We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than plane food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stinger Ray's Tropical Bar & Grill

Stinger Ray's Tropical Bar & Grill
Ranked #1,617 of 2,327 Restaurants in Honolulu
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Better than plane food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013 via mobile

Flew into Honolulu after a 9 hour straight flight from Atlanta. I just could not fathom eating the food on the plane so I was good and hungry upon arrival. We ordered Ray's Plantation Platter. Food was decent at best. The pineapple in the center of the plate was the best thing on there. Not worth $28, but much, much better than what was offered on the plane!

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ShellyannMonique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    26
    38
    13
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Half Moon Bay, California
Level Contributor
344 reviews
226 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“Underwhelming and Expensive”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

OK, you are at HNL and looking for a place to eat. Stinger Ray's is there in the interisland terminal and it is not junk food. How bad can it be? Well, the answer is that it can be an expensive so-so lunch. I had a coconut shrimp appetizer and my wife had soup, we had 2 lemonades, and the bill was $41 before tip. Yikes! And we had to work to get our waiter to pay attention to use and give us the check. So welcome to Hawaii! Seriously, we would not eat there again; just did not cut it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marfak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
111 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Best Bar @ the HNL airport”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

My wife and I have stopped here on many trips to Hawaii, always when awaiting a flight to another island our a return to mainland. Service is pretty fast, food tastes good only because you are desperately hungry after a long flight, and on inbound trip it is always great to get that 1st Mai Tai in. There are actually other choices in the other parts of the terminal, but this is always our 1st choice.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OriginalMurph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Underwhelming but adequate.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012

Airport food is always underwhelming with very few exceptions, and Stinger Ray's in the Honolulu airport is not one. Nevertheless, it was an adequate place to stop and have a bite during a long layover. We sat back in the corner, found a power outlet for the laptop and stayed for a couple of hours. It worked out.

Aside from being overpriced, there weren't any real negatives to the meal. It just wasn't very exciting or memorable -- but then again, what do you expect? It was all on par with that of any large American chain restaurant.

The Stinger Ray theme and its accompanying mythos, woven through the menu, just kind of comes off as a bit cheesy and it would be cool if they got rid of that, but whatever.

The final thing that clinches this review's star rating is, again, the prices. Who charges $4.25 for a fountain soda? Really?

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Microwaved food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

We thought this was a cute "tropical" place to have some lunch while at the airport. We ordered nachos and the chicken was microwaved which tasted like Hormel prepackaged meat that you would buy at the grocery store. It wasn't even heated all the way through and it was just a huge disappointment. I would not return.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JenTay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stinger Ray's Tropical Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Stinger Ray's Tropical Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing