We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites
Ranked #33 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

we stayed here for 10 nights and the room and service here were great. The cleaning and service in general was of a high standard. This hotel is situated just outside of the really busy area of Waikiki and quiet. We were on the 12th floor facing the mountains and had no issues with traffic noise. The room was very spacious with queen bed and good sized wardrobe.The trolley service that took you all over Waikiki is only one street away from the hotel. The fruited water in the lobby is a great idea and very appreciated on the warmer days.great place to stay and we will be back.

Room Tip: rooms facing mountains and on higher floors are nicer for the views and less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TassMazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    699
    610
    170
    56
    24
See reviews for
456
580
88
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (459)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucks County
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We just checked out of the Outrigger this morning. We were there for three nights. Our stay was lovely. Hotel is clean and the staff is friendly. Both concierges, Matt and Stacey, were very helpful. We liked that this hotel was a little away from where all the action is. It is an easy walk to the restaurants and the beach.

We were glad we did not rent a car here. Traffic is unbelievable...all the time.....use shuttles, trollies....or walk.

We went on two Discover Hawaii tours.....booked them at the hotel. I highly recommend this tour company. We took the pearl harbor tour and the circle island tour. Both were informative and fun.

one night we ate at the Shore Bird restaurant in the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach....noisy....and you cook your own food on very hot grills.....I grill 2 or 3 times a week so this wasnt very exciting for me....but then the second night we went to The Top of Wakiki which is wonderful....service fabulous and food great....it is located on the 20th floor and it slowly spins.....very slowly and you dont even realize it.....would highly recommend this place.....happy hour from 5 to 7 so go a bit before your reservation and have a drink at the bar.....

Groceries are very expensive in Wakiki....walk to the Food Pantry not the ABC stores....it is still expensive but better than ABC.....if you can fit some non perishables in your suitcase you should. Raisin bran was $8 a box and english muffins were $6....if you have room it is easy to slip food bzgs between your clothes....save your money for better things! Aloha!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BucksCountyQuiltLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Our 7 night stay was most enjoyable. From the 14th floor our room had lovely view over Fort De Russy Park to the water. Excellent spot on the Lanai for the fireworks on Friday night. We had a kitchenette so useful to have a microwave and fridge etc. We asked for two beds but room only came with nice queen size bed and sofabed. The sofabed was alittle squeeky and hard. Housekeeping everyday made the beds and replenished the toiletries, didn't seem to clean the floors. The pool area was a good place to relax and seemed clean. The issue for most people seems to be the location of where they stay in Waikiki. This hotel is just a few steps away for the heavy tourist hotel strip and we loved that. The staff, no matter what time of day were always helpful.

Room Tip: Partial Ocean veiw room is well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JesKay62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed here for four nights prior to our cruise back to Sydney ,the Staff at this Hotel are the friendliest and most helpful people you could ever meet .A big thankyou to Cassel who helped me out with the Wifi connection .The fruit water cooler in the foyer was great after a long walk around Waikiki very refreshing .
We had a room at the front on the first floor quite a large room with a great balcony ,very clean and the bed and pillows were the best ,the shampoo etc was of good quality .The Pool area also very good nice once again to cool off after our many walks .
Maybe the only downside was the road noise and the airconditioner ,but we would not hesitate to recommend this Hotel and we would definitely stay here again .

Room Tip: A higher floor as on a busy road and can be quite noisy at times
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

The staff here are wonderful and the hotel has kitchen facilities as we were over eating every meal at restaurants by this stage of our holiday. Great pool area and just all over a good place. Off the beach it is a walk to waikiki which suited us and was close to everything. Great place to stay and we will go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeAnn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My sister and I have stayed at Luana for the last 10 days and we have had a great experience. Staff are friendly and vey helpful, rooms are cleaned everyday and pool and gym area are always clean as well. No room service is available but there is a cafe downstairs open 6.30am til 2pm.
What did we miss? A hotel bar to have a nightcap or afternoon cocktail, room service, a quiet air conditioner in our room (so noisy) - that's about it!
Beds are very comfortable and pillows are great! Yes, the hotel could do with a bit of a spruce up but it's still a great place. Bathrooms are small but we got the opportunity to see a couple of rooms at other hotels in the same price range and they are all similar, too small for 2 people but still good.
The walk to Waikiki beach is about 10 or 15 mins away but we thought the beach here is much nicer and less crowded.

Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monny68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
128 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Overall a good experience. The front desk was accommodating and we were able to check in early after a long flight from Australia. We needed our luggage stored due to a late flight on check-out day and the staff made sure we were well taken care of. Our room was clean and adequate. The location was great, within walking distance of beach, shops, eateries. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: rooms on the higher floors have less road noise.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lovestotravelFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Oasis
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
525 reviews
Pagoda Hotel
#65 of 84 in Honolulu
483 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#55 of 84 in Honolulu
1,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Park Shore Waikiki
#23 of 84 in Honolulu
1,324 reviews
Courtyard Waikiki Beach
#71 of 84 in Honolulu
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites

Property: Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites
Address: 2045 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5118
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking serene Fort DeRussy Park, Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites is a boutique hotel located just a short stroll to Waikiki Beach, world-class shopping, and international dining at the Waikiki Gateway. Choose from a variety of exceptionally comfortable accommodations with Hawaiian style decor, including studios with kitchenettes and spacious ocean view suites with full kitchens. Take advantage of our yoga classes on Tues, Thur, Sat & Sun, cool folding & cruise bikes to explore Oahu, and beach chairs & towels. Come see what sets the Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites apart from other Waikiki hotels! With our daily hospitality fee, Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki shuttle (complimentary Waikiki shuttle service), daily newspaper, in room coffee, in room safe, local & toll-free calls, and water in lobby. Enjoy the manager's reception on Mon, Wed & Friday from 5p-6p which features wine, cheese, and craft beer service, and live Hawaiian entertainment. You'll also enjoy the heated swimming pool, BBQ area & fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Luana Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Luana Waikiki
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing