We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic family retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa
Ranked #23 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I really like this location - excellent beach access - even though located "across the road". Check in area can get very busy - but my diamond membership really helped there. Penthouse suite was a dream for our family (diamond upgrade - nice!) - club was large and very generous - would love to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravlinDude63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Aloha,

Thank you for reviewing your stay. We are glad to read that you had such a great visit and enjoyed the upgrade. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,445)
There are newer reviews for Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,352 - 2,358 of 5,445 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

Older hotel, but service and location and amenities are great. Stayed on 29th floor with balcony and view of Waikiki Beach and Kalakaua St. Many shops and services in the hotel, along with a good restaurant. Room was large and comfy - everybody was super nice and accommodating - would stay there again.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank cwaddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Aloha,

Thank you for reviewing your stay. We are glad to read that you had such a great experience and have shared your kind remarks with our team. We hope to serve you again in the future.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Ordered " delux ocean view" room, and it ends up on 6th floor, more of street view than ocean view. Asked king room, ends up 2 double bed. No room to Chang or upgrade, even if I want to pay. Nor can I downgrade to non ocean view for king bed.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jimmy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Aloha,

Thank you for sharing your feedback from your recent stay. We are sorry that you were dissatisfied with your room location and that you felt that the situation was not adequately resolved. We have shared your comments with our rooms supervisor for further review and discussion.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Stayed here for my honeymoon in September. We absolutely loved everything about it. The customer service was great, our room was clean and beautiful. We are still searching for something that smells close to that of the air freshner in the room to have in our home. Something about it was comforting. Most definitely would stay here again!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JKDavidson55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Aloha,

Thank you for sharing this special event with us and for reviewing your stay. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. You are welcome to contact our housekeeping team at any time to get the exact name of the freshener or you may also want to call or email Na Ho'ola Spa which sells diffusers with Hawaiian scents like Pikake and Plumeria.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Stayed one night here and it was beautiful. Front desk receptionist was so kind and gave us leis upon arrival. They upgraded us to a wonderful ocean view, made it up to the room in time for the beautiful sunset on Waikiki beach - absolutely gorgeous! We didn't want to venture far for dinner so we ate at Japango which had delicious food and drinks. Lots of shops in the hotel also, which were convenient. Perfect location.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Sierra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Aloha,

Thank you for the wonderful review. We are pleased to read that you had such a great visit and we have shared all your kind comments with our team. We hope you will visit again in the future.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Hubby and I spent a night at this hotel at the end of a week with friends in Waikiki. We splurged on an oceanfront King room and the view was well worth the money. We were given a high floor
and although I agree with other reviewers in that the hotel could do with a facelift, I must admit that it is better than a lot of hotels in the Waikiki area which all tend to be pricey with dated furnishings etc. The room was nicely appointed with everything you'd expect and the view
was unbeatable. We chose to have room service breakfast which was delightful enjoyed on the balcony overlooking the beach… we even watched two sea turtles wallowing in the water while
sipping our morning coffee! Check-in was slow, check-out was also slow as it was pretty busy with only two staff members at reception. We dined twice for evening meals at the Shor restaurant which was very nice… not exactly fine dining but the food was fresh, well prepared and nicely presented nonetheless. Don't even bother with the pool… it's so small you're best to just walk across the road and swim in the ocean. Although nice, this is not the usual level you expect of a Hyatt Regency. Having said this, I would stay again just to experience those stunning views and great location.

Room Tip: Choose an oceanfront / ocean view room or choose another hotel.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wils0ncm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Aloha,

Thank you for reviewing your stay. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your room location and view. We have shared your comments regarding the wait at the front desk and SHOR dining. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We booked the Hyatt place down the blocks, they were over booked when we arrived. We were upgraded to the Regency for no extra charge. Everything was great. This is more a classic hotel compares to the Hyatt place which is more modern design. The room we stayed at was facing the street, during our stay they had construction work going on, the balcony was locked. So get a room away from that side if you can. But room was nicely kept and clean, the stuff were all friendly. They have activities every day of the week. During our stay, they have farmer's market on the ground floor, a lot of good local stuff to eat and buy. The hotel is right in middle of Waikik beach, everything is in walkable distance. The breakfast is kind of limited for it's price from a 4 stars hotel. If you are paying for breakfast here, I would suggest you to try the omelette a block away. Since we got it for free, I can't really complaint too much. If you go early, we can get a nice spot right in front of the beach and enjoy your morning coffee.

Room Tip: As always get higher floors and ocean side room if possible. Over night parking here is way too expe...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Winglik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Aloha,

Thank you for reviewing your stay. We value your comments and will share your remarks regarding the food selection at breakfast. Our team is currently looking at making some changes and we are sure they will appreciate your input.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#6 of 84 in Honolulu
4,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
231 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa

Address: 2424 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3233
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#25 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £192 - £344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 1230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience all the excitement of Waikiki from one incredible location. Steps from the azure blue waters and soft sands of Waikiki Beach, Hyatt Regency Waikiki Beach Resort and Spa offers magnificent personalized services and luxurious amenities including world-class dining, award-winning spa, interactive cultural activities, 24-hour fitness center, swimming pool overlooking the Pacific Ocean, and more than 60 on-site boutiques. The resort provides the perfect place for those who want to make the most of their island experience and connect with the heart of Hawaii. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelbag, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort And Spa
Hyatt Regency Honolulu
Hyatt Honolulu
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing