We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“creative selections for Thai restaurant”
Review of To Thai For

To Thai For
Reserve with OpenTable
To Thai For is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #346 of 2,391 Restaurants in Honolulu
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“creative selections for Thai restaurant”
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed dining here for the second time. Not disappointed. Ordered crab fried brown rice and sea food fried brown rice. Chunks of seafood and delicious Thai Jasmine rice. Friendly service and reasonable cost with ample portions. Our dishes cost $16 each. Average decor.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hula22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    23
    8
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great menu with a relaxing atmosphere.”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Excellent menu, tasty and generous servings. Recommend their Tom Yum soup, would be great if you have a cold, with Thai ginger and Lemon grass and Kafir Lime leaves, it helps to "chase away"' the sniffles. ;-)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hiloschild808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germantown, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Thai Food for Vegetarians and Meat Eaters alike”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

The tempura vegetables were light and crispy. Beware,when they say spice, they mean it is spicy. I love spicy but I could barely manage medium spice level. They also have beautiful photos of flowers on the wall.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AshleyH88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“possibly the best thai restaurant in Honolulu!!!”
Reviewed 13 April 2013

This restaurant has excellent service (family run) and the staff is friendly and helpful. The restaurant is decorated tastefully and they have their own restrooms by the bar. The bar is quite nice as well if you prefer barside dining or just a drink. You can enter from the front Waialae entrance or the rear parking lot entrance. Feel free to go up to the kitchen side staircase so you can see what the chefs are making.

Always check the specials as they have outstanding specials!

We had the salmon summer rolls (non-crunchy clear wraps), crab fried rice, burning ocean seafood platter, red curry (mild), yellow curry mild, and pad thai. This fed 5 adults and then some.

Everything was delicious and no one had any room for dessert. The red curry was on the spicier side of the taste range, even when we ask for mild, but everyone loved it. The yellow curry was very smooth and on the starchier side but also very very good. The favorite of the table was the crab fried rice. They give you a mini mountain of it on an elongated plate, but our party of 5 decimated it quickly. The seafood was fresh and very well cooked.

A lot of times I will leave a thai restaurant and feel like the curry sauce was too rich and I would sometimes feel like it would start coming out of my pores. Not this time! We felt great. They must be using higher quality ingredients and less processed food at this restaurant because everyone felt energetic and great instead of sluggish.

What I love most about this restaurant aside from the great food was that every waiter or employee there will take care of you. There is none of that "I'll go get your waiter" business, they go and get you your water, or napkin, or anything else you want to order without a skip.

Totally worth a visit if you're in the kamuiki shopping/restaurant area! Their online reservations isn't perfect just yet, so it's better to just call.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pyratio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mililani Town, Hawaii, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fresh and delicious Thai food”
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Spicy Thai food made with fresh ingredients (level 1-5 spicy). 3 was perfect for me (level 3 spicy and 2 glasses of water!) Absolutely loved the sweet sour pork stir fry and spicy chicken fried rice. Can't wait to go back and eat thru the menu!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed To Thai For also viewed

 

Been to To Thai For? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing