We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites
Ranked #35 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Hayward, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

Hotel is walking distance from everything in Waikiki! Shops, beaches, restaurants, etc. Rooms were spacious and clean with extra sink and fridge. Staff is professional and friendly, and helpful. The valet guy even got us a limo taxi for our ride to the airport!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    699
    612
    171
    56
    24
See reviews for
456
582
88
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (459)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
156 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

As a budget traveler, I was very happy to find a hotel like the Outrigger Luana.

Room:
We had a studio with kitchen on the 6th floor.
The room was very clean, the bathroom spotless, the king-size bed comfortable, and there was a flat screen cable TV. The kitchen had a small fridge, microwave oven and electric burners, a toaster and coffee maker, so we were able to cook some meals. There was a fee to use the internet in the room, although there is free wireless in the lobby and in the pool area. The daily local newspaper was free for the taking.

The room had a balcony, which looked out on the small triangle park at the Kalakaua/Kuhio split (King David Kalakaua statue), and has a (somewhat obscured by other hotels) view of the mountains and the city. I watched the MLK parade from the balcony. The drawback of this room location is the street noise, so we could not sleep with an open balcony door and had to resort to using A/C. With the door closed, it was very quiet, but the A/C was loud. Next time I will request a room on the backside of the hotel.

Amenities:
The outdoor pool is on the first floor and was never crowded when I was there. There is no jacuzzi, but a nice sundeck with a BBQ pit that guests can use. There is also a nice fitness center by the pool.

Service:
Everyone at the Luana was very helpful and friendly, from the desk clerks and valet parking to the housekeeping personnel. I can't say enough about this, as this is not always the case in Waikiki hotels.

Location:
As other posters have already mentioned, the hotel is not smack dab in the middle of the bustling Waikiki tourist strip but a few minutes' walk from it. It is also not by the beach, which is a 5-10 minute walk (depending on one's pace) through the Fort de Russy park right behind the Luana. My husband had an easy 10 minute walk to his conference at the Hilton Hawaiian Village.
It is also less than a mile from the Ala Moana shopping mall, also an easy walk. The Bus stop is across from the hotel on Kuhio St, and route # 2 takes you not only to Ala Moana mall but to some of the tourist attractions like the Iolani Palace and Kamehameha statue.

Plus: great value, very clean, very friendly service, good location
Minus: charge for internet use in room, $25 parking per night

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor on the backside for less street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElleLaJolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Falls, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

We stayed at the Luana in January 2012 for almost a week. The hotel is not a new property, but was very clean and well kept. We liked the style. The staff were always friendly and helpful. The location was at one end of the Waikiki strip, which was nice, as slightly less touristy than many other Waikiki locations, and only about 3-4 blocks from the beach.

The 2-person room was large enough to not be cramped, and the bed was better than 90+% of the hundreds of hotel beds I have slept in. The rooftop pool/patio area (about 2 floors above street level) were nice, clean, and well kept; they were also kid friendly. We enjoyed the use of the (free) barbecue grill. We bought food several times at the Food Pantry market about 7 blocks from the hotel, and were able to eat well and (relative to eating out) cheaply. Note - bring food from home - Hawaii caused sticker shock for us small-town US midwesterners. If we come again, we'll bring less clothes and more food! The in-room refridgerator was large enough to be really useful. We were able to save on breakfast by using hot water from the coffee maker to make instant oatmeal. The staff were helpful and used their microwave for us on a couple of occasions.

One negative I found - the hotel was rather noisy in the early morning a few days, which made sleeping after 7 am a challenge.

Bottom line - we found the Outrigger Luana to be a pretty nice spot and a great value. We'll likely use the Outrigger Luana again if we return to Oahu.

Room Tip: We had a side room (away from the main street) on the 1st floor (cheapest room). We had a great vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 828RobertB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

Hi I recently stayed at this hotel and I must say it was not modern like the ones on the strip but the staff there were very helpful, the room was clean and had good space with cooking facilities, about a 10 min from the beach at the far end of the strip which is full of designer shops as well as nick nac shops. I am pleased with the location as it was not smack in the middle of all the bar's etc so if you are looking to be more in the centre choose another hotel although thisis only 10 mins to the centre of all shops and bars, Beaches are beautiful but I found the charge of the sun beds a bit steep 25 dollars for 1/2 day rental so check prices before you hire. but all round loved the hotel and location. The pool was not very big only about 19 sun beds and sun there late afternoon.I was also on a cruise Pride of America which food was good, rooms small but clean, drinks around 6/7 dollars, casual was the dress which wish i had know before I went as took far to many evening clothes which really wasn't required. could not find anywhere to write an individual review for this ship would recommend.......

Room Tip: The rooms at the front have the sun in the afternoon, but generally all area's get the sun at so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HOLIDAY2011184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Japan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

Frankly speaking, after seeing hotel around this one, we were happy about our stay in Luana. You will notice many of other hotels are situated along the main street which is very noisy.

Me and my husband (29 and 45 y.o.) were in this hotel from Jan. 1 to 7, 2012. We booked a hotel room with a kitchenette (ocean view), but were upgrated to a studio with a kitchen on the 8th floor ocean view, and were completely satisfied about it. It was not brand new, but very clean and really nice. The only problem as many people mentioned is the traffic noise, but we slept well.

However, if you are thinking about this room for an extended family (with a child or children), then I wonder if the sofa bed that is in the living room would be good, because it has two pillows that are not comfortable to sleep on.

I do not know where the people who say the hotel was dirty stayed. The hotel was clean and nice. The people who are working there are helpful and patient.

The parking is only valet, 25 USD per night, efficient and fast.

If I stay in Honolulu again, I will stay in Outrigger Luana, - other hotels didn't look better, but were more expensive.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WhiteKirin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

Hotel is durty n stuff is careless.
We are here for 12 day stay with my 3 kids. N floors are very durty when they clean it looks like nothing was done .. I will not never stay in this company.. Service is got to be a night mare....

Manuel serna ..

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank sernam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

When this trip was booked we wen into panic only 2 days out and switched to this venue. We had heard that some hotels in the main drag were noisy at night. This was by far the friendliest hotel and best decision we ever made. An easy stroll up to the main drag but much quieter at night. We looked over the park and out to the ocean. The staff here became our friends and we too knew all of them by name when we returned we even send them Chrissie cards. Nothing was too much for these incredible staff. If our family from Oz rang they would chat and tell them where we were that day. I left my heart in Hawaii and when we go back possibly later this year we will stay at the same venue. Oops! don't tell them I still have the key. Hope Chris and Micah and Kenzl are still there when we return. You know what they say if your lei goes back to the shore you are going to return mine did and I am.

Room Tip: Beg for the upgrade to a view over the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Oasis
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Pagoda Hotel
#66 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#55 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Park Shore Waikiki
#23 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
Courtyard Waikiki Beach
#72 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites

Property: Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites
Address: 2045 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5118
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking serene Fort DeRussy Park, Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites is a boutique hotel located just a short stroll to Waikiki Beach, world-class shopping, and international dining at the Waikiki Gateway. Choose from a variety of exceptionally comfortable accommodations with Hawaiian style decor, including studios with kitchenettes and spacious ocean view suites with full kitchens. Take advantage of our yoga classes on Tues, Thur, Sat & Sun, cool folding & cruise bikes to explore Oahu, and beach chairs & towels. Come see what sets the Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites apart from other Waikiki hotels! With our daily hospitality fee, Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki shuttle (complimentary Waikiki shuttle service), daily newspaper, in room coffee, in room safe, local & toll-free calls, and water in lobby. Enjoy the manager's reception on Mon, Wed & Friday from 5p-6p which features wine, cheese, and craft beer service, and live Hawaiian entertainment. You'll also enjoy the heated swimming pool, BBQ area & fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Luana Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Luana Waikiki
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing