We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites
Ranked #30 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Junction City,KS
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

This place is very nice and by Hawaii standards relatively inexpensive. The rooms are clean and the area is away from all the hassle of Waikiki. The surrounding area is nice and there are resturants nearby. We were looking for a place for breakfast and discovered the little cafe at the lobby of the hotel. The name of the place is Protea and the food is great. It's small but if you have to wait it is well worth it.
If and when we go back to Honolulu we will stay here for sure.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    697
    603
    169
    53
    23
See reviews for
448
577
87
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (456)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

We weren't sure how this hotel was going to be and were very happy we chose it. We spent our
time while in Waikiki here and at another hotel which hands down for the money, this was the
better choice. The room was spacious with a kitchenette which made it comfortable and it was
close enough to walk to downtown Waikiki, yet far enough away to escape the hustle and bustle.
The front desk was extremely pleasant as was the cleaning crew. The valet seemed a bit
unprofessional and was not the best representation of the hotel. They hung out in front of the
place, never heard a hello or goodbye from them. We enjoyed our stay and will definitely come back.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Czern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013

The hotel is on the edge of the main Waikiki hotel strip so is much quieter, especially on the upper floors overlooking Ft DeRussy Park. The room we stayed in was privately owned , but managed by the hotel, and was spacious enough to accommodate a comfortable queen-size bed, a sofa, a small dining table, and a mini-kitchen suitable for preparing breakfast or a cold lunch (i.e. no microwave). We found that not being directly on the beach was an advantage, since we were away from the crowds, and only a 5 minute walk from the relatively quiet beach at the foot of Ft De Russy Park. The hotel staff were welcoming and helpful. We did not have need to use the small hotel restaurant since we made breakfast in the room and sampled some of the first rate restaurants nearby. The rate was very reasonable and since the hotel is on several bus routes, we had no need of a rental car or parking.

Room Tip: Do not take a room on a lower floor facing Kalakaua Ave, where the traffic is intense 24/7
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank retiredprof020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013 via mobile

We loved this hotel, and will come back again.
We stayed with our 2 kids in a 1 bedroom apartment. We stayed on the 16th floor, and had to be careful the kids didn't go on the balcony, but kept the doors locked. We would prob try and get a lower floor next time though. Beautiful views to ocean were a bonus.
Room was spacious and clean. Full kitchen handy, although there were only convenience stores nearby to get groceries - no large supermarkets. Modern furniture, and plenty of storage for our 8 day stay. Lots of tv channels, and free Internet.
Staff were fantastic and very helpful. There is no room service, and there is only 1 small cafe downstairs open until 2pm. Not licensed. This didn't bother us though, as we could walk 5 mins to main Waikiki area, and there were even shops across the road. Pool area was small but lovely and quiet. BBQ facilities too. Great hotel for families - nice and quiet, but offers all that other Waikiki hotels offer. Excellent value for money. Would definitely stay again!

JB
Perth, Australia

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jet11Per
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, Ca
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 7 days. Our room was very clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. We loved our view. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The beach is really only a five minute walk and you walk through Ft. DeRussy Park. You do not need a car, everything you may want to do is in walking distance. The buses stop right across the street.

Room Tip: We were on the 16th floor and had a partial ocean view with a kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights when we moved to Honolulu - our apartment was being painted and this was a nice chance to add a little vacation to our move.

The location is great. It's on the edge of Waikiki so it's not in the heart of the noise, but easy to get to everything - Ala Moana is a short, pleasant walk and the Fort Derussy park area is nice to stroll in.

Our room was very nice, large and comfortable. It had a big kitchen area with plates and silver ware; but nothing to cook on - a microwave would have been a nice addition.

The water pressure was Awesome, making for a fantastic hot shower at the end of the day.

The staff were so helpful, I dropped a camera lens hood off my lanai and they were very kind and helpful letting in in the first floor apartment to retrieve it.

Since we were moving we had LOT's Of baggage and the staff could not have been more helpful getting it in and out of our cabs.

We'd certainly stay here again and warmly recommend to family and friends.

Room Tip: Our room faced Fort Derussy park and had a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TimCrowley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

Good location to shopping & beach. 10-15 minute walk through park to the beach. Reasonable rates. Ask for a room that overlooks Fort DeRussy Park. Accomodating & friendly staff & concierge. Pool area & fitness center on the small side but very adequate.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with park/ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BJM991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Oasis
#19 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Pagoda Hotel
#66 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#54 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Park Shore Waikiki
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#63 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites

Property: Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites
Address: 2045 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5118
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking serene Fort DeRussy Park, Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites is a boutique hotel located just a short stroll to Waikiki Beach, world-class shopping, and international dining at the Waikiki Gateway. Choose from a variety of exceptionally comfortable accommodations with Hawaiian style decor, including studios with kitchenettes and spacious ocean view suites with full kitchens. Take advantage of our yoga classes on Tues, Thur, Sat & Sun, cool folding & cruise bikes to explore Oahu, and beach chairs & towels. Come see what sets the Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites apart from other Waikiki hotels! With our daily hospitality fee, Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki shuttle (complimentary Waikiki shuttle service), daily newspaper, in room coffee, in room safe, local & toll-free calls, and water in lobby. Enjoy the manager's reception on Mon, Wed & Friday from 5p-6p which features wine, cheese, and craft beer service, and live Hawaiian entertainment. You'll also enjoy the heated swimming pool, BBQ area & fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Luana Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Luana Waikiki
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing