We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites
Ranked #36 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stayed here before and after a cruise and we were very impressed with the staff and the condition of the hotel. Although older, is was maintained very well and the location is excellent, close to shopping, restaurants, and beach. We didn't rent a car and walked everywhere.

Room Tip: We had a city view which was probably more noisy that the beach side but it wasn't an issue
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny C, Guest Relations Manager at Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Aloha Judy G,

Thank you for staying with the Luana. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your vacation, and hopefully you enjoyed your cruise as well. Again, Mahalo for choosing the Luana Waikiki!


Mahalo,
Sunny Chan
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,628)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

723 - 729 of 1,628 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014

I got the cheapest room not thinking it would be much, but it was big, beautiful and spacious. It contained a queen bed, sofa, flat screen TV, little table for two, and a mini kitchenette area (no stove) with a granite counter top. I absolutely loved it! I would definitely stay there again and would recommend to anyone looking for a decent place to stay that's well situated in Waikiki. Staff is very welcoming and helpful. Great service.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Krystal-Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny C, Guest Relations Manager at Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Aloha Krystal-Lee T,

Mahalo for staying with the Luana! We strive to provide and achieve consistent guest services in order to personalize your stay so thank you for acknowledging our team. It is wonderful to hear that you loved the accommodations that we offer.

Again, Mahalo from the Luana Ohana!

Regards,
Sunny Chan
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stayed for two nights recently, and I can sympathize with the reviewers here who mention street noise - like many others, this hotel is located right on a very busy and noisy main drag in Honolulu.
We were fortunate enough to have a room on the 12 floor facing the ocean ("partial ocean view") and the street noise was no problem at all!
The staff was attentive, courteous, and professional, and the room was nice (I like to have a kitchenette).
This place is within easy walking distance of the beach on Waikiki and also the shopping in Honolulu.
We had a very nice stay, and would recommend as the rates are reasonable for the area.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank George_Moosie_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny C, Guest Relations Manager at Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Aloha George_Moosie_W,

Thank you for staying with the Luana and mahalo for commending our team on their attentiveness and professionalism. Our team makes it a point to make sure our guest concerns are heard and addressed. Again, thank you for staying with us!

Regards,
Sunny Chan
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Stayed for a night the staffs are great makes you feel at home right away...the rooms are big enough with a kitchenette but because our room is situated on the second floor facing the street, you could hear street noise.
The room is clean and comfortable no complaints there, they serve coffee in the morning at the lobby and fruit flavored water as well.
No dining facility except for a third party operator located beside the front entrance that serves breakfast, lunch not sure about dinner.
Overall, we rate the hotel fair.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank goldie75_57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny C, Guest Relations Manager at Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Aloha goldie75_57,

Mahalo for staying with the Luana Waikiki and thank you for taking the time to leave us a feedback. I am glad that our team were able to provide you with service that makes you feel right at home. If you did not have the opportunity to try out some of our complimentary amenities, we offer complimentary bicycle rentals, complimentary yoga sessions twice a week, complimentary refresh water and coffee in our lobby, and more. Again, thank you for staying with the Luana Waikiki!

Regards,
Sunny Chan
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We needed to stay within Waikiki to be near family, and this turned out to be a great budget-conscious option. The "partial view" was a great view, since the hotel is esconced within a park area. Very nice and helpful staff. Room was standard hotel size but kept clean and we loved having a kitchenette. Staff responsive when we needed extra supplied. Yes there is street noise due to being on the busiest boulevard (bring earplugs if you have want to leave window open). But we knew that, and our other low expectations for a condo/hotel were not borne out. Our budget was not in the 5-star range so this allowed us to stay longer in Hawaii and save $ to rent a care. And longer is always better.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank M W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny C, Guest Relations Manager at Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Aloha M W,

Mahalo for staying with us and recognizing the service that our team extends. It is great to hear that you were able to enjoy a longer vacation with us. We also offer many complimentary amenities that you may choose from the next time you stay with us including complimentary bike rentals to yoga sessions.

Thanks,
Sunny Chan
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

I was highly disappointed. The rooms are teeny tiny and the beds even more so. Bit sure which rooms had queen sized beds but I saw three and all had doubles. The decor is 70s shabby and the cleaning staff can't be bothered to throw out a paper cup in your room. Just basics there.. The same hair on my shower walls (which were not mine) were there for the whole three days. The front desk staff could really not be bothered. The pool is tiny. Parking is 35 dollars a night!!! Only thing that's great is the location. I would have rather tacked on an extra 30 and went to the outrigger or Sheraton.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank GreenSonya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rudy F, General Manager at Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Aloha and thank you for taking the time to review us. We are disappointed to learn that we failed to meet your expectations. The Luana Waikiki is an intimate hotel that is different than the large resort type hotels. We are a small boutique hotel with unique amenities such as complimentary morning coffee & tea service daily in the lobby, complimentary bicycle rentals, complimentary yoga classes on Wednesday and Sunday, complimentary Wi-Fi, complimentary BBQ grills on the pool deck, complimentary beach chairs that you can take to the beach. We hope you had the opportunity to advantage of these signature amenities during your stay with us.
Our smallest room is 320sq which is spacious for Waikiki standards. All rooms have a wet bar which comes in handy especially for longer stay visitors and all rooms have a lanai as well. For a more spacious accommodation, I recommend reserving a deluxe ocean view one bedroom suite that is over 700sq the next time you stay with us.
We sincerely apologize that our housekeeping team failed to refresh you room to our normal high standards, we will share your feedback with them so they can improve on their shortcomings.

We hope your visit to Honolulu was memorable and we look forward to your return to our beautiful island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Good location, very friendly and helpful staff, room was very comfortable air conditioning worked well and made no significant noise. If you want beach front this is not the place to go as you have to walk about 10 minutes to the beach; hotel will provide beach towels and chairs free of charge.

Room Tip: no room service nor breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Armando C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny C, Guest Relations Manager at Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Aloha Armando C,

Mahalo for staying with us and hope you enjoyed Hawaii while here for the conference. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the Luana and found our team to be helpful. Thank you for such great comments!

Regards,
Sunny Chan
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Oasis
#25 of 84 in Honolulu
639 reviews
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#11 of 84 in Honolulu
680 reviews
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#44 of 84 in Honolulu
1,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Shore Waikiki
#20 of 84 in Honolulu
1,669 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#58 of 84 in Honolulu
1,921 reviews
Waikiki Gateway Hotel
#16 of 84 in Honolulu
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites

Address: 2045 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £123 - £312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites is a boutique hotel located just a short stroll to Waikiki Beach and international dining at the Waikiki Gateway. Choose from a variety of exceptionally comfortable accommodations with Hawaiian style decor, including studios with kitchenettes & spacious ocean view suites with full kitchens. Take advantage of our yoga classes, cool folding & cruise bikes to explore Oahu, and beach chairs & towels. With our daily hospitality fee, Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites allows guests to enjoy many amenities without having to incur misc. charges. These services include DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki shuttle (complimentary Waikiki shuttle service), daily newspaper, in room coffee, in room safe, local & toll-free calls, and water in lobby. Enjoy the manager's reception on Mon, Wed & Friday from 5p-6p which features wine, cheese, and craft beer service, & live Hawaiian entertainment. Try our on-site restaurant, Fish Hook cafe for some local favorite dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Luana Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Luana Waikiki
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing