We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel - Great Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites
Ranked #35 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Hayward, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel - Great Staff”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The Luana Waikiki is the place to be in Honolulu! The room was immaculately clean, the ocean view is spectacular and the staff is impeccable! Over the years it's been a pleasure to see how the management and staff continues to impress hotel guests with new and innovative amenities that could only be expected at high end properties at a fraction of the cost! The one bedroom upper floor rooms are fantastic and the prices are more than reasonable! Next trip to Honolulu, the Luana Waikiki will be my first choice!

Room Tip: Upper floor one bedrooms are quiet and the views are incredible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Delta_Flyer2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny C, Guest Relations Manager at Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Aloha Delta_Flyer2014,

Thank you for the perfect 5-star review. My team and I really appreciate your kind words. I hope that you were able to enjoy the added complimentary amenities during your most recent stay with us. Again, Mahalo for staying with us and I look forward to your next vacation with the Luana.

Regards,
Sunny Chan
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,596 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    712
    626
    174
    59
    25
See reviews for
470
594
89
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed at Luana Waikiki five days.The staff was exceptional.Was able to check in early after a long fifteen hour flight.The room was spacious and nice view.stayed on the fifth floor,corner one bedroom.The beds were super comfy.Having stayed at several five star properties right on the beachfront in waikiki,this hotel comes very close in comparison due to the exceptional staff and overall hotel experience . If you want value for money than this is the best place to stay in waikiki.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny C, Guest Relations Manager at Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Aloha Lisa Z,

Thank you for the wonderful 5-star review and your kind words. Our team strives to honor all requests and to create memorable experiences for our guests to take home with them. It is wonderful to hear that your overall hotel experience was a great one and that our level of service is what made your stay an exceptional one.

Mahalo for staying with us and thank you for taking the time to write us a review.

Regards,
Sunny Chan
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Tyler our concierge was wonderful:) We went on three excursions with his help. Jackie at the front desk was very helpful.Adam Abraham, Markiel, and Mateo were very helpful for shuttles and our very heavy luggage. The rooms were clean and comfortable beds!!! The view from the eleventh floor was pretty good. It overlooked the park and we had a partial ocean view. This was a great experience at the Luana. Thank you, Teri and Audria

Room Tip: Pick a partial ocean view seventh floor and higher
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny C, Guest Relations Manager at Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Aloha Teri and Audria,

Thank you for the perfect 5-star review and mahalo for taking the time in writing us. We strive to create experiences for our guests to take home with them. It is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your vacation with us and thank you for commending our team members.

Again, thank you for staying with us and I look forward to your next visit with us.

Mahalo,
Sunny Chan
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isanti, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed at the Luana Hotel for a few days while our son graduated, combining an event to celebrate as well as have a much needed delayed vacation! The accommodations are excellent, close to everything and still a quiet retreat. Our room was spacious and had everything we needed and more! The service was friendly and gracious, and the pool area, my fav spot, was not crowded at al and was very clean. We were granted an extension on our last day to be able to hit the beach one last time and come back for a shower afterward as our flight did not leave until evening. We really enjoyed our time there and if we ever get to come back, would not hesitate to stay again!

Room Tip: Our room had a great view of both the ocean and the main street. We were on the 6th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brokentree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny C, Guest Relations Manager at Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Aloha brokentree,

Mahalo for the perfect 5-star review and thank you for taking the time in writing a review for us and other TripAdvisor visitors. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your vacation here with the Luana. Thank you for staying with us and congratulations on your son's graduation!

Regards,
Sunny Chan
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My family had just come off a 12hr flight and arrived early in the morning. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They made a room up for us and let us check-in a bit early which was really nice. The bell-captain looked after our luggage and gave us a little tour of the hotel which was really nice. You can tell that the management look after their staff because their staff look after their guests. I will definitely be staying hear again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny C, Guest Relations Manager at Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Aloha Dan I,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I am glad to hear that our guest services team were able to accommodate your family to an earlier check in time. Thank you for recognizing both our team and management. Mahalo for staying with us and I look forward to your next visit with the Luana.

Regards,
Sunny Chan
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2014

What a gem of a hotel! As a travel agent, I totally recommend this hotel. Very friendly and knowledgeable staff. Quiet location, walking distance to all happening locations; beach, shopping, restaurants etc. Very clean and comfortable rooms. This hotel offers complimentary bikes, beach chairs, towels and only rents Volvo vehicles!!! What a special treat! We will definitely stay here on our next visit. Kudos to the wonderful staff, especially.......Kazuko, Ebony & Sori!!!

Mahalo!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrstmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny C, Guest Relations Manager at Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Aloha mrstmac,

Mahalo for the fantastic 5-star review! and thank you for taking the time to write us. We strive to update ourselves with the most current events and activities offered by Waikiki. I am glad that the Luana team provided you with helpful information of the nearby area.

Thank you for recognizing the Luana team and mahalo for staying with us.

Regards,
Sunny Chan
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I am a local resident of Hawaii, and I stay at hotels in Waikiki pretty often for various reasons. I can’t tell you how important it is to find a hotel that I could call my home away from home. I was recommended this hotel by a friend and it was a great recommendation. It all starts from the front desk. The customer service was excellent. Ebony and Sunny (I believe he was the Front Office Manager) was so helpful during my stay. The room was amazing for the price you are paying for in my opinion. The rooms were pretty modern and very clean… and for a partial ocean view, you get a pretty big view of the ocean. I can safely say that I have found my home away from home!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jhyunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny C, Guest Relations Manager at Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Aloha jhyunk,

Our team very much appreciates your 5-star review and thank you for your commendations. Our team strives to create memorable experiences for all guests. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your most recent visit with us and that you found your home away from home to be at the Luana Waikiki.

Again, thank you for staying with us and I look forward to your return.

Regards,
Sunny Chan
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
0.3 mi away
Aqua Oasis
Aqua Oasis
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
588 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aqua Palms Waikiki
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,888 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pagoda Hotel
Pagoda Hotel
#70 of 84 in Honolulu
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Waikiki Beach
0.6 mi away
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#64 of 84 in Honolulu
1,645 reviews
1.1 mi away
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#61 of 84 in Honolulu
1,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites

Property: Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites
Address: 2045 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5118
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking serene Fort DeRussy Park, Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites is a boutique hotel located just a short stroll to Waikiki Beach, world-class shopping, and international dining at the Waikiki Gateway. Choose from a variety of exceptionally comfortable accommodations with Hawaiian style decor, including studios with kitchenettes and spacious ocean view suites with full kitchens. Take advantage of our yoga classes on Tues, Thur, Sat & Sun, cool folding & cruise bikes to explore Oahu, and beach chairs & towels. Come see what sets the Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites apart from other Waikiki hotels! With our daily hospitality fee, Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki shuttle (complimentary Waikiki shuttle service), daily newspaper, in room coffee, in room safe, local & toll-free calls, and water in lobby. Enjoy the manager's reception on Mon, Wed & Friday from 5p-6p which features wine, cheese, and craft beer service, and live Hawaiian entertainment. You'll also enjoy the heated swimming pool, BBQ area & fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Luana Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Luana Waikiki
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing