We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem a block from the beach”
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Stay Hotel Waikiki
Ranked #69 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Oahu, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Hidden gem a block from the beach”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Flew in for a short trip & was looking or a good budget hotel in Waikiki. Did some web surfing & came upon Stay Waikiki. Location looked great for the price so we took a chance & booked it. We were more than pleasantly surprised & extremely happy with our stay. The hotel sits behind the Hyatt next to Kings Row. It appears to once have been an apartment, converted to be a small boutique hotel circa 1950's. They did a complete remodel, is tastefully appointed & is squeaky clean (our pet peeve). They even had an Ipod docking/charging unit & flatscreen TV & new remote control AC unit. The only thing I see they should have done was to change the bathroom fixtures. Our room was small but for the price & location, who can complain. We walked to all the Waikiki restaurants, shopping & beach with ease. They have an excellent continental breakfast every morning. The staff was excellent & friendly.

Parking is limited for $15 but there is also public parking at Kings Row down the street for $8 a day- no in & out privliges. You don't really need a car if you do most of your activities in Waikiki.

I highly recommend this hotel for anyone on a budget & want to be a block to the beach amongst the high end hotels. I will be back!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank localboy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    257
    195
    105
    99
See reviews for
139
343
139
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We stayed the STAY WAIKIKI for 5 nights, and like this hotel very much, and we would like pick STAY WAIKIKI again for our next visit.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

I stayed here for two nights, Feb, 2012. Had a very nice room, super clean, comfortable beds- twin room. OK breakfast of juice, tea, coffee, toast, muffins etc., very basic, but replenished frequently, and out early.

Parking is very limited and far better with an economy car. It is easy walking distance to many attractions, food options, beach.

It is a noisy location, so if of any issue, this won't be a good hotel choice.

My priority was price, of which this hotel delivered. :)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank budgetqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2012

This hotel was simple. No fridge in room (unless advised before visiting, and only if they havent run out), no kettle, coffee, tea or water in room or available after 10.00am in lobby. Also, may of the rooms features were broken or needed repair (bathroom window, dvd player, ceiling light). Extra $10.00 amenity fee charged evey day of your stay which is not advised anywhere when booking (charge is for wireless internet, dvd rental and daily breakfast of a toast or mini pasteries and coffee). Coffee and water was not provided (after 10:00am).Parking costs $15.00 a day (and only if they havent run out of spaces).
Good news; Internet is accessible all day via computers in lobby as well as a printer (which you do not have to pay any extra for) and an ATM machine...
Customer Service was good, staff are polite and somewhat helpful.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kat60982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Does not have regular windows,they are glass blinds you can hear everything from the street. There is very limited parking. I had to park 2 blocks away. They also charge a 10couple Dlls amenity fee. Will never go back again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taurinus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blanting2, Owner at Stay Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Taurinus,

I am sorry that you didn't have a good experience at Stay Waikiki. We really do try to insure that every guest has a great stay at Stay Waikiki.

Yes, Waikiki Beach is a noisy place...tour busses, trash trucks, etc. We are working on solutions to this problem. And, yes, we are a small hotel and have only 20 parking spaces. However, there is another garage only two doors away. Just ask our front desk for directions.

As for the $10 amenity fee, we had a choice to make...nickel and dime our guests for EVERY amenity we offer - WiFi, breakfast, DVD movies, in-room video games, newspapers, business center, etc. - or just throw it all into a package price for only $10 per day. Frankly, this is a fraction of what you would pay for these amenities at the Hyatt across the street. We just thought that the $10 fee was a MUCH better value for our guests. Actually, most of our guests seem to agree.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Honolulu hotels

Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We recently stayed nine nights at the Stay Hotel on Waikiki Beach Hawaii and it was a great experience. The price is very reasonable, the rooms are simple but adequate, the location is good and the staff is VERY friendly. The only aspect that could use improvement is the continental breakfast which is sub par but otherwise we have no faults with this hotel. The place is a gem!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Byron, Illinois, United States
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2012

good hotel to stay.The rooms are very clean.Close to anything you want to do.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
0.3 mi away
Aqua Ohia Waikiki
Aqua Ohia Waikiki
#72 of 84 in Honolulu
604 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#63 of 84 in Honolulu
1,644 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ewa Hotel
Ewa Hotel
#67 of 84 in Honolulu
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ramada Plaza Waikiki
Ramada Plaza Waikiki
#43 of 84 in Honolulu
1,343 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Sands Hotel
White Sands Hotel
#71 of 84 in Honolulu
665 reviews
1.2 mi away
Marina Tower Waikiki
Marina Tower Waikiki
#84 of 84 in Honolulu
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stay Hotel Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay Hotel Waikiki

Property: Stay Hotel Waikiki
Address: 2424 Koa Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-6200
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Stay Hotel Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Waikiki Beach, Stay Hotel Waikiki is within a block of the ocean and the International Market Place. Also nearby are shopping on Kalakaua Avenue, the Honolulu Zoo and Diamond Head. We offer a 24-hour business center with free use of our business center computers. In addition, Stay Hotel Waikiki provides complimentary wireless Internet access. Some rooms include balconies with views. All guestrooms feature flat-panel televisions with cable channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Stay Hotel Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stay Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Stay Hotel Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing