We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“That is the trip advisor`s recomended hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger
Ranked #45 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
109 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“That is the trip advisor`s recomended hotel”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Hospitarity of all the staff.
Good location for eating and shopping.
Just behind of DFS.
larger room with enough facilities.
Able to use free-wifi at the loby.
free pink trolley ride with just showing room key.
Can easy to access ihop on the ground floor.
Reasonable price.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Milanonobu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoraWeatherwax, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Aloha Milanonobu,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and for giving us five star rating on tripadvisor. We are glad to know that your expectations were met. It is always our goal to provide our guests friendly and comfortable accommodations and feel good about recommending our hotel to their friends and acquaintances.

Again, mahalo for your kind remarks.

Sincerely,

Amante Castro
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,042 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    495
    220
    50
    31
See reviews for
349
270
93
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel once a year for 2 years.

We booked 3 rooms, one room was for from Tokyo and the other 2 rooms were for from Sapporo. We arrived separately but the reception desk was friendly enough to arrange our rooms got close and the 2 rooms were adjusting rooms.

Some of the receptionist could speak Japanese so everything went smooth.

Room facility:
A shampoo & conditioner
Body soap and facial soap
A hair dryer
Safety box
Coffee (Lion filtered coffee and coffee maker)
Bath/Face/Hand towels

Location:
Just behind DFS shopping centre and walking distance to all Waikiki area and restaurants

Weak point:
Only one thing in bathroom. The bathroom was ample enough but the water didn't come out properly from the shower. The water pressure was enough though.

Overall:
We want to stay at this hotel again as the location was excellent and staff were all friendly.

Room Tip: Higher floors are recommended for better views and less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ya I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoraWeatherwax, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Aloha Ya,

Thank you for submitting your review and for giving us a five star rating on Tripadvisor. We really appreciate the feedback we receive and use it to further improve our hospitality and recognize our employees. You can be assured we will share this with our staff. We are glad to know that your expectations were met and you that are considering our hotel for your accommodations on your next visit to Hawaii.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the weak water pressure during your stay. Our Maintenance Department has been notified to take appropriate measures to rectify the situation.

We always try to demonstrate the Aloha Spirit in everything we do, and I am delighted to see you appreciated it so much.

Again, Mahalo for your kind remarks.

Aloha,

Amante Castro
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The hotel is in Waikiki Beach, but not on the ocean front. However, it's very close to the ocean (about a 5 minute walk, if that). Like everywhere in Hawaii, it has some moisture and humidity "issues" but you'll get used to this after a couple of days of being there. The room was clean and the a/c worked very well, so the room was a comfortable 70F even when there was 90+F outside. Because you're on one of the busiest streets in Waikiki beach, the rooms are not very quiet. But you do get the convenience of walking everywhere, without needing a car, and the pink line of the trolley is in the hotel's garage - more proximity and convenience. The most amazing thing about this hotel is the staff! They are the most friendly and helpful people I have ever met! They helped us navigate the streets of Honolulu (most of them one ways), the restaurants and bars, and they were super nice on our last day when we had a very late flight - they carried away our luggage and offered us the hospitality room to freshen up later in the day.
Two reasons why I gave it just a 4 star: the noise of the street, and the fact that we booked a king bed room, but they were "sold out" of king bed rooms when we got there (how can you be, when we had reservations 4 months in advance?!). We ended up in a 2 full bed room, so we shared a full bed, which seemed even smaller than a normal full bed. They did offer to change it out later in the week, when something became available, but it was not convenient after we had unpacked.
If I found a great price, like we did this time, I would definitely stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoraWeatherwax, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for submitting your review on Tripadvisor. We really appreciate the feedback we receive and use it to further improve our hospitality and recognize our employees. I am glad that the service you received from our Front Desk staff was outstanding. Please accept my sincere apologies for the street noise and for not having the type of bedding as requested upon your arrival. Occasionally during high occupancy periods, we are not able to provide and fulfill all our guests exactly what they desire. Based on your comments, it looks like you had a wonderful time in Hawaii.

Mahalo,

Amante Castro
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

My family of five stayed for two weeks at this hotel in two rooms.. We were very happy to get early check in after a 10 hour flight. Both rooms were very clean and quite spacious, with comfortable beds, good showers, clean bathrooms, good air conditioning and good block out curtains. The rooms were well maintained over the two week period by nice, polite housekeeping staff. Their job would've become harder the longer we stayed with our increasing shopping! We soon got used to the traffic noise and it didn't interrupt our sleep. I would recommend that you request to stay in the newer tower. The hotel laundry was very handy and the front desk gave us change for the machines. The pool is small but the beach is within easy walking distance. It's nice to sit in the pool area and have a drink and pizza or other food from the bar if you don't feel like going out. Bar staff were friendly and prices reasonable. The hotel position is excellent, just set back from the crowds but still an easy walk to the beach and restaurants. There are plenty of restaurants close by and the waiting time is a lot less than those near the beach. The free trolley is just around the corner and you'll always get a seat as it's the first stop. The staff were always very friendly, greeting us every time we went by and also helpful with any requests. We didn't have an ocean view but we didn't pay ocean view prices, not by a long shot. It's a great value hotel and very clean and handy to everything you could need. We would love the opportunity to stay there again.

Room Tip: Request a room in the newer tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DeGios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoraWeatherwax, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Aloha DeGios,

Mahalo for submitting your review on Tripadvisor. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at the OHANA Wakiki Malia Hotel and that your expectations were met. We take pride in the quality of service we provide our guests and we strive harder to make every guests’ stay a memorable one. We are fortunate to have our hotel built in the center of Waikiki where shops and restaurants are just a few steps away and the beach is just three short blocks from our hotel. The Waikiki Connection program is a plus where you can travel via the Pink Trolley around Waikiki and to Ala Moana Shopping Center.
Again, thank you for your kind words. We look forward to your return visit to The OHANA Waikiki Malia Hotel.

Sincerely,

Amante Castro
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We spent 4 nights at this hotel before catching a cruise back to Australia. The staff are excellent, great location and within walking distance to beach, shopping and restaurants. The room we had was really clean and comfortable not the most modern hotel but value for money you wont get better. Will be staying again when we visit Hawaii.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the East wing on a top floor these rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoraWeatherwax, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Aloha Michael G,

Thank you for your complimentary remarks. We appreciate and value our guests’ comments either positive or negative. Michael, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and I believe that star rating is not the basis of excellent service. I have shared your comments to our staff and they are very excited to your return visit to our hotel.

Mahalo Nui Loa,


Amante Castro
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
108 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Ohana Wakiki is one of the best pricing of the Outrigger Hotels. It is one block off the beach in the heart of a veey popular Waikiki. My first impression it was not and old hotel but not very modern.

The front desk was friendly and efficient and was able to check in quickly.
My room - a queen was good size very clean with a desk and coffee machine.
I saw the pool not a big deal since you have the beach a block away and if you really want a pool splurge $ for a hotel on the beach.
Location is great. It is close to everything ABC markets, Tsunami Bar and next is a iHop and a short walk down the street is McDonalds Starbucks and lots of other food options.

I would recommend this hotel if your solo or a couple and family with teenagers and you dont want to spend $$$.
It is nothing fancy - and no where do they try to be. Friendly staff - you get all the benefits of being in a cool spot of Waikiki and will enjoy your stay.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank surfcali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoraWeatherwax, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Aloha Surfcali,

Thank you so much for your kind remarks and for taking the time to submit a review on Tripadvisor. I am always pleased when our guests give us their insights about their overall experience at the OHANA Waikiki Malia Hotel. It is always our goal to provide our guests with clean and friendly accommodations and feel good about recommending our hotel to their friends and acquaintances. You can be assured we will share your kind words to our staff.

Mahalo,

Amante Castro
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

Our 4th stay at this hotel since 1988 and the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff has never faltered. Our room was always clean and the hotel is conveniently located around the corner from the waikiki trolley depot and close to bus stops and restaurants and shops. 10 min stroll to beach. Only downside is the noise echoing of early morning revellers on the street going home after a night out which sometimes interrupted a good nights sleep, good excuse for a sleep in. Will definitely be back!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Arlene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoraWeatherwax, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Aloha Arlene A,

Thank you for submitting your review on Tripadvisor. Your kind remarks about our staff and the service we provide our guests is greatly appreciated. You can be assured we will share this with our staff. We look forward to your return visit to the islands.

Mahalo,

Amante Castro
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#40 of 84 in Honolulu
1,808 reviews
Pagoda Hotel
#69 of 84 in Honolulu
492 reviews
Courtyard Waikiki Beach
#68 of 84 in Honolulu
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#60 of 84 in Honolulu
1,463 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#58 of 84 in Honolulu
1,878 reviews
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#64 of 84 in Honolulu
1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger

Property: OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger
Address: 2211 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2830 (Formerly Ohana Waikiki Malia)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#38 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#42 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger 3*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger is conveniently located in Central Waikiki on Kuhio Avenue and is a short stroll to a wide variety of shopping and dinning on Kalakaua Avenue and the Waikiki Beach Walk promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ohana Waikiki Malia Honolulu
OHANA Waikiki Malia By Outrigger Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing