We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint Hotel, Location Convenient”
Review of White Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
White Sands Hotel
Ranked #70 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed 10 September 2012

I was pleasantly surprised when I arrived at White Sands Hotel in Waikiki. It is a very well kept property and the staff is so accommodating and friendly. The rooms are a nice size with a kitchen. Sitting on my deck while sipping coffee, looking over the pool with the pleasant sounds of a rain forest, was my favorite thing to do each morning. The plants, flowers, trees, waterfalls and lovely birds surrounding the pool and hot tub was a very peaceful way to end the day. You seemed to forget that you are right in the middle of the city Waikiki, but when you exit the property you are in the the perfect location to walk to anything in Waikiki. I definitely will be returning to White Sands and highly recommend this Quaint affordable Hotel.

Room Tip: Pool facing rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cami Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kekuwene, Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2012

Aloha Cami Jo S,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property! I am so glad that you were pleasantly surprised by our property. I love the image you conveyed, enjoying the mornings on your lānai sipping coffee...that's the life! We hope to have you back at the White Sands Soon.
Mahalo,
Paul Dun - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (674)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

400 - 406 of 674 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2012

If you want to spend time in Honolulu and Waikiki and do not want to spend a lot of money this hotel might be right for you. Location is great. Hotel is very clean, and simple. Staff are very nice. The north east side of island has nicer beaches but traffic sucks:)

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EOPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kekuwene, Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2012

Aloha EOPS,
Mahalo for making time to write a review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for pointing out our location, clean rooms and friendly staff. It is very much appreciated. If you ever return to Waikīkī, please give us a call.
Thank You,
Paul Dun - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

I stayed at the property one night and it was one of the dirtiest hotels I have ever stayed at. I chose it based on all the "wonderful" reviews here and it was nothing like I expected. This was the end of trip which started in Honolulu and I stayed at another property that was in the same price range BUT so much nicer. (See Waikiki Sand Villa)
The hotel is older and everything had a worn look to it. That I can live with, BUT when there is grime in all the corners and surfaces than its just neglect. We kept our shoes on at all time, including in the shower. If it wasn’t for the fact that it was one night we would have left and gone somewhere else.
We were “upgraded” to a pool view. That was a laugh – the “pool view” actually gave us a sliver of the pool if we looked hard left and wonderful view of the residential property next door. AND as a bonus it is a three story walk up and the stairs overlook the alley where they stored all sorts of stuff.
The area was also a little questionable. I am use to a city environment and would not recommend the location for anyone who is not.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank njTravelJunkie222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kekuwene, Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2012

Aloha njTravelJunkie222,
Mahalo for taking the time to post your thoughts of our property and including pictures to what you saw. I apologize for all of the problems you had with your room, especially the rug burns and grime you found. Though I do not recognize which room it in the pictures, I did read your review aloud at today's morning briefing, stressing the importance of communication and being thorough when attending rooms. I am sorry we were not able address and correct these problems with you in person, since you were only with us for one night, but I do hope you afford us another chance in the near future.
Sincerely,
Paul Dun - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

I repeatedly go back to White Sands Hotel because the staff is ALWAYS kind and helpful, and the rooms are sized well, with kitchens. The pool is always maintained and sits in the middle of a tropical wonderland. Flowers and trees are always groomed. There is a well maintained hot tub, and a beautiful waterfall for peace of mind. They have a laundry room. Ask the people at the front desk about where to go or what to eat and they always show aloha in helping you. The rooms are cleaned daily and fresh towels are always ready for you. I cannot explain how great the front desk people are. Christianne, Christina, Ron, Josh are always smiling and want to help every guest. You can easily walk to the beach, the International Market, grocery store, restaurants or any other entertainment. They provide various kitchen cookware along with dishes and microwave (remember theres a stove too). The small refrigerator is just the right size to hold you groceries.

Do keep in mind and ask about the parking, because in Honolulu parking almost always costs. So don't be surprised when you have an additional charge if you request parking conveniently at the hotel.

The only thing I hated about the hotel was leaving. I wanted to stay.

Room Tip: Here is a good tip to find a good room, EVERY ROOM IS A GOOD ROOM.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Harvey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kekuwene, Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2012

Aloha Harvey M,
Thank you so much for the glowing review! You really touched on almost all of the points I like to highlight when talking about the property. I hope you were able to see the great new landscaping by the Mauka building that our owner did himself. It's pretty amazing. I thank you for acknowledging our staff. They are a great bunch of people and work hard to serve all of our guests. As for what you didn't like...we didn't want you to go either. Hurry back, we'll be overjoyed to have you again.
Me Ka Ha'aha'a,
Paul Dun - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

The “White Sands” hotel is just in the middle of Waikiki although in a very quiet street. It is not the Hilton but the quality/price ratio is excellent. It is kind of singular as it is not the usual tall buildings all over Waikiki. It is only a three-story hotel and it is full of trees and plants and it also has a small Japanese garden. Add to this that people at the reception desk are friendly and helpful, we would like to thank specially Cristina for her help and kindness, and the conclusion is that “White Sands” hotel is a very good choice if you go to Waikiki.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pujugua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kekuwene, Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2012

Aloha pujugua,
Mahalo for the great review! I am happy to hear that our quality/price ratio was excellent, and that you found our staff helfpul and friendly. Please know that we acknowledge that we are 'not the Hilton,' but are working towards it and strive everyday to offer personalized service with large doses of the aloha spirit. Cristina alerted me to your comment, and she was very humbled. We look forward to your next stay with us, which we hope is soon.
Mahalo Nui,
Paul Dun - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

It's one of a kind to be with during our long time planned vacation in this state and we were absolutely amazed in return of our expectations are well over it.The staffs are all helpful especially Kristina Hunt at the front desk she is well deserved to be in her post with all her smiles that gives us more relax to stay I guess that's what they call Aloha Spirit, where I can spread the word to all my friends and families that if ever they will be planning to visit Hawaii I would definitely recommend them Waikiki white sands hotel and I believe they will be smiling back home happily, I guaranty you that. Our experience of stay here is so much appreciated thanks to the managers of this property to hire good people to work for them.The pool is right there, jacuzzi and we can even set a party by the pool when some friends came by for a small get together drinking beers but we know our limits so it was really a good one. There's no restaurant inside but that's not a problem at all just take a short walk and we can find everything , so much to talk about, I can't ask for more, well be back again... Thank you so much

Room Tip: Just keep on searching online but If you guys are looking for something on the budget and right arou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Su C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kekuwene, Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2012

Aloha Su C,
Thank you for your review! It's always wonderful to hear about our guests' experience. Mahalo for recommending us to all of your friends. We hope to host them, and you, in the very near future.
Me Ke Aloha Pumehana,
Paul Dun - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Thank you all for making our stay at your hotel so very nice! The rooms are clean with a nice kitchenette with everything needed to cook. We had balcony with pool view where we looked into a nice garden with plants and palm trees :)
My Daughter and I are so glad we choose this hotel while our stay on Waikiki for 2 weeks. I would really recommend this hotel to all families and couples :-)
Also the staff are great, all of them and especially Cristina who I will meet again when I will be back in January :-)

Helle from Norway

Room Tip: Room with garden and pool view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kekuwene, Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2012

Aloha Helle M,
Thank you for the review! I am happy to see you pointed out our kitchenette rooms and named us a great place to stay for families. We are in the process of doing more landscaping, so there will only be more awesome plants for you to see when you return in January. See you soon!
Mahalo,
Paul Dun, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
0.5 mi away
Ewa Hotel
Ewa Hotel
#69 of 84 in Honolulu
480 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aqua Ohia Waikiki
Aqua Ohia Waikiki
#73 of 84 in Honolulu
692 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#64 of 84 in Honolulu
1,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Aqua Palms Waikiki
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,906 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pearl Hotel Waikiki
Pearl Hotel Waikiki
#74 of 84 in Honolulu
1,203 reviews
0.6 mi away
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#60 of 84 in Honolulu
1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Sands Hotel

Address: 431 Nohonani St., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2622 (Formerly Celebrity Resorts Waikiki)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £86 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — White Sands Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This quaint low-rise hotel is your home away from home located just 1 1/2 blocks to Waikiki Beach, less than a block to shopping, dining and the best Waikiki activities. The lovely central courtyard features a swimming pool with sundeck and barbeque grill. All rooms offer lanai/balconies open to city or pool views and most rooms include kitchenette facilities with stove-top, microwave and refrigerator. With our daily convenience fee for all stays White Sands Hotel allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, and Local & Toll-Free Calls. Come experience quintessential Hawaiian hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your White Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Sands Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing