We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value for Your Money”
Review of White Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
White Sands Hotel
Ranked #72 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Excellent old style hotel on the back streets of Waikiki. As an Oahu resident for 30 years we have stayed at most of the large name brand hotels at one time or another. Generally they have devolved into faceless boxes in which to spend the night. The White Sands has something different - character. It could be nicer, it could have newer furniture and fixtures, but then it wouldn't be such a bargain. The pool area is actually more comfortable to sit around than most hotels - lots of umbrellas and coconut trees. The room had a small kitchen which is very handy. The place was clean. The staff was very friendly.

We will be back for our next Waikiki adventure!

Mahalo White Sands!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islandcolonyaqua, General Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Aloha Thomas S,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experiences on tripadvisor. We truly appreciate the feedback.

I am so glad that you mentioned our hotel is a great place for great value. I am pleased to hear that you complimented on our friendly staff. You also mentioned that you liked our pool area, clean room and small kitchen.

All our team members are very happy you will be back and stay with us again. Thank you for choosing Aqua Hotels and Resorts for your hospitality needs.

Fond Mahalo
Lendy Ma
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (684)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 684 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2014

First and foremost the staff was excellent, above average!!!
My room had a broken down sofa, the mattress needed replace as it was broke down. The room itself needed a lot of up keep. Over all I guess I got what I paid for.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wesley E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islandcolonyaqua, General Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Aloha Wesley E,

Thank you very much for taking time to write a review of your recent stay with us. It is great to hear that you were very pleased with our staff, I will acknowledge and recognize their efforts in providing excellence services to all our VIP guests.

You are right, we are upgrading the hotel right now. As you see, we installed all in-room new flat screen TV, we changed the lobby with new tiles. Currently, we are upgrading some rooms. After the completion , we will clearly raise the standard of the accommodations and offer you a new experience.

When you plan to visit the paradise again, please feel free to contact me and I will update you about the hotel. I personally thank you for choosing White Sands Hotel for your hospitality needs.

Mahalo Nui Loa
Lendy Ma
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

White Sands Hotel was our home away from home. The staff was welcoming, friendly and very helpful. Special thanks to Christieanna for greeting us every morning and making us feel like family. The pool and pool side was cleaned everyday. Our room was immaculate, comfortable, safe and quiet. A big thank you to all the housekeeping staff. The oasis by the pool side makes it worth the stay. It included a fountain with fish in the pond. Beautiful greenery and Hawaiian flowers. The rooms could use some upgrades but well worth the price to stay. We had a kitchenette which was perfect for morning breakfast or quick lunches when you didn't want to eat out and save money. If ever returning to Waikiki we will definitely want to stay again. Many thanks again to all the staff. Aloha!!!

Room Tip: Pool side view is worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islandcolonyaqua, General Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Aloha Wanda C,

Thank you for choosing White Sands Hotel for your “home sweet home” in Hawaii. You complimented on our friendly and helpful staff, especailly Christieann who provided great services to our valued guests. I will acknowledge their efforts.

I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our clean pool area, comfortable room, koi pond, beautiful greenery and kitchenette. You also mentioned if you ever return to the paradise, you would stay with us again.

Again, thank you for taking your time to post the positive comments on the tripadvisor. See you soon.

Fond Mahalo

Lendy Ma
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I got a room on the 3rd floor facing Nohonani Street. The room was bigger than I thought it would be and, despite what other reviews say, I found the street side to be very quiet. The parking spaces are small, but so is every parking spot in Honolulu. I rented a convertible and was able to fit it in the lot without major issues. Almost every hotel in Waikiki charges for parking so this was no surprise to me.

Staff here were very helpful and welcoming. The downside is that there is no elevator but after a coupledays we got used to the stairs.The location was awesome. Just far enough from the beach to avoid the noise of so many people, a mini flea market less than a block away and many restaurants and shops nearby. Even the zoo is only about 6 blocks away.

I plan to stay here on my next visit.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ElizabethK507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islandcolonyaqua, General Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Aloha Elizabethk507,

Thank you for posting your comments. It is always helpful to have this kind of feedback so that we can address our guests concerns as we strive to improve the quality of your stay at our property.

I am glad to hear that you liked your room that we assigned for you. Thank you for compliment on our great location in Waikiki and it is convenient to the restaurants, shops nearby and the zoo.

You also mentioned about our staff was very welcoming and helpful, I will pass this message to them and acknowledge their efforts in providing good services.

Your comments are very important to us and will be used to improve our service. If you plan your next trip to Hawaii, please feel free to contact me.

Again, thank you for choosing White Sands Hotel for your hospitality needs.
Fond Mahalo

Lendy Ma
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Would I stay here again? Absolutely!

Staying here was a delight. Making the reservation was a breeze. They were sold out on their parking spaces, but no problem--there was plenty of convenient parking across the street at their sister hotel.

There were three three-story buildings encircling and cozy, private courtyard with pool. Our particular room had three twin beds and a small kitchen. It had a delightful retro feel--a throwback to a time when hotels had individual personality.

The staff was amazing! Always cheerful, helpful, and positive. No matter what I needed, they were there with a great attitude and a solution. Christianne and David at the front desk, the bellmen, the housekeepers--they all made us feel welcome and valued.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Janet F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islandcolonyaqua, General Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Aloha Janet F,

Thank you for posting your positive comments on Tripadvisor.

It is nice to hear that you complimented on our staff, especially Christieann and David, , they were always cheerful and helpful. I will acknowledge and recognize their efforts in providing our valued guests with wonderful memories.

Again, thank you very much for your comments. As mentioned, you will absolutely stay here again. We look forward to accommodating you at White Sands Hotel in the near future.

Fond Mahalo

Lendy Ma
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

It was our fifth trip to the Island but first to this Hotel. After staying in larger Hotels on our previous visits we chose this hotel because it was small and had a nice pool and Garden area.
Plus was centrally located.
Two blocks from the Beach. Plenty of Shops and Restaurants nearby
We had a pool view room with kitchenette, which was well stocked.
All the staff were friendly and helpful.
The only downside was that the air-conditioning was noisy.
We will definitely be staying at this Hotel on our next visit

Room Tip: Poolside rooms are quieter than city view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lynda h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islandcolonyaqua, General Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Aloha lynda n,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experiences.

I am very happy to hear that you loved our centrally located location, it's convenient to Waikiki beach, shops and restaurant. You also liked your pool view kitchenette room, the pool and the garden area.

You complimented on our helpful and friendly staff. I will recognize and acknowledge their efforts.
I will let them know that you will definitely be staying with us on your next visit.

The situation about your AC was brought to the maintenance manager’s attention, and corrective measures have been taken.

Thank you for helping us to improve our guest relation services. See you soon.

Fond Mahalo

Lendy Ma
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Me and my wife booked a last minute Waikiki trip and had to save a bit on our hotel. We choose this hotel because it was 2 blocks from the beach. We didn't expect much because it was so inexpensive. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We checked out at noon and didn't have to fly home until 10pm so the staff let us store our bags and even gave us an empty room to shower and freshen up before our flight. They have security and the hotel was quiet and safe. The cove the pool is in is nice and quiet. Rooms are old and outdated but the beds were comfortable. Housekeeping did a great job. Overall we got what we payed for and a bit more. At first we didn't like it but by the end of our 8 day trip we were very pleased. It's a cheaper hotel but if your looking to save a bit on your hotel this is a good place to start.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Freezinak907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islandcolonyaqua, General Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Aloha Freezinak907,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experiences with us on your vacation to Hawaii. I am glad to hear that your stay with us was pleasantly surprised.

You also complimented our friendly and helpful staff, and you mentioned that our housekeeping did a good job and security kept the hotel quiet and safe. I will pass the message to them, and recognize and acknowledge their efforts.

I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our inexpensive rate. We will continue to offer affordable rate to our valued guests.

Thank you for choosing White Sands hotel for your hospitality needs, and we hope to accommodate you on your next visit to the paradise.

Fond Mahalo
Lendy Ma
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
0.5 mi away
Ewa Hotel
Ewa Hotel
#69 of 84 in Honolulu
490 reviews
0 mi away
Pearl Hotel Waikiki
Pearl Hotel Waikiki
#75 of 84 in Honolulu
1,236 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aqua Palms Waikiki
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#58 of 84 in Honolulu
1,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Marina Tower Waikiki
Marina Tower Waikiki
#84 of 84 in Honolulu
268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#68 of 84 in Honolulu
1,694 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ramada Plaza Waikiki
Ramada Plaza Waikiki
#45 of 84 in Honolulu
1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Sands Hotel

Address: 431 Nohonani St., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2622 (Formerly Celebrity Resorts Waikiki)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £82 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — White Sands Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This quaint low-rise hotel is your home away from home located just 1 1/2 blocks to Waikiki Beach, less than a block to shopping, dining and the best Waikiki activities. The lovely central courtyard features a swimming pool with sundeck and barbeque grill. All rooms offer lanai/balconies open to city or pool views and most rooms include kitchenette facilities with stove-top, microwave and refrigerator. With our daily convenience fee for all stays White Sands Hotel allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, and Local & Toll-Free Calls. Come experience quintessential Hawaiian hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your White Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Sands Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing