We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worse hotel i have ever seen.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites
Ranked #36 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worse hotel i have ever seen.”
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Hotel is durty n stuff is careless.
We are here for 12 day stay with my 3 kids. N floors are very durty when they clean it looks like nothing was done .. I will not never stay in this company.. Service is got to be a night mare....

Manuel serna ..

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank sernam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,596 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    712
    626
    174
    59
    25
See reviews for
470
594
89
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

When this trip was booked we wen into panic only 2 days out and switched to this venue. We had heard that some hotels in the main drag were noisy at night. This was by far the friendliest hotel and best decision we ever made. An easy stroll up to the main drag but much quieter at night. We looked over the park and out to the ocean. The staff here became our friends and we too knew all of them by name when we returned we even send them Chrissie cards. Nothing was too much for these incredible staff. If our family from Oz rang they would chat and tell them where we were that day. I left my heart in Hawaii and when we go back possibly later this year we will stay at the same venue. Oops! don't tell them I still have the key. Hope Chris and Micah and Kenzl are still there when we return. You know what they say if your lei goes back to the shore you are going to return mine did and I am.

Room Tip: Beg for the upgrade to a view over the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We spent part of our honeymoon in Hawaii, this hotel was fantastic. Free coffee and pastries in the morning (get there early!) lovely pool (smallish, but really nice) with a great sun terrace. Great location, not right on the strip which would be noisy. Within walking distance of all of the good shops and restaurants, next to the park and beaches close-by. Our room had a kitchenette, which was brilliant. We will definitely be going back one day!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank suzannewcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richfield, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

The service was great-with a very nice welcome. The hotel rooms were very nice and some include kitchenettes. The location is very good! This was a first-class hotel experience and I would recommend it as a choice hotel. This made our trip to Hawaii very enjoyable!

Room Tip: It's worth getting a kitchenette and an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mopaulett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, WA
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Reserved a 1 bedroom suite with very nicely appointed kitchen. Next to peaceful park and close walk to shopping, the beach & restaurants. Staff are friendly & helpful especially valet & concierge. We didn't use the pool as we went to the beach each day but did use the bbq grills for dinner. Comfortable bed & sleeper sofa, two veranda's, very clean. Bathroom is large; access is via the bedroom. We would stay at the Outrigger Luana again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lynnkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

The hotel is in a great location, close to restaurants and shopping.

The rooms were great with clean sheets, but the bathroom was small and could use some updates. We were on the 4th floor and I could hear the noise from the road, the culprit being the windows. A car alarm woke me up at 4am in the morning and I could not sleep for the rest of the night (I am a light sleeper). I have stayed in many downtown hotels where the noise insulation was much better.

The hotel had kitchen utensils, silverware, refrigerator, but no microwave! We did not ask for one as we stayed there only one day.

Note that parking is valet only and $25/day. And there are no ramps / elevators to take the luggage to the lobby - you have to carry it on the short flight of stairs at the main entrance into the lobby.

The folks at the front desk were very polite and helpful and I was quite happy with the service, but then we did not have much requests from them.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a higher floor - the noise insulation is quite poor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ptero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballwin, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We are are on day 7 of our 9 day stay at the Outrigger Luana. We have a studio suite with a kitchenette and a partial ocean view.

We couldn't be happier with the room. The kitchen is truly a kitchen with quality appliances and decent cookware and plates. Everything we need to keep dining costs down in a costly city. We love enjoying toast or a bagel with our coffee in the morning before we head out. A couple of scrambled eggs are a snap as well.

The facility is not brand new, but certainly well maintained. The pool area is very nice. The lobby is simple but again, attractive and well maintained. The service staff are excellent; very friendly and efficient. While they appear to be a separate company the valet attendants are superb. They know us know and are prompt and so cheerful.

The Outrigger Luana is a great value and I would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richland34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
0.3 mi away
Aqua Oasis
Aqua Oasis
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
587 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aqua Palms Waikiki
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,888 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pagoda Hotel
Pagoda Hotel
#70 of 84 in Honolulu
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Waikiki Beach
0.6 mi away
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#63 of 84 in Honolulu
1,645 reviews
1.1 mi away
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#60 of 84 in Honolulu
1,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites

Property: Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites
Address: 2045 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5118
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking serene Fort DeRussy Park, Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites is a boutique hotel located just a short stroll to Waikiki Beach, world-class shopping, and international dining at the Waikiki Gateway. Choose from a variety of exceptionally comfortable accommodations with Hawaiian style decor, including studios with kitchenettes and spacious ocean view suites with full kitchens. Take advantage of our yoga classes on Tues, Thur, Sat & Sun, cool folding & cruise bikes to explore Oahu, and beach chairs & towels. Come see what sets the Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites apart from other Waikiki hotels! With our daily hospitality fee, Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki shuttle (complimentary Waikiki shuttle service), daily newspaper, in room coffee, in room safe, local & toll-free calls, and water in lobby. Enjoy the manager's reception on Mon, Wed & Friday from 5p-6p which features wine, cheese, and craft beer service, and live Hawaiian entertainment. You'll also enjoy the heated swimming pool, BBQ area & fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Luana Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Luana Waikiki
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing