We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay at Stay Waikiki”
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stay Hotel Waikiki
Ranked #68 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This place is pretty run down, dirty, and small. It is located in the back alley between 2 apartment. In the early morning, you woke up to delivery trucks and tour buses. At night, the tenant at both apartment are loud. But the front desk people are awesome and very, very friendly. Its alright if you like the location. You cross 1 block and you are at Waikiki beach.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sani1608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (863)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

499 - 505 of 863 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

Stayed here in early April in a room on the sixth floor. Little room, cute decor mostly Ikea furniture. Photos on their website was not the room that I stayed in. The second night I came back from a night out to find three cockroaches running around the floors and walls of my room. I informed the front desk the next morning, they said they would take care of it. Came back the next night only to find more cockroaches running around the walls of my room. I understand it is an older property, and having worked in hotel management myself before, I again kindly told the front desk to please investigate the problem. The clerk was very friendly and apologized for the problem. At the continental breakfast served downstairs I heard some other guests talking about finding bugs in their room as well. I then was offered to move to a room one floor up, to which they were painting the walkways and the smell was so strong I couldn't stand it. It was my last night and didn't want the hassle of finding a new hotel for one night, so I completed my stay. On checkout I informed the front desk of the bug problem, they waived the amenities fee which was appreciated, but they really need to get their bug problem under control.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ocnat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

When push came to shove, I wondered if I should be paying an extra $200 a night just to be located directly on the beach...but in the end, I decided I could walk a block to the beach, and stayed at Stay. It's FANTASTIC for the price--another couple shared the two bedroom suite with my boyfriend and me, and we found a GREAT prepaid deal that made it even cheaper.

The location is great, the staff was super cool, and we even enjoyed the bar--their prices were reasonable as well. It was a block from the beach so we loved that. Loved even more that each couple had their own bathroom--we don't expect that!

To me this place was hostel prices, but hotel living; the only possible exception being the floors are not carpeted, but with all the sand you're tracking in it's frankly better that way. Definitely loved this place for the price. Go go go and check out the Promo section of their website!

Room Tip: Go for the two-bedroom suite, it's cheaper to share!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank odetomyberries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Not bad location for price and relatively easy to find. Excellent staff and great customer service. Close to shops and the beach. and easy to get to convention center with minimal traffic problems. Great for convention stay

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Great budget hotel. Good location: minutes from the beach and the Main Street , clean: made up our room for us while we were out, friendly staff: helped us with any question we had. Don't expect large rooms, but ours did have a cute balcony with a decent view.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Besides the various bugs staying with you in your room and the really old fashioned rooms,it's in a great centralized location if you plan to spend most of your time in waikiki because everything is pretty much walking distance. This place is for solo travelers who doesn't mind sharing their room with little cockroaches of all kinds. Because I was traveling alone I decided to find the cheapest rate that includes wi-fi. This place had wi-fi in the rooms, (which did not work and took very long to even try to connect on my 4g LTE note 2 smartphone),and was the cheapest rate at around $100/nt. I had a queen bed that seemed more like a full size and about a ft of space on both sides of the bed to walk around, the bottom had around 2ft. I really liked that I could walk around to eat or shop in the area and it's a block away from waikiki beach. So,if you can handle little critters then this place is great to save money and just get some sleep. It isn't on the main strip so watch your back at night ladies if you walk alone.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank wailuku77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Its a perfect hotel with good location, good pricing, friend staffs and delicious breakfast, $10 per day is a perfect pricing that you can get any convinience for swimmings form Stay. Thank you and I will recommond it to friend as well as book it once I come back, Thanks.

Maya

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mayazhonghua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Ohia Waikiki
#73 of 84 in Honolulu
683 reviews
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
#49 of 84 in Honolulu
1,814 reviews
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#13 of 84 in Honolulu
2,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
White Sands Hotel
#70 of 84 in Honolulu
673 reviews
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#66 of 84 in Honolulu
1,661 reviews
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#59 of 84 in Honolulu
1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stay Hotel Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay Hotel Waikiki

Address: 2424 Koa Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-6200
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £89 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stay Hotel Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Waikiki Beach, Stay Hotel Waikiki is within a block of the ocean and the newly renovated International Market Place. Also nearby are shopping on Kalakaua Avenue, the Honolulu Zoo and Diamond Head. We offer a 24-hour business center with free use of our business center computers. In addition, Stay Hotel Waikiki provides complimentary wireless Internet access. Some rooms include balconies with views. All guestrooms feature flat-panel televisions with cable channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Stay Hotel Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stay Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Stay Hotel Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing