We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“budget hotel”
Review of White Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
White Sands Hotel
Ranked #70 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“budget hotel”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Its one of the cheaper near to waikiki beach. We have rented moderate room so we could save some money so our room was without pool view and above the laundry, maybe think about paying more for different view. Generally hotel looks and probably is very old. On one hand you see age dirt in the carpet, walls etc. it looks really old on rusty on the other hand you see staff all day cleaning and vacuming those places. Staff on reception is very warm, helpfull is the better of this hotel. Also you have to pay for wi-fi and parking. And our aircon was not working.

Room Tip: pool view second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarveyDent79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islandcolonyaqua, General Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Aloha HarveyDent79,

Thank you for posting your feedback on Tripadvisor. We at White Sands Hotel greatly value your comments.

It is nice to hear that you complimented on our staff who is very warm and helpful. I will recognize and acknowledge their efforts in providing great services to our valued guests.

Situation about the carpet and AC was brought to our housekeeping and maintenance’s managers’ attention, and corrective measures have been taken.

Thank you very much for your comments and please come back again.

Fond Mahalo

Lendy Ma
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    245
    118
    53
    40
See reviews for
140
274
79
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We have stayed at White Sands a number of times and have never been disappointed. The willingness of the staff to "go the extra mile" makes White Sands a great place to stay. The location is excellent - the hotel is a short walk to the best food market in Waikiki and is in close proximity to a number of inexpensive eating places. This is not five star accommodation, but it is not backpackers either. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Try for one on the ground floor - there are no elevators.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor facing the pool are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haydybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islandcolonyaqua, General Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Aloha Haydybaby,

Thank you for posting your feedback on Tripadvisor. We at White Sands Hotel greatly value your comments. WOW! You have stayed with us a number of times, thank you for always choosing us for your hospitality needs.

It is nice to hear of our staff to “go the extra miles” makes our valued guests a nice place to stay. I will acknowledge their efforts in providing you with wonderful memories.

I am very pleased to hear you were impressed with our great location, excellent value for money, clean and comfortable room.

Again, thank you very much for your positive comments and see you again.

Fond Mahalo

Lendy Ma
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pszczyna, Poland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

I've been staying in this hotel for 5 nights, and the price was pretty good. The room was clean and big, it has the kitchenette (fridge, microvave, oven, but the most important - they had ice in the freezer!), I think the place was very safe, but you need to pay 2$/day for using the safe inside your room. The bathroom was ok-not perfect but not bad as well, there was no tub but just shower, which was pretty big. Nice thing was the extra closet, iron and good tv and a . The bed was very comfortable. There is a grocery store just next to the hotel.
The staff is friendly and helpful!!
The outside pool is avaliable and looks nice.
It was like 10 minutes walking from the waikiki beach, so it could be better, but the recreation area - pubs, restaurants was really close, as well as bus stops (next block).
The internet connection doesn't work in rooms, you need to go downstairs close to the pool, anyway it was really slow and you need to extra pay for it.
The building is quite old and haven't been renewed since ages and the walls are pretty thin, so you can hear your neighbours sometimes. There is no elevator but just 3 levels.
So it is not very luxurious place but its enough good if you are going to spend just the nights in and go out during the day. Anyway, the price is very good and I would recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms on the inner side have nice view to the pool and palm trees inside the patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank es_sanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islandcolonyaqua, General Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Aloha es_Sanders,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experiences with us on your vacation to Hawaii.
I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and you would recommend our hotel

I am pleased to hear that you complimented on our helpful and friendly staff, and I will pass this message to them to recognize and knowledge their efforts in providing great services to our valued guests.

Situation about our internet was brought to our upper management's attention, we are in the process of upgrading our internet access.

Thank you for choosing Aqua White Sands for your hospitality needs, and we hope to serve you on your next visit to the paradise.

Food Mahalo

Lendy Ma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We had amazing time here, this place exceeded all our expectations. I would highly recommend the first room on the ground floor on the left hand side from the pool - very neat, refreshing shower, coffee maker with complimentary brand coffee, well functioning aircon for those hot Honolulu nights, there were even extra extension cord by the fridge, which was very handy. I have never slept so well in my life, very peaceful room. We also had a pleasure dealing with a friendly young man in the reception who's customer services skills were second to none, he even passed on the landline phone so we could call the booze cruise company to book our maitaj cruise! Best of all this place is only seconds away from the famous Tavern, and other happening places such as Tsunamis, where you can meet friendly locals, enjoy nachos, popcorn and drinks. We will be staying again next year to catch up with our new Honolulu friends, and hopefully we'll be lucky enough to get the same room by the pool!Aloha!

Room Tip: First room on the ground floor(left hand side) right opposite the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dale d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islandcolonyaqua, General Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Aloha Dale d,

Thank you for posting your positive comments. It is always helpful to have this kind of feedback so that we can address our guests concerns as we strive to improve the quality of your stay at our property.

I am glad to hear that you complimented on our hotel location and you would highly recommend the pool view. And you would be staying again next year.

You also mentioned about our front desk staff who provided good customer services to you, I will acknowledge his efforts.

Again, thank you for choosing Aqua White Sands for your hospitality needs, See you next year!

Fond Mahalo
Lendy Ma
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverdale, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

The staff at White Sands makes you feel like family. Christieann even asks about family that didn't return! The hotel is centrally located, right off Kuhio, and close enough to walk many places. There is parking for those with cars, and only a block walk to The Bus stop for those without. Kudos to the entire staff. Mahalo and aloha! Kat

Room Tip: I prefer pool views, but it's small enough that there aren't bad rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islandcolonyaqua, General Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Aloha Karen K,

Thank you for choosing Aqua White Sands for your “home sweet home” in Hawaii. I am pleased to hear that we made you felt like family.

You complimented on Christieann’s great service, I will acknowledge her efforts in providing customer services to our valued guests. You also mentioned you liked our central location, walking distance to bus stop and right off Kuhio Avenue.

Again, thank you for taking your time to post the positive comments on the tripadvisor. See you soon.

Fond Mahalo
Lendy Ma
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We just stayed two nights at this hotel, and had a wonderful experience. The staff is really nice, very full of Aloha!! I can't stress enough how wonderful they were to us, and so sweet to my son. My son even got a hug from the cleaning lady. The room was not only large, but clean, and even had a stove top and pots and pans. The pool was clean and just the right temperature. The bathroom was pretty large. Central location. A/C Just absolutely excellent, I will be happy to go back any time with my family.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TabbyHaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islandcolonyaqua, General Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Aloha Tabbyhaha,

Mahalo for taking the time to write about your experiences with us on Tripadvisor. We greatly value your positive comments.

I am glad to hear that you complimented on our nice staff who provide good services to you , I will recognize and acknowledge their efforts.

I am also happy to hear that you enjoyed our clean room, large bathroom, central location. And you would come back any time with your family.

When you plan on your next Hawaii vacation, please feel free to contact me and I will update you about the hotel and the Hawaii events. Again, thank you for choosing Aqua White Sands for your hospitality needs. See you soon.

Fond Mahalo
Lendy Ma
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hlucin, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

White Sands is a nice, reasonably priced, hotel/motel in a truly great location. Travelers who do not require luxury of Waikiki resort hotels can stay just steps away from all the glamour (well ;)) and from the iconic beach. The whole Waikiki district, Honolulu Zoo, and even Diamond Head lighthouse area are in walking distance. People who do not mind longer walks can make it even to Honolulu Historical district on foot! (Really. And you'll get the genuine real-Honolulu experience). There is an Enterprise rental office across the street so getting a car is easy. The location, however, equals a lot of trouble with parking. The hotel offers some parking spaces but they are both limited and IMO expensive (smthg. like 25 USD per night). If you are extremely lucky, you can park for free on Ala Wai just behind the corner or for a better price (1 USD per hour) at Honolulu Zoo. The hotel is also close to TheBus stops including services to the Airport and Pearl Harbour. We did not use taxi while in Honolulu.
Service was very good and the people in White Sands helpful. We arrived before check in time and were allowed to change in the bathroom and to leave our luggage at the reception. Our room featured a kitchenette (I did not remember that from the reservation and was nicely surprised). The balcony with pool view was also very nice. Internet was not free but the price was not too high and there was a with free wi-fi Starbucks just behind the corner. Our stay was great but we got a little surprise in the form of a nice cockroach spotted in the bathroom the last day (of our 7 days stay). Until then, I had no concern about cleanliness, so this little guy really surprised me. Anyway, I think that was just a irregularity and White Sands deserves a recommendation.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pavel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islandcolonyaqua, General Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Aloha VaranP,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experiences.

Due to the tropical climate, we sometimes experience unwanted pests, Aqua Hotel has a routine pest control service with a professional company, and your concern has been addressed.

I am glad to hear that you stayed in the pool view room and you enjoyed it. I am pleased you complimented on our staff who provided good services to you and you had a great stay with us.

Thank you for helping us to improve our guest relation services, and we hope to serve you on your next Hawaiian vacation.

Fond Mahalo
Lendy Ma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
0.1 mi away
Aqua Ohia Waikiki
Aqua Ohia Waikiki
#72 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ewa Hotel
Ewa Hotel
#68 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#64 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Aqua Waikiki Pearl
Aqua Waikiki Pearl
#73 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
0.4 mi away
Waikiki Gateway Hotel
Waikiki Gateway Hotel
#54 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aqua Palms Waikiki
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#58 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Sands Hotel

Property: White Sands Hotel
Address: 431 Nohonani St., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2622 (Formerly Celebrity Resorts Waikiki)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — White Sands Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This quaint low-rise hotel is your home away from home located just 1 1/2 blocks to Waikiki Beach, less than a block to shopping, dining and the best Waikiki activities. The lovely central courtyard features a swimming pool with sundeck and barbeque grill. All rooms offer lanai/balconies open to city or pool views and most rooms include kitchenette facilities with stove-top, microwave and refrigerator. With our daily convenience fee for all stays White Sands Hotel allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, and Local & Toll-Free Calls. Come experience quintessential Hawaiian hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your White Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Sands Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing