We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large Waikiki time share resort was exceptional value.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Grand Vacations at Hilton Hawaiian Village
Ranked #29 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Large Waikiki time share resort was exceptional value.”
Reviewed 2 February 2011

We stayed here as part of a package to preview the time share property. Package included rental car, which we used to visit the north shore of Oahu and the windward side, as well as a certificate for $200 toward a later stay at a Hilton property. All the staff at this resort were very friendly. Our one bedroom suite with kitchen and washer/dryer had granite countertops, dual shower heads, but the furniture seemed heavy and dated. The unit overlooked the city and street traffic made it so noisy that we never used the balcony. The Grand Waikikian was the furthest from the beach of all the towers at the Hilton Hawaiian Village. The Pro Bowl was the next weekend and Waikiki and this hotel were probably even more crowded than usual as a result. We did not eat at any of the restaurants on site. The best thing about this hotel was the complimentary hospitality suite (not private) that we used at 4 pm on the day we checked out. We had gone to the beach on the north shore and were flying out that night on a red-eye. The hospitality suite gave us the opportunity to shower and change before going out to dinner. They stored our luggage and provided cold drinks. This was a big plus.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rustysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    609
    468
    152
    69
    47
See reviews for
718
373
28
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kamloops
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2011

We stayed from January 19th through the 26th. Overall we were very happy with the hotel. We stayed in the Kalia Tower. The tower is about a five minute walk from the beach. The beach at the Hilton resort is probably one of the nicest in Waikiki. There was a pool in our tower, as well as many other pools on the resort. Our children loved the pool with the water slides. Our room had a full kitchen which we used quite a bit. We found a local grocery store about a block and a half from the resort. The groceries were decently priced - way better than the ABC stores. There was a washer and dryer on each floor. We found the hotel staff very friendly and the room very comfortable. The only complaint that I have is that the rates for the long distance were completely outrageous. They tried to charge us 86 dollars for three short phone calls to Canada. The manager did adjust this after we complained. We were told the best thing to do is to buy a phone card. Overall we would recommend this hotel to families.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kamloops18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2011

We stayed in a 2 bedroom premier (ocean front) condo for 3 nights. We have never travelled to Oahu before because it is in the city. The condo was very nicely appointed and recently refurbished. I would stay here again if/when I return to Oahu. The laundry facilities are not inside the condo but located near the elevators - but they are free.

The front desk staff and concierge personnel were very helpful and friendly. We bought a 4 day bus pass (www.thebus.org) from ABC stores for $25 and we got our money's worth. There is a circle island bus (the 52 and 55 route) that will take you to all points on the north shore. We went to the Bonzai pipeline one day and watched a surf competition. It takes about 2 hours to get to the Sunset Beach area of north shore but we enjoyed seeing the countryside and not having to worry about driving. We could hop on and off the bus along Waikiki and didn't have to carry the correct change for the bus so I would recommend getting the 4 day pass if you plan to be there for 2 or more days.
The hilton hawaiian village put on a free fireworks show on Tuesday night which was a nice surprise. People on this island are very friendly and willing to help out with advice and information.

The main reason for our trip to Oahu was to visit Pearl Harbor and the USS Arizona Memorial. We really enjoyed this part of our trip. We took the City bus to this location as well. It takes about an hour to get there from Hilton Hawaiian village and we arrived at 7 am in order to beat the crowds.

Anyone who complains about the price of food or activities or the fact that there are alot of people here has obviously come here without doing their research. If you want a quiet island experience you should choose another island. Oahu is no more expensive than the other hawaiian islands.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gone2bigsur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2011

This resort pretty much sucks. Get to are room that was supposed to be ocean front looks between the next hotel and a very busy dock. Everything on the property is extremely over priced and pretty much total crap. The property is littered with shops and restaurants that all contain EXTREMELY over priced stuff and food that was not very good and not local. When asked if we could have food delivered to the room since we are staying in the time shares they responded with "That is trespassing for the delivery people to come on the property, it's not fair to the shops and restaurants on the property. Is it fair to screw every guest of the hotel to either go across the enormous complex to eat or be totally screwed at the restaurants on the property.
I obviously expected this trip to be expensive and for things at and around the hotel but the hotel basically confines you with it's complicated paths that lead to random spots on the property. The whole place is just lame, no bars or anything really on the property, not even by the pool! Went to the luau, not authentic outfits, food wasn't very good and caters to mostly Asian people. The service sucked, food sucked, show sucked and all for $110 per person! $30,000 worth of people sitting on the ROOF where this is hosted. Loudly and clearly so all of the other guests including myself can hear it every night! Place totally sucks don't waste your time and money.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gabriel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Dorado Hills, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2011

We go every year to this beautiful property and this time stayed in the newly built tower.The rooms are very modern and updated ,if you will,with heated toilets and great bedding.I am always surprised at how lacking the spa services are.The spa itself I guess is a separate company (Mandara}The waiting area downstairs is co-ed which I don't particularly like and The girl that was assigned to me looked shocked when I asked for a firm massage.I think she may have been new and very young for she forgot to massage my feet,which is unheard of.I get massages 3-4 times a month and everytime we travel, and I am surprised that such a nice resort does not have better spa facilities.The sauna and rest area is quite worn and small.The people working there were very nice but I think the facility is seriously in need of an update!As for the strike,it did not make that much of a difference in our overall experience.I still would recommend this lovely resort to everyone, just don't waste your $140.00 on the massages!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darlinglisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
107 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2010

I've stayed at the Grand Waikikan once and the Lagoon tower twice in the last year. There are 4 Towers in the "village". Grand Waikikan is the nicest and the newest. I recommend this Tower over the Coral, Kalia or Lagoon. If there is no availability at the Grand Waikikan then Lagoon Tower is my 2nd choice. Tip - you can watch the Hula show from your Lagoon Tower balcony.
There are several pools and they are all small - kids galore so this isn't an intimate romantic property. The beach is public and it's fun to watch the surfers.
IN the Kalia Tower As a Gold & higher level Hilton member you have free access to the 2nd level pool as well as the beautiful fitness center in the building. The Mandara spa on the 4th floor is a bit dated and it's a little odd to go to the steam and then have to jump in an elevator to have your service.
I purchased a HIlton "timeshare" in Orlando in 2007 for the perks - like last minute travel for $80/nt with a 2nt minimum. NOte: i don't recommend timeshares to anyone who only gets 2-3 weeks vacation/yr. But attend a sales presentation and get the perks - why not?
A 20 minute cab ride from the airport was $35 in Oct. 2010. My favorite restaurant in the village is the "Tropic Grill" which is beachside with tiki torches and great tropical drinks.
As a statesider, I don't vote this trip as a "shopping trip" but tons of Asians come just for that purpose and load up the elevators with their finds of the day.
If you like Sushi, Waikiki has some wonderful little sushi places within walking distance. You probably don't need a car - there are shuttles, buses etc.. Parking in the village costs $25/day.
It's a lovely walk thru the park to the happenin' Waikiki area bars, restaurants etc.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bcr8tve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2010

We spent a week at the timeshare portion of the resort. On arrival we were dropped off at the onsite bus/cab drop-off parking area. We were not familiar with the resort (it includes both a regular hotel as well as a timeshare - a total of 7 high rises) and as there was no one to ask, we followed the signs to check-in (quite a hike with all our luggage). Unfortunately the signs only pointed to the hotel checkin, not the timeshare component. As such we were directed to the timeshare checkin. After another long hike across the property with all our luggage we arrived at the timeshare, only to be told that we were at the wrong timshare building (each does its own checkin) and would need to go to our actual building to check in. After seeing the look on my face the lady behind the counter said that she would check us in and then called a bellhop with a golf cart to take us to our proper building. There should be explicit signs for the timeshare checkins!
The first 3 days everything was fine - all up to Hilton standards. We were woken around 6 am on the 4th day by shouting / chanting / horns, etc and thought that it must be some college kids. When this did not stop we looked out the window (all our windows were shut but we could still hear the yelling through them) to see massive picket lines - all 1500 of the hotel emplyees were on strike for 5 days!
Management tried to fill in for the striking employees with some success. Most of the activities / restaurants / bars etc were shut down as the hotel attempted to get outside staff to fill in. Guests had to make their own beds, change their own sheets and towels, etc. By the end of the 3rd day Hilton had managed to get outside housekeeing staff in though the hotel services including restaurant and bar services were still extremely liimited (there was no valet, room service, on-site luau etc). The most annoying thing was the 24 hour chanting / singing / bull horns, etc outside our building by the picketing strikers who obstructed all access to the resort by vehicle, letting in only a few vechicles at a time and then blocking the roadways again resutling in numerous delays. This chanting / shouting / horns kept waking us up throughout the nights as our unit faced right onto the road where the pickets were.
Hilton knew that the employees were in a strike position but we were not made aware of it by any communication! As well, it was intimidating to walk to the hotel through the picket lines (and there were picket lines at all hotel accesses, even the one that went onto Waikiki beach).

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cruiser9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#5 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Grand Vacations at Hilton Hawaiian Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Grand Vacations at Hilton Hawaiian Village

Property: Hilton Grand Vacations at Hilton Hawaiian Village
Address: 2003 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1917
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#27 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#30 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Grand Vacations at Hilton Hawaiian Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When staying at Hilton Grand Vacations at Hilton Hawaiian Village, you'll have access to the Village's spectacular amenities, including an exercise facility to maintain your workout routine, over 20 restaurants and lounges, complimentary shows and live events, first-class shopping and a wide variety of activities the whole family will enjoy. Hilton Grand Vacations at Hilton Hawaiian Village offers studios, one and two bedroom suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Booking.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Grand Vacations at Hilton Hawaiian Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Grand Vacations Club At Hilton Hawaiian Village Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Grand Vacations Club Honolulu
Hilton Honolulu
Honolulu Hilton
Hawaiian Hilton Village
Hilton Grand Vacations At Hilton Hawaiian Village Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing