We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendlyservice-great shaved ice!”

Uncle Clay's House of Pure Aloha
Ranked #1 of 103 Dessert in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$7
Cuisines: Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Description: HOPA is a Hawaiian treat shop best known for its all-natural, homemade, real fruit shave ice served with Pure Aloha daily. At the House, there are no strangers, only 'ohana yet to be met. Through the House of Pure Aloha, we aim to accomplish our true mission of "inspiring a movement of Pure Aloha one person, one relationship, one community at a time".
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Friendlyservice-great shaved ice!”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

After hiking Diamond Head & on our way to Hanauma Bay, we stopped by Uncle Clay’s for some refreshment. My traveling partner (my mother) thought this would be like snow cones & was lukewarm about stopping here. I wish I had taken a picture of her face once she tried it! The flavors are fantastic & the portions are generous. Uncle Clay himself was working. He made a point of asking our names & wishing us hello. I found this spot through Trip Advisor & highly recommend it. It is fairly easy to find as it in in shopping center off of W Hind road.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mellengal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    512
    77
    16
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“Never Felt So Welcomed”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We had previously read about Uncle Clay's famous shaved ice on trip advisor. What we didn't know about was the amazing hospitality shown by Uncle Clay himself. He spent time talking to our family, including our 4 young children, and welcomed us from Australia into his 'Ohana'. I watched, as he did the same with every customer that came through the door. If you are after a delicious treat and want to be made welcomed there is no better place than Uncle Clay's House of Pure Aloha!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“So tasty and different from everyone else!!”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Not sure what they do differently then other places, but their ice is creamier and has more density to it! Their syrups are handmade and all natural. We have been in Hawaii over a year now, and this is BY A WIDE MARGIN, the best we've had.

Helpful?
1 Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardigan, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ammmaaazing!!!”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

From the United Kingdom so we had never tried shave ice. Uncle Clay's is a trip not to be missed and he is a true gentleman. Just go and flavour the experience.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stu1902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etters, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An absolute must-do on Oahu!”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

After trying some Shave Ice from a foodtruck on Diamond Head, we decided to give Uncle Clay a try to compare. The food truck ice was decent (basically an old school snow cone), but Uncle Clay's Shave Ice was definitely in a class of its own. It was much creamier and tastier, and the all 4 of the flavors we had (Mango, Strawberry, Guave and Pineapple) were phenomenal, filled with rich flavor.

But the best part of the experience was Uncle Clay himself. He truly cares about his customers - and about spreading Aloha to as many people as he can. He was sincere, engaging, and practically oozed genuine Aloha out of his pores. We highly recommend that if you are going to have Shave Ice on Oahu, make sure you make it a point to stop by Uncle Clay's!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MDFitness1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Uncle Clay's House of Pure Aloha also viewed

 

Been to Uncle Clay's House of Pure Aloha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing