We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check out the hot tub!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa
Ranked #25 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 16 December 2013

The best part of this hotel is the location. You will be right across the street from Waikiki Beach. Be sure to visit the pool and hot tub. One of our favorite evenings after a full day of activities was enjoying drinks at happy hour in the hot tub with delicious appetizers for our dinner, visiting with other guests, and watching an amazing sunset. If you plan to spend a lot of time in your room, then this is probably not the hotel for you. But if you intend to enjoy beautiful Waikiki and want to be where there's lots of action, stay at the Hyatt.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mgmaple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Aloha,

Thank you for the review. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit and took advantage of our ocean views from the pool deck. We hope that you will visit again in the future.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,692)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,605 - 2,611 of 5,692 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2013

I booked the Hyatt for three nights after switching from another hotel. The rooms are old and desperately need a remodel. I'm not sure if this true but an employee at the Hyatt said renovations will begin by Spring 2014. But they have over 1,200 rooms so it will be a long time before you'll see a newly updated room. One more thing, the hotel puts air fresheners in the A/C vent!!! If that bugs you, ask maintenance to remove it like I did. So enough with the negative....Wow!!!! What a view!! The ocean view made up for the outdated room. I was on the 23rd Floor and it was breathtaking. The front desk was kind enough to upgrade me after accidentally giving me a smelly smoking room. The location is perfect for shoppers! Parking is expensive at $30 a night but worth paying for. There is absolutely no street parking nearby and cheaper than a parking ticket. If you choose to stay at the Hyatt, book an ocean view room or ask for an upgrade at check in. It's worth the extra money.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlyboyKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are glad that overall you enjoyed your visit. We will share your comments with our team. We hope that you will visit us again in the future.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

"Resort Fees" are the sneakiest scam in the hotel business. It is also a slap in the face of customers as they check in. It puts hotel staff in an awkward position as they must inform people checking in that the room they prepaid (via priceline) will now cost an extra $25 a night. RIP OFF. Tarnishes the whole stay. With a strong enough push back, they may waive the fee, which is nice. But the damage has been done with respect to trust.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FullTIltWard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Aloha,

Thank you for providing your comments. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay and that you felt uninformed regarding the resort fees. The fees and the amenities our guests receive are listed for guests as they are booking their rooms on our website. We will share your comments with our management team.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I think what makes this resort so great is the beautiful staff.
We stayed in room 2055 ad the view was amazing.
A little outdated but very clean.
Breakfast buffet was great and staff were terrific.
A big special thanks to the lovely lady who made our wedding anniversary special at Jalenpo restaurant.Didn't get her name but she has been married for 36 years and is the most lovely lady.
Only thing I can complain about which is trivial was if we had a bottle of water left over from the day before it wasnt getting replaced with the 2 bottles you are paying for with your expensive resort fees.
Another thank you to the lovely girl who booked our day trips was really helpful and were great trips.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newygirl14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Aloha,

Thank you for reviewing your stay. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit and we've shared your kind remarks with the Japengo team. We do regret the issues with your water and have followed up with our Director of Housekeeping for further review.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel for Thanksgiving week and I hve to say that the service here is wonderful. We have never stayed in Waikiki before, since I am originally from Oahu, but lived on the windward side of the island. So this was a touristy trip for us, and I must say that Waikiki is quite a different experience than the true Hawaii, since it is so crowded, but we were expecting that.
We got a great deal that included buffet breakfast every morning (so good) as well as a free dinner at their Japengo restaurant (excellent!), and an upgrade to the ocean view room.
Everyone who works at this Hyatt is friendly, helpful, and accommodating. I'm so glad we stayed here and am thankful to all the employees who made us feel welcome, making our stay even more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gg369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Aloha,

Thank you for the review. We are glad that your visit to Waikiki was special. We have shared all of your comments with our staff. We hope you will visit again in the future.

mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I choose the Hyatt Regency because of its name. The hotel had not been update. If you just want to pay for location, then choose this hotel. They need to lower there prices to $100.00 a night until they renovate this property. I was very disappointed on what I paid and what I received. If you want nice accommodations then stay away from this property.

Room Tip: Oceanside rooms have a great view. This was the best thing about this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are are sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. We will certainly share your comments regarding the value of your stay with our management team.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We visited Waikiki this past Thanksgiving Holiday week and had a wonderful pleasant stay at this Hyatt Regency Waikiki. Initially we didn't get the full ocean front view room as we wished from our ocean front view booking. However thanks to the excellent help and services from Jenny (Lobby Front Desk) to Hannah, the VIP Manager, who helped our family to move a full ocean front view room once one was available. The VIP Manager was extremely caring to constantly checking on us and trying to do everything she could to make sure our families did have a wonderful stay. We stayed at the Hyatt Regency Waikiki two years ago and so glad we did come back this time to spend our family vacation at this same wonderful Hyatt Regency Waikiki, instead of staying at the Hilton Hawaiian Village like we originally planned to. We can't wait to come back to visit Waikiki and stay this same Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort next year again. Again many sincere thanks to the Hyatt staffs from Front Desk to the house keeping staffs, to the Regency Lounge staffs and definitely not to exclude the super nice and caring Hannah, VIP Manager.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Aloha,

Thank you for reviewing your stay. We are pleased that you enjoyed the services and have shared your comments with all of our staff. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,244 reviews
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa

Address: 2424 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3233
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#25 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £188 - £320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 1230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience all the excitement of Waikiki from one incredible location. Steps from the azure blue waters and soft sands of Waikiki Beach, Hyatt Regency Waikiki Beach Resort and Spa offers magnificent personalized services and luxurious amenities including world-class dining, award-winning spa, interactive cultural activities, 24-hour fitness center, swimming pool overlooking the Pacific Ocean, and more than 60 on-site boutiques. The resort provides the perfect place for those who want to make the most of their island experience and connect with the heart of Hawaii. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort And Spa
Hyatt Regency Honolulu
Hyatt Honolulu
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing