We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation Introductory Progam (VIP) - Outstanding Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Grand Vacations at Hilton Hawaiian Village
Ranked #29 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Clifton, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Vacation Introductory Progam (VIP) - Outstanding Stay!”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

After my wife and I turned down the timeshare opportunity in Las Vegas in March 2012, Hilton Grand Vacation Club (HGVC) wanted another bite on the apple, so they offered us a two-bedroom suite at the Lagoon Tower at Hilton Hawaiian Village for seven nights for $1695 with 18 months to use it. They call it the Vacation Introductory Program, or VIP. Birth of granddaughter in late 2012 put April 15-22, 2013 as ideal timing. We would not have purchased it if deadline to use was 12 months or less. They put us in the 10th Floor, on the south end of the building, facing the ocean, for spectacular views!

One friend accompanied my wife and I, so two bedroom, two full bath suite was ideal. Spacious living room, dining room, kitchen with pantry closet, and two lanais(balconies). We used the lanai with table and four chairs almost daily.

This unit, probably rated for 800 sq ft or more, an end unit facing the ocean, was so nice, so comfortable! We had a great time and we really liked the unit!

The Lagoon Tower was constructed in 2000, so it is between brand new and old. Other hotels in the Hawaiian Village, Hilton's largest complex worldwide, vary in age, up to the rather new Grand Wakaiian. The Lagoon Tower replaced kitchen appliances on one floor during our week. If this is part of program it will keep the hotel fresh, but we saw appliances removed were like ours and ours were in quite nice condition. I travel on business, and as much as I would like for the maintenance staff to check all working devices - lamps, faucets, other - reality is that hotel guests must check them and report deficiencies. The Lagoon Tower maintenance crew gets a 100% rating in promptness and effectiveness in dealing with light bulbs and a slow draining tub. (Another rater reported a dim bathroom; management would be well served to coach guests about reporting small and large deficiencies that result in internet-posted complaints solvable with a $1.00 bulb).

I missed the instructions for lining up lanai doors with sensors at night, to enable the A/C to run. Maintenance explained it, the A/C was not broken. Lagoon Tower management may deal with this repeatedly; they would be well served to provide creative graphical instructions, maybe on a magnet on the fridge so everyone would see it.

Some complaints by others seem out of place. Being bothered by housekeeping is just a clue the guests stayed in the room most of their housekeeping day(s). A distance to reach various features of the Village? The Village lies within an urban setting no doubt, and you need to be prepared to walk on paved surfaces to have an enjoyable visit. The International Market is a one mile walk, as is the Top of Waikiki restaurant. Walks to the ABC store on-site, the fitness center in the Ali'i Tower, and other on-site facilities are short in comparison.

We did not want to split all of our vacation between the beach and stores, restaurants, and the Intl Market. We wanted to get away from the Lagoon Tower on most of our seven days. A comfy Dodge Charger from Dollar at $240 for a week ballooned to $337 with fees and taxes, but it allowed us to come and go as we pleased. Use the self-service parking in the garage and pay the high price of $27 per day. The garage is adjacent and really close to the Lagoon Tower, as in 150 steps from the elevator doors, and you can walk to it without getting wet during rainstorms. Passengers and belongings can be unloaded even closer to the elevators, then you can pull into in the garage to park.

On our first morning we drove to Foodland grocery store, the first challenge for the iphone (or GPS), but well under 10 miles and feasible outside of rush hour. ABC Stores, open to 12:30 am, are a second choice. We bought breakfast and snack food, which made for a few pleasant breakfasts on the lanai. The kitchen was well equipped. Wailana Coffee House, one block away, also was excellent, but go before 730 am to beat crowds. Breakfast for three ranged from $19 to $25, reasonable in an otherwise high priced town.

It helps to be comfortable driving and maneuvering about a city environment, but if you are, the Lagoon Tower is a great base to use to drive and see on your own schedule the Iolani Palace and nearby old churches, the WWII Memorial with the USS Arizona, the North Shore and Waimea Vally Park, the Flea Market, and several other attractions.

The fitness center is not large enough to accommodate all interested guests in the morning, We hope management turns their attention to this, one additional fitness center is in order. But this is Hawaii, so when the treadmills were tied up at sunup, a long brisk walk on the beach, in nearly perfect air temperature, was a memorable alternative.

Beautiful beach and water are adjacent to the hotel, for a break from driving and walking or hiking day trips. Rock jetties and south facing of Waikiki Beach mean waves are non-existent, so forget about using the whitewater surf (Boogie) boards. Go to the North Shore if you have to surf. Buy a tube from the ABC Store for $4.00, blow it up, slather on sunblock lotion as the sun is rather intense, bring some cash so you can buy ice cream at the DQ in the Rainbow Tower for lunch (75 ft from our beach towel), and enjoy. We will return.

Room Tip: If you want the best view, ask for a room on the south end or the east side (facing the Rainbow Towe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank John Oren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    612
    466
    154
    69
    47
See reviews for
719
375
29
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bremerton, Washington
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

If you are going to the Hilton Hawaiian Village on Oahu, Hawaii staying at either the Lagoon Tower or the Rainbow Tower seeking rest, relaxation, and comfort FIND SOMEWHERE ELSE TO STAY!! I stayed at the Lagoon Tower for two weeks and was utterly disappointed and exhausted by the time I got home from vacation.

There is a piece of land between the Lagoon Tower and the Rainbow Tower that was and is used daily for buffets, luaus, corporate parties, and private parties. The set up for these events begins at 4:30 a.m. when the staff is putting up tables, chairs, dishes, and meal buffet tables without consideration of the hotel guests just above them trying to sleep in their rooms. The staff talks, laughs, and works moving carts across the sidewalks to the grassy areas making a great deal of noise until the customers arrive around 7:00 a.m. The noise of these customers is additionally loud enough to awaken everyone in both Towers.

The evening events set up begins around 4:00 p.m. and customers usually arrive around 6:30-7:30 p.m. The noise from the evening festivities lasts usually until 9:30 p.m. but one night it continued on until 10:30 p.m.

If there is any kind of music during the evening events it is usually turned up so loudly that I could not hear the television in my room with the lanai door and windows closed! And the night the music continued until 10:30 p.m. was so loud that it shook my windows and lanai door! Had I known I would be enduring this kind of noise daily I would not have stayed at this hotel!

There was a corporate private party for 3 or 4 days during my visit so there were daily morning buffets, nightly dinners, and one day in which the entire lagoon was closed down to all hotel guests so the corporate private party could use it for a “team building exercise”.

The hotel itself is lovely; nicely appointed rooms, spacious lanais, beautiful landscapes surrounding the facilities, large enough rooms, comfortable furniture, and the condo-type rooms with kitchens are spacious and have full-sized appliances. The lighting particularly in the bathroom was very dim and there was no fan to exhaust the steam after showering. For those staying in the timeshare or condo facilities there are laundry appliances down the hall and they are free which is a nice bonus. The lagoon is an excellent place to swim, paddle board, snorkel (yes there are small fish in that lagoon!), and to lay out in the sun by--it's a great place especially for families with children since there aren't any waves and it is spacious enough for everyone.

There are really nice places to swim—the “super pool” where they have three different slides (usually extremely crowded), a larger pool by the Rainbow Tower that was very nice, a smaller pool by the Tapa Tower, and the lagoon between the Rainbow and Lagoon Towers.

If you're staying in the condo-type portion of the Lagoon Tower housekeeping is done only once a week. They will make your beds but not change the sheets and it appeared they never vacuumed.

I stayed on the 6th floor facing the Rainbow Tower, the lagoon, and the ocean. The views were absolutely exceptional and if it weren't for the noise I would have absolutely LOVED this room!

My impression was that the Hilton Hawaiian Village values the additional money received from the private parties more than they value providing rest, relaxation, comfort, and good customer service to their hotel guests! There was never any mention of compensation or appreciation for what the guests had to endure during these daily early morning wake ups or later evening disturbances of exceptional noise from the hotel management.

One day when I inquired from the concierge what the price of the breakfast buffet and luau was for hotel guests I was told that those activities were just for private parties and that the hotel guests were not invited. I think (or hope!) the concierge was only addressing activities for that particular day as opposed to every activity done in that space daily!

While I enjoy parties, good music, eating and drinking with friends I did not enjoy the early mornings and late evenings filled with tremendous noise when I was on a vacation. I would definitely NOT recommend a stay at the Hilton Hawaiian Village if you’re looking for rest, relaxation, and comfort because that’s exactly what you will not get!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kaww0502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

My wife and I made our last trip to Hilton Hawaiian Village in April. We were there from April 9 - 19th. We didn't know it was the end of the rainy season, but had two days where it rained all day.

That didn't stop us from having a great vacation. I've been to the HHV several times, however this will be our last. The cost of flying is prohibitive. We used airline miles to fly and I no longer have enough points to do this again.

I always enjoy HHV. This was our first stay in the Lagoon Tower. We stayed in a Studio for three of the days we were here and then moved over to the Grand Waikikian.

We were on the 20th floor facing Diamond Head. The view was very nice but this particular room doesn't have a balcony. The room was pretty small. There is a sink, and microwave and a few dishes, but no stove or dishwasher.

The room had two double beds which seemed small since we have a queen bed at home. The room is advertised for two people and that's probably all you would want to have.

We hadn't made any specific requests and were surprised to have a room so high. However, we didn't spend a lot of time waiting for an elevator either.

Since we were in a Studio, we knew this was actually a second or third bedroom of a two or three bedroom suite. That being the case, we did hear voices and sounds from the kitchen of the next room. However the folks didn't keep us awake and the level of sound wasn't that bad. We could hear voices but not understand what they were saying. Also, after we turned the lights out we could see light under the door to the next room if someone was there.

The main drawback was the bathroom. There is only one sink which isn't surprising for a Studio, but the lighting was inadequate. Nothing fancy about the bathroom. But then again, you don't usually spend a lot of time there either. However my wife had a hard time fixing her hair since the lighting wasn't very bright.

From the time we could make a reservation we tried to find a Studio at the Kailia Tower since I was told those Studio rooms were larger. However none ever opened up. Once at HHV we found out that there are very few Studio rooms in the Kalia Tower. If we had to stay at the Lagoon Tower in a Studio for our entire stay, we wouldn't have been very happy, but this was only for us to acclimate ourselves to the time change and then move over to the Grand Waikikian. I'll make a separate review of that part of the stay under that accommodation.

Just a couple of points outside of the Kalia Tower review. Parking is very expensive for overnight parking. It's $27 a night. Also, you will find that the Hertz desk is only open from 6am to 1pm. But we also found that you can drop your key off on the 5th floor of the parking garage anytime and not be charged for an overnight parking stay if you only want to keep the car for 24 hours. In other words, when you are finished with the car, turn in your key at the drop box along with your parking stub and you shouldn't be charged for that day.

When we wanted to keep the car for more than one day, we went to the front desk and informed them that we would be keeping a car overnight. They will give you a pass card for the parking garage. The pass card allows in and out privileges for the time you have the car in the parking garage. When you have turned in the car, return the card to the front desk so that they will not charge you any more nights. If you only keep the car for a day, you won't need the pass card. Just turn in your key to the drop box when you are done.

Parking without the pass card is like $8 per hour. So you want to avoid keeping the car in the garage for very long. Something that might help is that there is parking at the Marina next to the property. Lot "A" will cost $6 per hour. However, a little know secret that is mainly known by the locals is on that same marina is parking at no cost. However, the sign says it's for people going to the beach and so forth. If you are only going to be there for a short period, it might be possible to find a parking space in that area if all you need is an hour or so. However, that parking is only open until 10pm in the evening. And it's very popular so it might be hard to find a parking space.

All in all, I love going to Hawaii and staying at the Hilton Hawaiian Village. The Studio in the Lagoon Tower was fine for the time we were there, but it would have been very close if we had stayed there for our entire stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gwlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juneau, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

this was our first vacation as a family. our 4 year old and our 2 year old really were overwhelmed with all the cool things going on (especially the fireworks on friday night). it was a good atmosphere for our family. we felt safe and were treated very well while there. one caution, be prepared to spend 27-33 dollars a night for parking if you plan on renting one. there is no parking otherwise.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
3 Thank William Henry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Just spent a week at the HHV. I had a 2 bedroom condo in the Lagoon tower. The place is a city unto itself. I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The grounds were impeccably maintained and the beach in front of the resort was great with a sandy bottom. A bit further down, the beach does have a rocky bottom.

I would recommend this hotel without hesitation and would stay there again in a second. It currently ranks as my favorite hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank complaintsoffice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwood, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Condo is set in Hilton Hawaian Village. Beautiful pools, landscape and beaches. A wonderful trip with many restaurant choices and shopping is plentiful. Enjoyed hula lesson and luah. Perfect vacation spot. We are planning a return trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
4 Thank MargaretMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CALIFORNIA, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

THE ROOM WE WERE PROVIDED WAS NOT AS AGREED (LOCATION, ROOM TYPE, ALL OF IT !!!) Our room was facing a BUSY STREET (with typical 2AM LOUD motorcycle races, heavy trucking, etc.) and a parking lot - THERE WAS NO VIEW OF OCEAN AS HAD BEEN AGREED BEFORE WE CAME !!!! Our rooms were strangely/partially "wheelchair-accessible" rooms but there were MANY DANGEROUS CONDITIONS (including BNLT bathtub !!!, insufficient grabs, sharp edges on wide/heavy sliding bathroom door, too many doors, doors in the wrong places, etc.) and stupid situations (including BNLT all pots, pans, dishes, etc were stored in very high cabinets above 'frig and stove hood - for a "wheelchair-accessible" accommodation??? Are you kidding ???). Furniture and beds did not smell nice (We bought Fabreze, which helped a little.) Sofabed was broken and almost impossible to open. HVAC did not work (There was no notice that HVAC would not work if any door was open. HVAC filter in bedroom was FILTHY !!!)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
2 Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiltongrandvacations, Manager at Hilton Grand Vacations at Hilton Hawaiian Village, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for taking time to give us your input regarding your most recent stay. In reviewing your comments I would like to sincerely apologize for the poor service you experienced during your stay.
To ensure that your experiences are indeed resolved and not allowed to be experienced by other members and guests, our Maintenance and Housekeeping team will review the comments and correct the problems accordingly. On behalf of the entire resort team, I would like to thank you once again for sharing your input with us and look forward to the next opportunity of having you as a guest at our resort.

Shiho Natori
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#5 of 84 in Honolulu
3,914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Grand Vacations at Hilton Hawaiian Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Grand Vacations at Hilton Hawaiian Village

Property: Hilton Grand Vacations at Hilton Hawaiian Village
Address: 2003 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1917
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#27 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#30 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Grand Vacations at Hilton Hawaiian Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When staying at Hilton Grand Vacations at Hilton Hawaiian Village, you'll have access to the Village's spectacular amenities, including an exercise facility to maintain your workout routine, over 20 restaurants and lounges, complimentary shows and live events, first-class shopping and a wide variety of activities the whole family will enjoy. Hilton Grand Vacations at Hilton Hawaiian Village offers studios, one and two bedroom suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Priceline, Southall Travel, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Grand Vacations at Hilton Hawaiian Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Grand Vacations Club At Hilton Hawaiian Village Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Grand Vacations Club Honolulu
Hilton Honolulu
Honolulu Hilton
Hawaiian Hilton Village
Hilton Grand Vacations At Hilton Hawaiian Village Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing