We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger
Ranked #45 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good Value”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Stayed for 4 nights (family of 4 with 9 & 13 yr old). Rooms are dated and a little small but good for what we were looking for, as we didn't spend much time at all in our room. Pool was small but kids had a quick swim each day and enjoyed it. Pool towels can be collected from front desk. Great location a couple of blocks from the beach and trolley stop right outside.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunHol1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoraWeatherwax, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for submitting your review on Tripadvisor. Your comments are valuable to us and we will use it to further improve the quality of our service. Our pool is a bit small and that is due to the space in which we had to build one. Despite of the size, I am glad that your kids had the opportunity to use and enjoy it. Again, thank you for staying with us.

With much Aloha,

Amante Castro
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,042 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    495
    220
    50
    31
See reviews for
349
270
93
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

It was a good stay but room was on side of parking structure so there was a lot of car alarm beeps and loud noise from cars driving through structure but overall good stay. Had a cut on leg and stained bed linen it was not changed until 2 days later.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Affordable8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoraWeatherwax, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for submitting your review on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your feedback about our hotel and sincerely apologize for the bed linen not being changed in a timely manner. I have spoken to the manager in charge in this area to take appropriate measures to rectify the situation. Our goal is to have our guests be satisfied with our services and feel good about recommending our hotel to their friends and acquaintances. Since we fell short in this instance, please be assured of our intent and allow us to serve you in the future.

Mahalo,


Amante Castro
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nagoya, Japan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

it's located very close to waikiki beach and shopping areal
in front of the hotel, there is a torolly stop.
if you wanna save money, the hotel is old and service is normal but it's affordable.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maiko1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoraWeatherwax, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Aloha Maiko1234,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your feedback about our hotel. We are three blocks away from Waikiki Beach and very close to entertainments and restaurants. I am glad you had the opportunity to experience a ride on the Pink Line Trolley. This is just one of the many great amenities the OHANA Hotels offer their guests for free.

Again, thank you for your feedback!

Mahalo,

Amante Castro
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This hotel is located about 2-3 blocks away from Waikiki. Needing updating but is in a good location. We had a room with 2 double beds but a little cramped for 4 people. Room had small fridge, coffee maker, iron and hairdryer. Very small balcony... barely for 2 people to stand. Only
has a lap pool but there was a big hot tub. You do have access to use the pools at the Ohana East or West.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Atepower32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoraWeatherwax, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Aloha Atepower32,

Thank you for submitting your review on Tripadvisor. We really appreciate the feedback we receive and use it to further improve the quality of our service. Please be assured that we are always looking for solutions to rectify our guests’ concerns.

Again, mahalo and aloha!

Sincerely,

Amante Castro
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Overall our trip was pleasant. We stayed for 8 nights with 6 family members and 2 adjoining rooms. This was not the Ritz Carlton, by any means, but it was clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. There was no wi-fi in the rooms. There was an ethernet cable, but no connection for USB. We had a room on the Ocean side, 10th floor so there was no noise except the banging of doors in the hallway. The bathroom was clean, but small. The shower curtain leaked all over the floor and out the door if more than one person showered (we had 3 adults in our room). It looks like this has happened for some time as the bottom inch of the bathroom door frame was rotted. Some softer toilet paper would be nice. There was a small refrigerator that almost got cold, but no microwave to warm up leftovers from restaurants. The A/C was fabulous and we actually had to turn it down. The guys turned theirs up and loved it. The price was very reasonable and we had an OK stay.

Room Tip: Stay above the 10th floor on the ocean side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoraWeatherwax, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Aloha Debbi W,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We appreciate when our guests take the time to share their experiences with us. Like any other hotel, we have our share of challenges and we take it seriously when our guests points out some concerns. We are always on the look- out on how we can improve in these areas.

Please accept our sincere apologies for falling short in this instance. I do hope you give us another opportunity to serve you.

Mahalo,

Amante Castro
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
176 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We were staying here on our first two nights on Oahu before we went out to a beach house on the north shore for the duration of our time there. There are some things that I liked about this place a lot. The location is great - easy walk to wherever you want to go. They have a room type called One Bedroom Kitchenette which the set occupancy is 4 people meaning that you will not get charged additional fees for each person over the first two which is really hard to find. And the set up is just fine. There were eight of us so we only had to get two rooms. There is a big bed in a bedroom and out in the "living room" there are two twins. That is a great savings. The people at the desk were also very nice. There is a fun bar downstairs and an Ihop if you need something to eat quickly. There were some things that weren't great. It's not a fancy place and while the rooms were ok, they weren't particularly clean. There were some weird handprint marks all over the wall in our bedroom and you had the sense that really good cleanings didn't happen very often. But it wasn't the worst I've stayed in. The elevators were really bad. Scary even. And the system they have for beach towels was strange. It's great that they have them for you to check out, but you check them out at the front desk (sign a card). We did so and sent our kids off to the beach. When you are by the elevators, there is a box for towel return and so my kids threw them in there because that is what everyone was doing. But I was afraid that we were going to be charged for them because what's the point of the big signout if they don't record when you return them. So, I thought that was confusing and I just now realized I didn't look at my final bill to make sure I wasn't charged for the towels. The parking lot situation is pretty crazy. It is a really tight fit to get in and out of there. Also the little circle in front of the hotel is very busy and sometimes someone parks there so it is impossible to pull in and load people up. I see that some people have complained about the noise. That doesn't bother me. It is to be expected when you are staying in a place like Waikiki. Anyway, this place is in a great location and honestly, I'd stay here again. When we're on vacation in Hawaii, we aren't hanging out in our room. Everyone was very nice and it was affordable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoraWeatherwax, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Aloha Ann M,

Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor. I am always pleased when our guests take the time to share their experiences, both positive and negative. Like any other hotel, we have our share of challenges and our guests’ feedback provides us with valuable insights regarding the quality of our service and facilities.

We are concerned that you felt our housekeeping service was inadequate. I have spoken to the manager in charge of this area to take appropriate measures to rectify the situation. Please accept our sincere apologies for falling short in this instance. On the other hand, I am happy to announce that we will be going through an elevator re-modernization at the end of this year and into 2015. This is something that has been long awaited for and we are excited to be able to upgrade our elevators. Parking can be challenging but we are always in the look out on how we can improve in this area. Judging from the rest of your comments, it looks like you had a great time in Hawaii.

Again, thank you for your feedback. We appreciate being able to explain and respond to your concerns.

Mahalo,

Amante Castro
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Other than location, this hotel has really nothing going for it. Wifi only in lobby, wired internet in room is slow, no business center, can only print from lobby computer which costs, elevators slow and force you to lobby. Only one of three elevators goes to parking. Parking garage is tiny and hard to maneuver vehicles. Parking costs $25 a day. Hotel needs to come out of the 90s and renovate.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sweetbw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoraWeatherwax, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Aloha and thank you for submitting your review on Tripadvisor. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you incurred during your stay with us. We are now able to announce that we will be going through an elevator re-modernization at the end of this year and into 2015. This is something that has been long awaited for and we are excited to be able to upgrade our elevators. We do have four elevators of which two access our parking lot. We are also in the planning stages of adding WIFI to our guest rooms. Our parking garage can be challenging and we are always on the look-out on how we can improve in that area. Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate being able to explain and respond to your concerns.

Mahalo,

Amante Castro
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#40 of 84 in Honolulu
1,807 reviews
Pagoda Hotel
#69 of 84 in Honolulu
492 reviews
Courtyard Waikiki Beach
#68 of 84 in Honolulu
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#60 of 84 in Honolulu
1,461 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#58 of 84 in Honolulu
1,878 reviews
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#64 of 84 in Honolulu
1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger

Property: OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger
Address: 2211 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2830 (Formerly Ohana Waikiki Malia)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#38 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#42 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger 3*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger is conveniently located in Central Waikiki on Kuhio Avenue and is a short stroll to a wide variety of shopping and dinning on Kalakaua Avenue and the Waikiki Beach Walk promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ohana Waikiki Malia Honolulu
OHANA Waikiki Malia By Outrigger Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing