We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aloha!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Honolulu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kai Aloha Apartment Hotel
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Having been to Hawaii once before, I knew how expensive it is. This was a family trip with my husband and young son. Kai Aloha was the perfect location and fit for us! We are on a budget and wanted to spend our money on excursions not food and lodging. Kai Aloha is no Trump tower, that is next door for $500 per night. Kai Aloha was clean, included everything we needed and the staff was very friendly and helpful. It's less than a two minute walk to the beach and close to everything. We took several tours and was able to walk to pick up locations. The pink trolley stops in front of the establishment too. At a hotel it's difficult to have one room with a young child sleep at naptime and bedtime while you want to read a book or watch tv.... Here we were able to put him in another room and enjoy the break. Eating out is very costly in Hawaii. (We sat next to a man at the airport and he was complaining that he spent more money on food than anything else on the trip for his family of 4.) The proprietor informed us of a local grocery store and we were able to save a lot of money by cooking meals in the apartment. It felt like we were at home! It was so nice to be able to wash all our clothes and come home from our trip and just put everything away. I read about the noise from Trump next door. It wasn't an issue for us. We had a fabulous stay and so pleased with Kai Aloha. Our next trip to Hawaii we will defiantly stay at Kai Aloha again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (16)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2013

I needed a room in Waikiki...I like 150 yards to the beach....old apartment 3 story....bedroom , living room, small kitchen, small bath.....the room was clean, the people eager to help and friendly....105.00 per night while everyone else 280.00 and up. Great place if you want to surf Waikiki...the access sidewalk aims you right into the surf at 3's....good luck......BDL

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Our phone calls and email were never returned, even after this place said it would call us back. Even if there's no availability, at least let us know, so we can make other arrangements. How does one run a business in such a way?

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Service
5  Thank Lynnbrownstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

This is a very old building but clean place in an excellent location. It is a mere 3 minute walk to the beach. It is close to very good restaurants. If you are ok with old, then check it out. If you prefer something that is built after 1960 then don't stay here. My one complaint had nothing to do with the building. Unfortunately it is located right next door tonthe Trump Interbational Hotel and it was ver noisy from about 5:30 a.m. Onward because the garbage truknwould come and the delivy trucks would come, all with big diesel engines left running and back up beep beep beep noise. I didnt have ear plugs, which i hate useing at the best of times anyway. There was no way that I could sleep past 6 a.m. While the location is great, that is also the down side - close to a hotel and also on a main drag, so easy to catch the trolley or a bus but, noisy because you can hear the very loud busses and other traffic.

Room Tip: There isnt a pool or fitness centre but good grief who needs that with the ocean so close and kilome...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

It's expensive in Waikiki but this is definitely a low cost option. The accommodations are sturdy with a kitchen unit and a nice TV. The place is clean, but right out of the 50's. Some of the rooms have upgraded appliances. There is free internet access, but it's scabbed from the nearby hotels and you have to sit on the front deck to get access. Not a bad place to have your coffee and check email though.
The cons are that the AC is a bedroom only window unit and it's loud. We did better turning it off and opening the windows. This worked until the delivery trucks started at the Trump next door around 6:00am. No problem for us as we had planned to be up and out early both days. All in all, it worked for us. Very close to the beach and a lot of good restaurants in the Waikiki area. Very good if you are on a budget to Honolulu.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Terry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

The Kia Aloha is an older style hotel with a full kitchen. The furnishings have an old time flare right down to the dishes. The Kai aloha sits next to the Trump Tower loading dock, so if delivery trucks bother you this is not the place to stay. We loved the location, with Waikiki a block away, a great fruit store (Henrys) right behind the hotel and the best breakfast place ( eggs and things) 1 block the other way. It is on the trolley and bus line also. 2 blocks to shopping.
Great place for folks who are active and independent in there travel style

Room Tip: Stairs to upper floors Parking across the street, can purchase a pass to make it more affordable F...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Nancy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

Accommodations in Waikiki are pretty expensive, and so we found this cute little hotel in the shadow of the Trump Hotel. It was fine for us, a family of four with a teen and pre-teen.

The kitchen was nice, with full-sized refrigerator but no microwave. A small wall-mounted flat-screen TV and cable. Air conditioning in the back bedroom, but it had a hard time keeping up with the entire living space; we didn't close the door separating the bedroom from the livingroom, which helped the kids (who slept on the two beds in the livingroom) stay cooler. This is a hotel dating from the time before Waikiki high-rises, and it hasn't really been updated much.

The older woman running the hotel is the sweetest, so if you can overlook the peeling paint in the bathroom and you're fine with the bare necessities (clean place with no cockroaches) plus a few extras (full kitchen and cable TV), you'll be satisfied.

Note that early mornings can be noisy because the Trump empties their glass recycling next door and the garbage trucks can be noisy too. The hotel has no parking for itself, so you must arrange parking at the lot across the street - it's additional expense and make sure it's available, as sometimes special events will result in all the local parking being booked! They do not provide Internet either.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Luteguy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#58 of 84 in Honolulu
1,921 reviews
Aston Waikiki Sunset
#8 of 47 in Honolulu
1,435 reviews
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki Shore
#7 of 47 in Honolulu
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kai Aloha Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kai Aloha Apartment Hotel

Address: 235 Saratoga Rd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1942
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Honolulu
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Kai Aloha Apartment Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing