We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Budget Hotel- Clean & Friendly”
Review of White Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
White Sands Hotel
Ranked #70 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Makawao, Hawaii, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Budget Hotel- Clean & Friendly”
Reviewed 29 May 2012

This was our first visit, and to my surprise it was the perfect accomodations for a basketball team. The staff
was outstanding, it fit our budget, very clean and a good location. Mahalo to Front Desk Christieann, Manager
Paul and Housekeeping very efficient and friendly... Very Ohana.... We are returning in July 2012. Upcountry Kings Basketball Team, Maui

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Earlette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kekuwene, Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Aloha Earlette,
Mahalo for taking the time to write a review It was a pleasure to have your team here...I hope they did well! I'll be sure to share your comments with Christieann & the Housekeeping Staff. We do strive to make all of our guests feel like 'ohana, and I appreciate that you felt that. I look forward to seeing all of you next month.
Me Ke Aloha Pumehana,
Paul Dun - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    245
    118
    53
    40
See reviews for
140
274
79
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2012

The room was clean and the staff was great! There were locals and vistors there and will be returning soon.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MicheleG808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kekuwene, Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Aloha Michele,
Thank you for your concise and positive review! We look forward to serving you again in the very near future.
Mahalo,
Paul Dun - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherbrooke, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights.
For the price,nothing to say:the room was clean,the service excellent and the persons at the front desk ( Christieann and Paul) were very friendly and helped us a lot for every questions we had.
Francine,Judth,Daniel and Bruno,from Sherbrooke Quebec Canada.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vmax12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kekuwene, Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Aloha Francine, Judith, Daniel & Bruno,
Thank you so much for your kind words about our little property. I hope we were able to make your short stay memorable! I appreciate the 'shout out' and will make sure Christieann sees it too. The entire staff hopes to host you again at White Sands in the near future.
Mahalo,
Paul Dun - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I was quite happy to stumble across White Sands Hotel. It has everything I need in a hotel. I like to feel at home when I travel but still have a few luxuries, like maid service and excellent customer service. The staff is very friendly and helpful and make you feel right at home. I felt like family by the time I left! The pool area is clean and very relaxing, with a beautiful waterfall flowing, surrounded by tranquil palm trees dancing in the breeze. Just across the street is lots of shopping from the Apple store to the International Market (my favorite place). A few more steps and your at Waikiki's famous aqua blue beach!
A big Mahalo to all the staff, Christienne, Ron, Paul, Christina and Esse! We miss you and hope to see you all soon!
-Janet and Damon

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CookingJJsWay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kekuwene, Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Aloha Janet & Damon,
Mahalo for your wonderful review! We had such a wonderful time getting to know you both during your stay. I will give Christieann, Ron, Cristina, Ese & the rest of our staff your regards. We are definitely looking forward to your return.
Me Ke Aloha Pumehana,
Paul Dun - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aliso Viejo, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

I have to admit that I had very low expectations when I first booked my stay. I went with the best price I could find and figured it would be a run down place, but I was wrong! At check in, Ron was extremely helpful and friendly. He seemed interested in what we had going on and wanted to help. I was surprised by how spacious our room was. We ended up hanging in our room much more than we anticipated because we could relax, have some drinks, and enjoy getting ready for the busy day. Our balcony over looked trees and the hot tub, which was nice. I loved having the kitchen in the room. We made breakfast every morning, which saved us some money. It is so close to shopping, bars/clubs, and the beach! It is definitely in a party area, so if you're looking for a secluded, romantic get away, you may want to look elsewhere. You can definitely still have a romantic time, but the area was best for those wanting to get out and go! The only downside was parking, but that is with any place in Waikiki. Loved my stay and I would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarawoertink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kekuwene, Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Aloha Sara,
Mahahlo nui loa for your thoughtful review! I am so happy that you were 'surprised' by our little hotel and enjoyed your stay. I will be sure to pass along the great comment to Ron and will thank him for his service. All of us here at the White Sands look forward to your return!
Sincerely,
Paul K. G. Dun
Hotel Manager - White Sands Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missoula
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2012

White Sands is a 3 story walk up built in the 50's style.We have stayed there many times. It is now owned by Aqua and they are doing lots of needed upkeep. The staff is very good including the housekeepers, front desk, maintainence and Paul (the manager). AND--yes we are going back in 2013.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John_Marlys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kekuwene, Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Aloha John_Marlys,
Mahalo for taking the time to write such a nice review. I am thrilled that you see the improvements we are trying to make and that you will be coming back again next year. Thank you for all of the kind words and we look forward to your return!
Me Ke Aloha Pumehana,
Paul Dun - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
139 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

This is a small hotel on the back streets of Waikiki. I stayed there because they advertised parking for a fee and kitchenettes. There was no parking when I got there as their lot is tiny. They referred me to a private lot across the street. The ticket machine in that lot was not working so I had to park in another hotel lot on the next block that cost $25 per night. $25 per night parking is pretty standard for Waikiki. I went to use the kitchenette and found that every dinner plate in the cupboard had old food stuck too it which was disgusting. I picked up a water glass from the cupboard which was also filthy. They provided a kitchen cloth and dish towel but no detergent to clean the dishes. I would be afraid to eat off anything in those cupboards. I kicked off my shoes when I entered the room which is the Hawaiian style. After a few minutes I looked down at my socks and they were black. The floors were also very dirty. I took a cloth and wiped it across the light fixture in the bathroom it it came back full of dirt. The place is very dirty and I would not stay there again. I gave it a poor rather than terrible rating because the location is not bad and the front desk staff is very nice and really does try to help. My advice is pay a little more and stay somewhere else. I read several glowing reviews on TripAdvisor before booking. After seeing my room I checked the reviews again and noticed that many of them were written by people who had only ever done one review. This makes me wonder if they are reviews from real guests.

Room Tip: If you want a good room go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Islandguy808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kekuwene, Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Aloha Islandguy808,
Mahalo for taking the time to post your thoughts about our property. Going through all of the 'glowing reviews' you mentioned is great as a manager, but we also learn from honest feedback such as yours.
Parking is definately an issue, especially when we are at a high occupancy as we have only 14 stalls to work with and the $25 price tag can be steep, but I appreciate that you said that it was pretty standard in Waikiki
Our entire team shares your concerns about the cleanliness of your dishes & floor. The Housekeeping Staff has been read your review to ensure that this doesn't happen again. We have also just begun 'deep cleaning' of all of the rooms which should be complete in 2-3 weeks.
We have been working hard to get as many departing guests as we can to post a review and give out 'Mahalo' cards upon checkout directing them to TripAdvisor.com, in particular.
I do appreciate that you were able to give us a slightly better score because of the the Front Desk Staff service. We, the entire staff and I, strive to give the best service to each guest and to make the most of their experience, every day.
Mahalo again for your review.
Sincerely,
Paul Dun - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
0.1 mi away
Aqua Ohia Waikiki
Aqua Ohia Waikiki
#72 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ewa Hotel
Ewa Hotel
#68 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#64 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Aqua Waikiki Pearl
Aqua Waikiki Pearl
#73 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
0.4 mi away
Waikiki Gateway Hotel
Waikiki Gateway Hotel
#54 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aqua Palms Waikiki
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#58 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Sands Hotel

Property: White Sands Hotel
Address: 431 Nohonani St., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2622 (Formerly Celebrity Resorts Waikiki)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — White Sands Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This quaint low-rise hotel is your home away from home located just 1 1/2 blocks to Waikiki Beach, less than a block to shopping, dining and the best Waikiki activities. The lovely central courtyard features a swimming pool with sundeck and barbeque grill. All rooms offer lanai/balconies open to city or pool views and most rooms include kitchenette facilities with stove-top, microwave and refrigerator. With our daily convenience fee for all stays White Sands Hotel allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, and Local & Toll-Free Calls. Come experience quintessential Hawaiian hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your White Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Sands Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing