We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger
Ranked #47 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 October 2013

The employees were informative and helpful. It's located just beside the trolley depot. Guests of the hotel are able to ride the pink line for free by presenting the room key card. This takes you around downtown waikiki. It's only one block away from kalakaua ave. where are all the shops and restaurants. The walk to waikiki beach is also bearable under the hot weather of Hawaii. The down side is the super slow elavator. It doesn't seem stop at the 17th floor where we lived. You have to keep pushing on the going down button for its to come up. Our room smelled like smoke when we arrived. It didn't go away for days although we were provided a machine to clean it up. I figured that they could have done that beforehand. Also, the fire alarm went on three times during our stay. One time we had to walk down from 17th floor carring our baby. There was no apology from the staff whatsoever. Someone just casually looked at us and mentioned, it's just a problem with the fire alarm. I will recommend this hotel if you want a convenient location and save few bucks.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michelle z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoraWeatherwax, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Aloha and thank you for submitting your review on tripadvisor. We are happy to read that you found our employees informative and helpful. And that you were able to enjoy the free trolley rides on the “pink line”. We realize that we sometimes have problems with our elevators and we are in the process of fixing these problems in the near future.
Please accept our apology for the smoke smell in your room and for not offering you a room move. We are sorry that you had to endure three fire alarms during your stay. We are in the process of retraining all of our staff in regards to our fire alarm procedures. We appreciate your recommendation of our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back one day.
Mahalo,
Nora Weatherwax
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,097)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

304 - 310 of 1,097 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013

We have stayed @ the Ohana Malia many times and at different times of the year. We always find the same "aloha" spirit in every employee. Superior employees that we look forward to seeing are Shawn, Roy, Paul, So'o and every one of the people working the front desk.

Housekeeping employees are the best and always pleasant. The woman working at the parking gate always sends us on our way with kindness, and welcomes us "home" at the end of our day which is sorely needed whether returning from a family funeral or a day on the beach. You will truly feel like you are coming home to "ohana" when staying with our friends at the Ohana Malia.

Room Tip: Be a good traveler vs. an "arrogant tourist with poor manners." These people deserve only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seattle375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoraWeatherwax, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Aloha and thank you for submitting your review on tripadvisor. We truly appreciate your positive comments regarding the spirit of aloha. It is quite an honor to have you mention our employees by name such as you have above. We have a very strong staff who’s number one goal is to service our guests first with the aloha spirit. Our housekeeping staff strives to be the best and always has friendly greetings for our guests.
Our parking attendants are the best on Oahu! Thank you for helping us reach our goal of making our guests feel like part of our family whenever they stay here. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Mahalo nui loa!
Nora Weatherwax
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We had a great trip. Not the cleanest hotel but ok. Close to shops and resturants. Not to far fromt he beach. The staff is friendly and do all the can to help you find what you are looking for.Nice to have extra bed for the kids and not to long of walk to resturants

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angulo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoraWeatherwax, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Aloha and thank you for submitting your review on tripadvisor. We are glad to read that you had a great trip. Please accept our apologies regarding the cleanliness of your room. We will work with our housekeeping department closer in regards to this.
We do have a great location and the best staff in Waikiki!
Thank you again for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back one day.
Nora Weatherwax
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Our first view of the hotel, from the hotel garage, wasn't much to get excited about, but it got better.
We had a room with a queen bed in bedroom and 2 twin daybeds in the living room. Perfect for our 2 kids who don't like to share a bed!
There was a nice, small kitchenette.
The bathroom was large enough, but their isn't any counter space and just a small shelf to put your toiletries on. The tub/shower was about half a normal size. The only other thing was the location of the toilet paper holder......really????

Management...please add a large shelf in the bathroom to make this a more user friendly place to stay.

Garage parking is super tight!!! Great location, can walk everywhere easily.

There are lots of dining options around, and an IHOP restaurant outside the hotel lobby.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank knr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoraWeatherwax, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Aloha and thank you for submitting your review on tripadvisor. We are happy to read that you were pleased with our bedding arrangements in our one bedroom with kitchenette unit. I agree with you that these units are great for families.
We realize that the bathroom is lacking in shelf/counter space and that the half tub is a bit unusual. This will all be taken into consideration in future renovations.
I apologize for our parking garage as our ramps are tight. We do benefit from being in a great location close to shopping and dining.
We appreciate all your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back one day.
Mahalo,
Nora Weatherwax
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

When we arrived, we were pleasantly greeted by the front desk staff and even received some great advice on good eats around town and things to do.

The room was clean and comfortable with firm beds--just the way I like them. I did see a small cockroach in the bathroom on the first night, but because we're in a tropical area, you have to expect that you'll come across one or more on your trip here.

Decor and finishes are dated, but everything works just fine.

The hotel also has security at nights to ensure that only hotel guests are in the guest room floors, to ensure security.

Internet in the room is free and available, except that it is only for wired connections. WiFi is only available in the lobby.

Overall, I was satisfied with my stay here and would return here in a future visit. Mahalo for a pleasant stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoraWeatherwax, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Aloha and thank you for submitting your review on tripadvisor. We are happy to read that you were pleasantly greeted and given great advice on good eats.
It will be nice to report to our housekeeping department that you found your room clean and comfortable. Thank you for your understanding of our tropical climate here in Hawaii. Safety is a priority here at the OHANA Waikiki Malia hence the night security.
We apologize for not having WiFi in our guest rooms. We are working on getting that installed.
Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back again one day.

Nora Weatherwax
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed on the 12th floor for 4 nights. The hotel was certainly NOT the cleanest - some mold in the bathroom and hairs left from the previous occupants (gross!!). But, its location to the shops and restaurants was great especially for the price (we booked through expedia). We didn't spend much time in the hotel room so it met our needs. If you're looking to go to Waikiki Beach every day of your trip, I'd recommend finding an hotel closer.

Room Tip: There is definitely street noise even on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smitty304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoraWeatherwax, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Aloha and thank you for submitting your review on tripadvisor. Please accept our apology for the unacceptable condition in which you found your room. We are going through retraining sessions with our housekeepers regarding this. We do have a great location and we are a good value. We are glad that your needs were met. Thank you for your valuable feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back one day.
Nora Weatherwax
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

First the good: clean room, reasonably spacious, location is fine as long as you don't mind being a few long blocks from the beach. The main plus is that the price is right. Some big negatives: no Wi-Fi in the rooms, And the front desk that just can't get its act together. I waited over two hours for a room when many people after me were checked in. I was told it would be before 3 PM but had to beg to get a room at 3:15. Turns out there were rooms all along, they just didn't change my assignment. Weak!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fred_moose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoraWeatherwax, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Aloha and thank you for submitting your review on tripadvisor. Please accept our apology for the unnecessary wait you endured while checking into your room. We will be working closely with the front desk staff to ensure that this does not happen again.
We also apologize for not having WiFi in our rooms. We have plans to install this soon.
We are glad that you found our rooms clean and spacious and that you found our location convenient. Thank you for recognizing our value.
We appreciate your feedback.
Mahalo,
Nora Weatherwax
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#43 of 84 in Honolulu
1,931 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#25 of 84 in Honolulu
638 reviews
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#17 of 84 in Honolulu
1,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#11 of 84 in Honolulu
671 reviews
Waikiki Gateway Hotel
#18 of 84 in Honolulu
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger

Address: 2211 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2830 (Formerly Ohana Waikiki Malia)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#38 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#42 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £98 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger 3*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger is conveniently located in Central Waikiki on Kuhio Avenue and is a short stroll to a wide variety of shopping and dinning on Kalakaua Avenue and the Waikiki Beach Walk promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ohana Waikiki Malia Honolulu
OHANA Waikiki Malia By Outrigger Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing