We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean with great view but a little outdated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa
Ranked #22 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
berlin germany, portland usa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“clean with great view but a little outdated”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Beautiful views, great location, kind service but the bathroom and the doors need a serious upgrade. The parking is insanely expensive so make sure you park at the canal or at the Banyan. Staff was very helpful with alternatives. Overall nice experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kooomedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for reviewing your stay. We are pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your visit. We have noted your comments regarding the parking and room and have shared both with management.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,318
    1,901
    703
    227
    154
See reviews for
1,723
2,100
201
327
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Gatos, California
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This hotel got only three stars because of the lousy rooms they provide. The staff and location are great. The staff is super helpful and always willing to answer questions. The facility is old and not been upgraded to Hyatt standards. We could hear the wind through our balcony door because the seals were old, the air conditioning could not keep up despite it being relatively cool out and we got stuck in an elevator and had to be rescued.

So, if you are after a great location and good service go, else look elsewhere.

Room Tip: The City view on the Diamond Head side give you a view of a 11 story parking garage. If you can, spr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank U N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are glad that you liked the location and the service. We are sorry for the elevator experience and assure you that engineering is aware of your comments and will review further. We also regret that you were not satisfied with the room. We will be undergoing enhancements in 2014 and will share your remarks specifically the noise and A/C issues.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette Hill, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This is a large hotel directly across the street from Waikiki Beach. It is centrally located to many shopping area, other large hotels, restaurants and more. We stayed here as part of Perillo Hawaii Tours.
The restaurants we sampled were terrific - food was fresh, delicious, and filling. Breakfast buffet was a special treat. (fresh fruit was outstanding!) Service was excellent in all. Pool area was small but very comfy. The hot tub/jacuzzi was very large and could easily fit 12 people or more. Bar service top notch - though prices (as they were throughout the islands) were a bit steep for "ordinary" beers and cocktails.
My biggest complaint about the rooms was lack of lighting. Putting on makeup was a real struggle. no magnifying mirror. Mirrored closet doors were showing a lot of signs of wear.

Room Tip: there are two towers. Our friends stayed in the one that faced Diamondhead. Their view was outstand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wagsalot13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are glad you enjoyed your visit. We have shared your compliments with the food and beverages team. We will also share your comments regarding the lighting with our rooms and engineering teams. We hope that you will visit us again in the future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We spent 5 nights here in Dec 2013. The best feature of the hotel is its location. Directly across the road from Waikiki Beach, and amongst the High End shops and restaurants of Kalakaua Ave, it is walking distance to most things for us. A cab to the Ala Moana Shopping Mall cost about $15 and it is massive compared to Brisbane Malls.

The hotel is a bit dated and could do with a renovation, but everything worked fine. The staff are friendly but when asked about organising something special for my my 40th Birthday it was too much trouble without 48 hours notice, even though we had emailed them weeks before and they had said it would be no problem. (The staff at the Cheese cake factory and the Top of Waikiki Restaurants both organised a special desert without any notice). The Buffet Breakfast was nothing exciting, just the basics and a cook preparing eggs/omelettes, but we are not big breakfast eaters. Overall it is reasonably priced for its location, and as first time visitors to Hawaii for us it was ideal.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparkymattt_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We are glad that overall you enjoyed your visit but we do regret you had any issues with the celebration request. It's difficult to tell what specifically happened however we assure you your comments were forwarded to the Director of Food and Beverage for further discussion and follow up with the team.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

The staff make this hotel! They are so keen to help and ensure that you have a great time in their hotel. The place is showing its age and the rooms are relatively small (particularly the bathrooms!) by Hyatt standards but is still a great place to stay. The location cannot be faulted, the dining options are adequate but it is the great staff which will have us coming back.

Room Tip: The hotel consists of two 40 floor identical towers. Every room has a view of some sort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaral1202158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for the review. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit. We will be sure to share your comments with our management team. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Had a one night stay here in the middle of December. This is my second visit to this hotel and I was extremely impressed.

Every member of staff went out of their way to welcome me, to engage me, and help me. Their smiles were genuine and their interest in me seemed very sincere.

The executive club lounge here is truly outstanding. The variety of food on offer is remarkable given the space. I also liked the way they offered a 50% discount off of alcohol for Diamond Members. I haven't seen this in any other US Hyatt Regency but I think it is a really smart way of balancing the needs of the property and the guest. Their were lots of healthy food options too.

If you've read any of my other reviews you might know that I can be quite picky. I have nothing but great things to say about this place.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeavingOrangeCounty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for the review. We are pleased to read how much you enjoy the service and amenities available to you on your recent visit. We have shared your comments with all of our staff and hope you will visit again in the future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 December 2013

You've seen hotels like this in the movies, but I've rarely experienced anything like they are portrayed. This was not just a hotel resort, but was packed full of high end and affordable shops, eateries and the spa. We stayed for 5 nights as part of our 30th wedding anniversary trip and didn't manage to take full advantage of all the amenities. We had a couple of breakfasts and a dinner in Shor reastaurant, which were a little pricey, but very good.

The room was huge with two kingsize beds, unfortunately the bathroom was a little small and odd! Bath and loo in a small room then the sink outside next to the wardrobe! Parking was a shock, at $30 per night or $35 valet.

We were on the 35th floor with a partial sea view. It was fine but noisy on the main drag with the balcony window open, or whilst sitting out there. The main drag was packed with designer shops and a few markets where you can have fun haggling, if you like that sort of thing.

Would I go again? I think one of the smaller islands would suit us better.

Room Tip: The higher up the better, you get less noise and more view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We do have some changes coming in 2014 and will certainly share your comments regarding the room with our team for further discussion. We are glad that overall you enjoyed your experience and we thank you for selecting us for such a special occasion.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#28 of 84 in Honolulu
4,359 reviews
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa

Property: Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa
Address: 2424 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3233
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#25 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 1230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience all the excitement of Waikiki from one incredible location. Steps from the azure blue waters and soft sands of Waikiki Beach, Hyatt Regency Waikiki Beach Resort and Spa offers magnificent personalized services and luxurious amenities including world-class dining, award-winning spa, interactive cultural activities, 24-hour fitness center, swimming pool overlooking the Pacific Ocean, and more than 60 on-site boutiques. The resort provides the perfect place for those who want to make the most of their island experience and connect with the heart of Hawaii. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort And Spa
Hyatt Regency Honolulu
Hyatt Honolulu
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing