We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, excellent location!”
Review of Royal Moana

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Honolulu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Royal Moana
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

We would definately stay here again! It was well worth the money, convenient location. The room set up was excellent for our needs with a queen bed in the bedroom and a twin trundle bed in the living area. The kitchen was great for cooking with a full sized stove/oven and refrigerator. The wash area was adequate, be sure you have detergent and quarters. Also, rent a parking space. There is literally no available street parking unless you totally luck out. The only downfall was this location is a walk up and the place was a little dusty. It would have been nice to have someone touch up the cleaning before new guest arrive.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank p_yamada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013

From the beginning of communications to the end, I thoroughly enjoyed and recommend Royal Moana

This spot is close to everything you need and even the bus that will take you around the island for $2.50 - transfer will last for 2 hours in any direction! Lots of things very close - shopping, restaurants, beach - all close.

Condo is super clean and comfy for 2. Nice kitchen with lots of needs covered like a toaster, kettle, microwave etc. My only wish would have been a small dresser for clothes...perhaps where the fake tree was or beside the tv instead of the small stand. There is tonnes of closet space though. Needed the air on so street sound wasn't an issue for me.. sat on tiny balcony but enjoyed my coffee there.

Internet was great too!

Thank you Royal Moana!!! loved coming and will come again!!!
aloha!

p.s. sorry about pool rating below - there is no pool and I couldn't delete the rating

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank redmen55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I expected something a little better. The unit was on the fourth floor and had no elevator walking four stories several times a day was terrible. The sleeping accommodations were a queen bed and a futon. Because we slept on the futon I can safely say the sleeping accommodations were not great. The walk to the beach was about 4 blocks. It has a window air conditioning unit in the living/kitchen area. The wind blew in the evening and the patio door made a loud whistling sound all night. This unit is more suited for two people, there were four of us. I would not choose to stay in this unit again.

Room Tip: Previously vacation stayed at Imperial on Lewers street. This was a cheaper option and I paid the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank mas68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

As always the reviews are all over the Map, stay or don't stay there! Just came back from staying there & while it does offer a good location to beach & shops while being secure with parking, so do other places. Although I found the Ali'i Beach rental staff very helpful & friendly, I would NOT stay there again due to the NOISE. Who ever said it was quite had to be joking!!! It is located on a ONE way street the funnels traffic OUT of the strip to Ali Wai Blvd. So you have 24hr non-stop traffic, buses, taxi's, motorbikes,...etc going all night, stay one block off Liliuokalani. We enjoyed the early morning run along the canal then would head out early & come home late trying to miss the rush hour traffic. So if you are looking for a quite place,....keep looking!!!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a floor fan as the ceiling fan didn't move the air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank B_VWestCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

We just returned from a 3 night stay and our unit was clean and updated....new stone flooring throughout and new bathroom and kitchen.....

We were only there to sleep and shower....it is centrally located and secure. We definitely appreciated the beach chairs and snorkel equipment available to all guests! Check-in information was detailed and we had no complaints! Can't beat it for the price! :)

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bonnie40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Filthy rugs. Broken gear. Dirty floors. Paid for parking that was not available. Rude 'guest relations' staff. Lied about phone calls. View not as advertised or shown in photos. Need I say more? Stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jctraveler427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Located an easy 5 mins stroll (3 blocks) to famous Waikiki Beach - it was super. We stayed in Apt # 302 in Sept 2012 and for the Aussies reading this; the self contained apartment is cheaper, per night than an Ibis hotel room.. We found the apartment very clean and well appointed. Keep your quarters for the onsite Laundry, which worked a treat. There is no lift, so all the iced latte's were walked off each time we went in and out of the building. Secure entry and excellent pre-arrival email notes on apartment key collection etc - the service from rental staff was very good. Parking onsite is $7 a day (must be prearranged) but super easy.
Next door was a small convenience store who also sell alcohol which was super convenient and they were very friendly with quarters for the laundry! A block down was an ABC store which meant anything we could need was very much, on hand.
Only side note; traffic noise picks up outside the building after approx. 8am Mon-Sat as it is a busy thoroughfare for tourist coaches and traffic, this was not a big deal but fair to note. When you are so close to numerous Waikiki beach hotels there will be traffic. Regardless, this apartment was perfect for us as a couple and we had a magic stay there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JacquiSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,500 reviews
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ilima Hotel
#31 of 84 in Honolulu
945 reviews
Waikiki
Waikiki Banyan
Waikiki Banyan
#9 of 46 in Honolulu
514 reviews
Stay Condominiums Waikiki
#32 of 46 in Honolulu
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Moana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Moana

Address: 240 Liliuokalani Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3555
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 46 Speciality Lodging in Honolulu
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Royal Moana Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing