We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Waikiki Marina Resort at the Ilikai
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Equus Hotel(Honolulu)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Prince Waikiki(Honolulu)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (911)
Filter reviews
911 results
Traveller rating
438
318
77
41
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
438
318
77
41
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull kitchenshell vacationsala moana mallred lobstertime shareacross the streetshort walkpartial ocean viewthe hilton hawaiian villageon friday nightsthe sofa bedstayed here for a weekjunior suiteabc storevalet servicecoffee makernorth shore
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
194 - 199 of 911 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This was our second visit to this hotel. We liked it last year and the location really is hard to beat, being next door to the lagoon and near to the mall. The pool is fine, the pool staff (especially Teri) are really friendly and great. Last year we stayed in the Ewa wing with a street view. It really wasn't noisy though with the door to the lanai closed and we were right over the main entrance. This year they put us in the Makai wing with a slightly obstructed lagoon/sea view. We noticed a few things this year, like crushed cookies or muffin in the hall way for more than 24 hours, and not just once. We also somehow lucked into some really noisy neighbors, doors slamming shut until late at night, lots of loud voices, but that is out of the hotels control. The biggest problem we had was the drain for the sink. It wasn't our sink drain, it was the whole stack. It started backing up into the sink in the kitchen. A guy came and poured essentially liquid plumber in it and that was that. Of course it overflowed again, this time all the way into the kitchen floor. We were moved to another room, just down the hall. It was at this time that the staff (the same guy who checked us in btw) told us about hospitality rooms that might be available (since we had a late flight out on checkout day) and we were given a late checkout. He really seemed dissapointed we weren't told at check in about the hospitality room, I didn't have the heart to tell him he was the one who checked us in. Enough complaining, the rooms are large, somewhat dated but still nice. The rooms are generally quiet, and the a/c works. There are no exhaust fans, not in the bathrooms or in the kitchen area (at least on the third floor) so cooking odors tend to linger, even if you open the balcony door while cooking. I'm not saying we won't be back, but we chose this hotel largely on location, and less on price. There are other options in the area, that will work just as well and are price competitive.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JasonG418782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WVO_Resort_Manager, General Manager at Waikiki Marina Resort at the Ilikai, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Aloha from the Waikiki Marina Resort at the Ilikai. Thank you for your return visit! It is nice to hear that you enjoyed our location and the comfort of our spacious 500 sq ft rooms. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you endured. I will be sure the association is notified of their contracted janitorial company's service failures in not maintaining proper cleanliness of the corridors. It is unfortunate that you experienced a drain backup and noisy neighbors but I am relieved to hear that you were moved and provided with a complimentary late checkout. We typically do not publicize our hospitality room as it's availability depends on our occupancy. We appreciate your repeat patronage as well as your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back.

Mahalo Nui Loa,
Barrett Winning
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The Resort is in a prime location for beach and shopping. The rooms are really out dated but the view was well worth it. We would stay there again just for the view we had. You are are in walking distance of a lot of great dining. Just down the street from the mall and took the bus to the Zoo overall a great vacation

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Holly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WVO_Resort_Manager, General Manager at Waikiki Marina Resort at the Ilikai, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Greetings from Waikiki Marina Resort at the Ilikai. We appreciate your candid feedback and are glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay. Our location as you mentioned is quite convenient as we are within easy walking distance to Ala Moana Center and the beach. We are looking forward to our room renovations which begin next year. Hope to see you again.

Yours Truly,
Barrett Winning
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

We were very skeptical booking this hotel after reading mixed reviews, however this hotel has met all our expectations. Sure the rooms are dated but very clean, kitchen facilities is so handy, large comfy bed, close to everything. ... what's not to like? The pool is very crowded in the weekends but the staff are helpful and very friendly. We loved our stay here and will definitely return :)

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank 211kavitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WVO_Resort_Manager, General Manager at Waikiki Marina Resort at the Ilikai, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Much thanks for your positive 5 star rating and review. We are pleased that you had an excellent stay and plan to return. Our full kitchen suites and prime location combined with our top notch service makes this the best place to stay while vacationing in Waikiki.

Warm Regards,
Barrett Winning
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We only had an overnight but the staff couldn't have been more helpful despite arriving on an early flight we were found a room so we could sleep straight away & it was quiet, spacious, clean and wonderful. Luggage service was included so no need to tip the bellboy.

Room Tip: Renovations are at front on the Porte crocheted at the moment so ask for a high room.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nomadsjandp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WVO_Resort_Manager, General Manager at Waikiki Marina Resort at the Ilikai, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Much gratitude for choosing the Waikiki Marina Resort at the Ilikai. Awesome to hear that our team delivered another great vacation experience. It is rewarding to discover that you found our studio suites to be quiet, spacious and clean. We will surely see you again next time.

Respectfully Yours,

Barrett Winning
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The illikai is a nice hotel. Staff is very welcoming & the rooms are spacious. What I disliked was the noise of the people on the streets day & night. We stayed there for 2 days before leaving to the northshore & I was a bit disappointed. I hardly had any sleep at all while staying there. I love the fact that theres lots of eateries in the vacinity though. The check in on the 2nd floor is a bit confusing. We had nice walks out on the beach and we also walked to a near by shopping mall. Alamoana has everything you need. The illikai was nice, but it wasn't what we had expected. I do reccomend dinning at red lobster. The food is amazing.

Room Tip: Ckoose a room far from the streets of Waikiki.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WVO_Resort_Manager, General Manager at Waikiki Marina Resort at the Ilikai, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Aloha and thanks for your positive comments about our friendly staff, roomy suites and convenient location amidst a plethora of shopping, dining and beach options. The iconic Ilikai has been a landmark tower in Honolulu for 50 years. It is unfortunate you had difficulty resting well in our urban metropolis. Being on the edge of Waikiki, we do provide a quieter and less congested setting than many other big city properties.

Sincerely,
Barrett Winning
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews