We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“#1 of the 3 places we tired on Oahu”
Review of Waiola Shave Ice

Waiola Shave Ice
Ranked #13 of 102 Dessert in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Indy
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“#1 of the 3 places we tired on Oahu”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We tried Waiola Island Snow and Matsumoto. This was our favorite. Went there after renting snorkel gear at Snorkel Bobs. Delicious. Lots of flavors and well priced. Highly recommend.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TnTWalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    31
    18
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Best Shave Ice on Oahu”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Really, it's better that any that we have found on the North Shore, or on Waikiki.

This is a mom and pop kind of place, and they know they make great shave ice, so they're a bit eccentric... like, they have a note on the wall instructing you how to order. If you ignore it, then they get a bit testy - not quite the soup nazi, but close.

Here's how to do it:
1) tell them how many and what size (get large)
2) tell them if you want ice cream in the bottom (you do)
3) tell them the topping you want (I like snowcap, some like condensed milk)
4) finally tell them the flavors (get creative, you can't go wrong)

They have a nice little sitting area, which is better than trying to eat in your car. And speaking of cars, they do have parking, both at the shop and in the neighboring lots.

ENJOY!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank joesindorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga, ca
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“It's still the same”
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

I have been coming for ages when we go to Honolulu! My kids have to come daily too! Best shave ice in the islands! Very finely shaved & all flavors & condiments to add to it!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SYunique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“kapahulu ave location”
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

we have been to the their kapahulu ave location several times and is a very good option to the long drive to the north shore for a shave ice fix . sometime the parking is challenge as are most places around honolulu .

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank C P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best shave ice near Waikiki”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Very local, local place. Read sign in front. Get your order straight before proceeding to window.
Stupid haoles 'pay attention'. This place runs like something out of NYC.
THE BEST SHAVE ICE except for maybe North Shore.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Waiola Shave Ice also viewed

 

Been to Waiola Shave Ice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing