We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucked into a great deal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites
Ranked #36 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lucked into a great deal”
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

I got a great deal here for 2 nights so my review is skewed. I can see how some are saying it's noisy and the room decor is outdated. These things don't bother me. It's Oahu. It's loud. Not on the beach either. But the front desk staff has been helpful and nice. And while the balcony is small, it's big enough for me. Overall, I think I got a really great deal on the room and on short notice (<3 days).

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank notted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny C, Guest Relations Manager at Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Aloha notted,

Thank you for a great review! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and if you are in the area and would like to make a booking, please feel free to contact me at anytime. You can reach me at sunchan@aquaresorts.com

Mahalo,
Sunny Chan
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,596 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    712
    626
    174
    59
    25
See reviews for
470
594
89
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We were so happy with every part of our stay. We wished we could stay longer. It was a very welcoming place to stay. The staff always greeted us with a smile.we would definately choose the Luana to stay at the next time we travel to the area.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sfergimilty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny C, Guest Relations Manager at Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Aloha Sfergimilty,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your vacation with us. Please feel free to contact me directly for your next booking. You can reach me at sunchan@aquaresorts.com


Mahalo,
Sunny Chan
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We spent 9 nights at Luana from 14-23 February. Loved the location of the hotel. We had a high level room with a kitchenette, it had great views of the ocean and Fort De Russy Park. The downside was that the balcony was very small. It wasn't noisy. The pool area was great, although the water temp in the pool was very warm, it actually felt like it was heated.The housekeeping was done at different times of the day which was not a problem, as we were out most of every day, and would pop in at different times to either find it done or not done, which was no issue. The staff were ALWAYS friendly, especially those working outside the hotel. There is no bar or dinner options within the hotel, however it is close to everything in Waikiki, so it was good exercise to get out and about. We would stay here again, great value for money in a city which has really expensive hotel rooms.

Room Tip: Higher floors and ones with kitchenettes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liz s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny C, Guest Relations Manager at Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Aloha Liz S,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your vacation with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon. For your next visit, please contact me directly at sunchan@aquaresorts.com

Regards,
Sunny Chan
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penfield, New York
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

The stay at this hotel was very pleasant.
Friendly staff, Valet
Had a great view of Waikiki.
Walking distance to most attractions, restaurants, and night life
All the people were more than helpful!
Love this Hotel, relaxing!

Room Tip: The one bedrooms are very nice! Glass siding doors in living area, and bedroom area with balconies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovestotravel426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny C, Guest Relations Manager at Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Aloha lovestotravel426,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review with us. Our team strives to provide outstanding service, and more than helpful is right, so thank you! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Feel free to contact me directly at sunchan@aquaresorts.com for your next visit.

Warmest Mahalo,
Sunny Chan
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We spent two weeks at this hotel and highly recommend it. The management and staff were very friendly and helpful. We met the manager Rudy Fao he was very pleasent as was the Concierge Matthew Frisbie. The room was clean and well maintained by housekeeping.
We will certainly be returning for our next vacation.
The Weber`s

Room Tip: partial ocean view rooms are desirable
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roland w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny C, Guest Relations Manager at Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Aloha Roland W,

Thank you for the review! Matthew was very happy to hear about this review and we look forward to welcoming you back to our property on your next vacation. Should you have any special requests, please direct them my way at sunchan@aquaresorts.com

Mahalo,
Sunny Chan
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stayed at the Luana for 7 days this month, it's a decent hotel, fairly clean. They offer free yoga and bike rentals which we didn't end up using, but it's nice to know it's there. The only complaint we had was that the daily housekeeping was mediocre, they were in the room early (as in if you weren't out of the room by 8-make sure you have the do not disturb sign up) but sometimes things only seemed half done, the floors never seemed fully swept and they would just leave unopened toilet paper rolls and tissue boxes in the washroom even when not needed, they didn't take out garbage unless it was placed in the small garbage can so as a result we had empty bottles and pizza boxes on the counter.

All in all I would recommend the hotel if you're going to Waikiki to see the sights (as we were) as it is one of the simpler hotels on the strips and not a resort experience-which is what we were looking for.

Quick tips-avoid the coffee in the lobby and rooms, it's very weak and the pot in the lobby always had a funny taste to it. There is no room service or pay per view movie rental option so come prepared.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mehmeh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny C, Guest Relations Manager at Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Aloha mehmeh1,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review with us. It is unfortunate that we did not exceed your expectations. This is something the Luana team strives for, daily. Your concerns has been brought to management's attention and we will be changing the refresh water and coffee in our lobby in addition to other changes in the near future. Should you have any questions, feel free to contact me directly at sunchan@aquaresorts.com

Regards,
Sunny Chan
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

My husband and I stayed here Feb 9 - 19 2014. We were so pleased with our choice - the staff were so very friendly and accommodating, especially Jackie on the front desk and Marco (?) the bellman. They were so gentle, calm and helpful.

The room was clean, bright and cheerfully furnished with tropical prints and furniture. The bed was very comfortable! The kitchenette was extremely well equipped, clean and modern. Having some cooking and food storage facilities is a BIG money saver and makes it feel more like a home away from home rather than an impersonal hotel. We had a partial oceanview studio kitchenette on the 9th flor. It had a small lanai, and the view was fabulous - overlooking Waikiki to the east, peek a boo view of Diamond head, gorgeous full view of Fort DeRussy park, and of course, the ocean in the near distance. We saw whales several days from our lanai & the sound of birds in the park each morning was so nice. We did hear a fair bit of traffic noise from Kalakaua Ave., but it is to be expected given the excellent location of the hotel. As we always do anywhere we travel, we used earplugs and that cut most of the traffic and air conditioner noise.

The pool, though on the smaller side, is much bigger in reality than what shows on the hotel website - and what a beautiful warm temperature!!! Very clean as well. Even on cloudy, rainy days, the pool was heavenly. The pool deck is very peaceful as it is on the park side of the hotel. Very comfortable loungers, greenery, cabanas for shade. We also used the exercise room, which was small but well equipped, bright and clean. We used the guest laundry which was very convenient and reasonably priced. Again, a nice "home away from home" feature, especially for long stays.

Ft. DeRussy beach is just a short peaceful walk through the park from the hotel; super nice mellow beach. The hotel provides complimentary beach towels, beach chairs and other items to guests, which we made use of. The hotel even offers the loan of folding bicycles to guests; we didn't get a chance to use them, but the general manager showed us how they worked and they seem ideal for touring around Waikiki. All the action of Waikiki is a short walk from the hotel, most of the main public bus routes have stops very near the hotel, Dollar/Thrifty car rental is just across the street & lots of restaurants nearby (including the very good little Protea Cafe in the hotel lobby - great gluten-free pizza!). The closest grocery store is a 10 minute easy walk west, on Hobron Lane (Food Pantry).

A couple of notes: this is an older building (early 70's) that has been well-kept. However, the patio doors are very thin (single pane and not sealed) and let a lot of noise in. Also, at least in our room, although the air conditioner worked well, it had a very loud fan noise and vibration. We requested that maintenance look at it, but it didn't seem to resolve the noise. We used earplugs at night and that helped.

All in all, however, highly recommended, especially for longer stays. Try to get a room as high as possible, and definitely go for a partial oceanview and as far towards the south side of the building as possible to avoid traffic noise.

Room Tip: Try to get a room as high as possible, and definitely go for a partial oceanview and as far towards...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank monavan12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny C, Guest Relations Manager at Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Aloha Monavan12,

Thank you for such a detailed review of our property and the surroundings. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope that you brought some wonderful memories and experiences back home with you. Again, thank you for the tips to our viewers and such a wonderful review.

Mahalo,
Sunny Chan
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
0.3 mi away
Aqua Oasis
Aqua Oasis
#23 of 84 in Honolulu
587 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aqua Palms Waikiki
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,888 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pagoda Hotel
Pagoda Hotel
#70 of 84 in Honolulu
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Waikiki Beach
0.6 mi away
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#64 of 84 in Honolulu
1,645 reviews
1.1 mi away
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#60 of 84 in Honolulu
1,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites

Property: Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites
Address: 2045 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5118
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking serene Fort DeRussy Park, Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites is a boutique hotel located just a short stroll to Waikiki Beach, world-class shopping, and international dining at the Waikiki Gateway. Choose from a variety of exceptionally comfortable accommodations with Hawaiian style decor, including studios with kitchenettes and spacious ocean view suites with full kitchens. Take advantage of our yoga classes on Tues, Thur, Sat & Sun, cool folding & cruise bikes to explore Oahu, and beach chairs & towels. Come see what sets the Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites apart from other Waikiki hotels! With our daily hospitality fee, Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki shuttle (complimentary Waikiki shuttle service), daily newspaper, in room coffee, in room safe, local & toll-free calls, and water in lobby. Enjoy the manager's reception on Mon, Wed & Friday from 5p-6p which features wine, cheese, and craft beer service, and live Hawaiian entertainment. You'll also enjoy the heated swimming pool, BBQ area & fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Luana Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Luana Waikiki
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing