Malia most of the times. We have always found the staff very welcoming, helpfull, friendly and will go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. A lot of the staff have been there from the first time we stayed with them. Our last trip was a 23day stay and loved every moment of it. It is on the bus route and only a few blocks away from the lovely beach of Waikiki. Our accomodation was a 1 bedroom with a kitchette. A little home away from home. It was clean spacious and the hotel maids were accomodating. We certainly book with them again.

Room Tip: Book a room facing towards the sea. they have fireworks every Friday night and they are a great sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noeline f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoraWeatherwax, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Aloha and thank you for submitting your review on tripadvisor. Wow 25 years!!! That is so exciting! We are so happy to read how much our staff helped to make you feel like members of our Malia family. I love your description of our one bedroom units with kitchenette as “a little home away from home”. Thank you so much for this fantastic review. We look forward to welcoming you back “home” one day soon.
Mahalo nui loa!
Nora Weatherwax
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nambucca Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

We booked through Virgin Australia's Velocity Rewards. Extremely pleased with the room being in the refurbished section and away from the elevators. Good size room for our requirements. Didn't use the pool (very small) or the carpark which appeared to be most suitable for small cars. The desk staff are all very helpful and welcoming. Housemaids are all friendly,willing to please and appreciative of gratuities. We found the location suited us as we loved to walk and discover the Malls and Markets scattered around the neighborhood. A bonus was being able to access the Red Bus Route at any time by just showing our room key card for the Hotel. Waikiki Beach is but a short stroll away too. The refridgerators are dated and in need of replacement however, When we called down to the desk regarding the fridge not cooling properly a maintenance person was at the door within ten minutes and very quickly had the unit working much better. Would definately stay here again when visiting Hawaii.

Room Tip: Request a room in the Malia Tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tery Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoraWeatherwax, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Aloha and thank you for submitting your review on tripadvisor. We appreciate all your positive comments regarding our rooms and our employees. It is our goal that our guests are treated with the Aloha Spirit by our employees. Thank you for validating that. We are proud of our location as it is so very convenient to shopping and dining. Our free trolley passes (your room keys) are also a great way to travel around Waikiki and the Ala Moana Shopping Center. We have a great maintenance staff here at our hotel and they are quick to respond to all of our guests needs. Thank you again for acknowledging our awesome employees.
We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back one day soon.
Mahalo,
Nora Weatherwax
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
202 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

We were in Hawaii for 6 days and stayed here the entire time. We loved it! The room was clean and had more than enough space for the 4 adults in our party. Our beds were very comfortable and, though the rooms are a little dated, we had an extremely comfortable stay. When we got there, our Internet connection was not working, so we called the desk and someone was there almost immediately and had the problem fixed in less than 5 minutes. Housekeeping was great and even did our dishes for us each day, which we were not necessarily expecting. We loved the location of the hotel...not right on the beach, but close to pretty much everything! The only things that were a little bit annoying during our stay were the lack of wifi, the slow elevators, and the parking garage. No wifi and slow elevators were only minor inconveniences, but the parking garage is, without a doubt, the worst parking garage I have ever seen. Before our vacation, we read reviews that talked about the awful parking garage and we were prepared for the worst, and then it ended up being even worse that we were expecting. It was such a tight squeeze to fit in any of the spots, back out, turn, pretty much anything you would have to do in a parking garage was difficult and miserable. So, if you're planning on renting a car, be aware that it won't be a pleasant experience. Other than that, I would whole-heartedly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room that is on a higher floor, otherwise you can hear some noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#39 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,740 reviews
Courtyard Waikiki Beach
#72 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#58 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pagoda Hotel
#66 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#63 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger

Property: OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger
Address: 2211 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2830 (Formerly Ohana Waikiki Malia)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#38 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#42 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger 3*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger is conveniently located in Central Waikiki on Kuhio Avenue and is a short stroll to a wide variety of shopping and dinning on Kalakaua Avenue and the Waikiki Beach Walk promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ohana Waikiki Malia Honolulu
OHANA Waikiki Malia By Outrigger Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing