We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa
Ranked #22 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“loved it”
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

I did a fair bit of research on this hotel and Waikiki in General. Some if the negatives that I read were about it was tired, had homeless living on the streets, and the beaches are too small and busy. I will start with the hotel. We found the hotel was the best situated on the strip. We had an ocean view. With the ocean view also comes a view of the main strip. It was great at the end of the day to see the ocean from your balcony but also the strip below. We found the staff to be very helpful and accommodating, while the rooms were not overly modern, they were clean, and we found it fitted into the
Hawaiian atmosphere.
Breakfast was included, and the selection was plenty for us, it includes a fresh omelet chef.

There is also a perfect amount of shops sprinkled across the hotel, including car rental, and ABC stores for all your grocery needs. You will soon love the ABC stores.
The hyatt boasts a Japanese restaurant as well as a grill style restaurant, once again the food was very nice.
Getting back to the homeless living in the street, there is not that many of them, and unlike SE Asia they leave you alone.with the beach, you can always find plenty of room.
Overall an excellent stay, and we will be back to the Hyatt Regency in couple of years, and we will be requesting the same room
Regards Graeme Hicks
Melbourne Australia

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Graemeh6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for the great review and for selecting us for your future visit to Waikiki. We will be certain to share your comments with our team.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,352
    1,922
    708
    228
    156
See reviews for
1,751
2,124
202
333
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, England
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We chose this hotel largely for it's central location on Waikiki Beach and we weren't disappointed. It's just across the street from the beach and within easy walking distance to many shops and restaurants. As previously mentioned, the self-parking garage is very tight which is a good argument for renting a standard-size car. Most of the other drivers we met whilst using the garage were the valet parkers who we found to be very courteous and almost always gave way to us. Check-in was straight forward. We had an ocean view room on the 33rd floor which had a fantastic view along the beach towards Diamond Head. Just sitting on the balcony with a drink admiring the view was a pleasure in itself. Our bedroom was huge and very comfortable. The decor was perhaps a little outdated but we had everything we needed and the standard of cleanliness was excellent. Our package included buffet breakfast in the Shore restaurant which was very good. I would definitely choose this hotel again.

Room Tip: A high-level ocean view room is worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank instoreman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for reviewing your stay. We are glad that you had such a wonderful experience while visiting our property. We hope you will visit again in the future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We had an excellent stay at the Hyatt - this place is sensational. The staff were really helpful and rooms were beautiful. We booked the holiday through My Hawaii and were looked after every step of the way from the flights to the bonus vouchers given which saved use $100's... great holiday.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Aloha,

We are pleased to read that you had such an enjoyable visit. We thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We hope you will visit again in the future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McKinney, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Booked this hotel thru Expedia.com for a very good rate including daily breakfast buffet, May 7-13th. I had high hopes prior to arriving and wasn't disappointed. Booked an ocean front room and was enticed to upgrade for an even better view. The price increase was partially offset by a discounted daily resort fee and included Wifi internet connection. Even though we arrived prior to check-in time we were warmly greeted and provided a great room. You can't beat the location of this place. It's 30 feet from the beach! Countless restaurants and shops are within a very short walking distance. The property is very large yet easy to navigate and filled with shops and lush surroundings. Breakfast buffet was very good and well worth it! The pool, though small, was nice and welcoming with good food and drinks. The staff was exceptional; always helpful and very friendly. Grace (at the front desk), Robert (at the pool), and Barbara (at Swim-the pool bar) are just some of the terrific staff that exemplify the warmth of the Aloha spirit. Even the folks at the Bell Desk/Valet and in Housekeeping were super nice! I was amazed at the generous, complimentary sundry package the Hyatt Waikiki offers to its guests as well-very helpful if you forget a toiletry item like we did: that's less money you have to give the ABC stores in Waikiki! Warning: the Seafood Village restaurant on the property was ridiculously priced for the portions they provided-even with a 15% off coupon! I was disappointed that I couldn't order a lobster tail-instead they wanted me to buy at least 1/2 a lobster-no thanks! Instead we should've gone to the Mother's Day evening buffet at Shor! The Farmers Market (featured every Thursday) was great because the vendors give free samples and are friendly. It was a treat to eat some authentic Hawaiian grown and produced foods! The Hyatt also had live music during my stay and karaoke in the pool bar on Fridays and Saturdays. I suppose the only critical comment I could make is that some of the facilities need to be updated. Some of the tile and flooring are dated but the property was built 38 years ago and these are fairly minor details. I do wish we had a microwave oven to complement the small refrigerator that was provided in our room. Overall, The Hyatt Regency Waikiki was a terrific place to stay. The location, amenities, convenience and superb staff make it recommendable. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again upon my return to Waikiki.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor away from the elevators. Upgrade to an Ocean View room in the least-the views o...
See more room tips
Green Features: They do recycle and provided receptacles in the rooms and in the public areas.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DFNJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for all of the kind remarks. We are glad to read that you had such a wonderful visit. Thank you for sharing the names of staff who made your stay extra special. We will be certain to share your comments with them all.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

"Platinum GP Guest, king bed requested, confirmed non-smoking rm, quiet room requested, early check-in requested" online, then I called reservations and got late check-out requested too. The reservation says "Your preferences have been submitted and are subject to hotel availability."

On arrival, early check-in was unavailable unless I agreed to a downgrade to a double room instead of king. That was the price of not dragging my bags around for hours while I looked at Waikiki, and they use the "subject to hotel availability" disclaimer so they're covered. She did comp me parking, which was something.

The room still contained an invitation to a Mother's Day dinner, which would have been great if the room was also equipped with a time machine.

Quiet room? Forget it. Construction noise within the hotel was bone-jarringly loud. C'mon, front desk. You had to know. At least warn a guy.

My late check-out request was partially granted (late flight)

So, my amazing Hyatt platinum status got me early check-in to a smaller room, waived parking, bone-jarring construction noise from within the building, and the late check-out benefit wasn't available to the extent authorized. I didn't even get the "welcome lei" listed on the card outlining platinum benefits.

If this is what mid-level "elites" get, I wonder what dungeon regular folks are consigned to.

Not feeling the love. Not at all.

Room Tip: Don't check in early. Just don't. It's all "subject to availability."
See more room tips
Green Features: Noise pollution was rather high. The policies didn't affect me.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank RoadWarriorofDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Aloha,

We are deeply sorry that your experience was unsatisfactory and that you did not feel you received the quality service you have come to expect as a GP member. Your post was shared with the front desk management team and based on comments and the dates of your stay they are certain they have your contact information and the supervisor will be reaching out to you directly.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Without a doubt we stay at this Hyatt every time we've been to Waikiki. Ya, it's not a 'new' hotel but very well maintained and in the perfect location. Every room has a balcony and the lobby is open with the ocean breeze blowing. The staff greets you with a smile and refreshments are waiting for you at check in.
Do watch for sales on their website and if you're travelling as a family and need 2 rooms, the second room is half price. Just ask when you make reservations.
The pool area is nice with plenty of chairs and an open bar where we watched Hawaiian dancers and listened to music.

Room Tip: We prefer an ocean front room in the Diamond head tower. This is by far the best view of Waikiki an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Love2travel19892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for this review. We are glad that you enjoy visiting and that you took advantage of the new Molehu (mo-lei-who) performance at the pool on Mondays and Tuesday evenings. We will make sure to share you comments with our team. We also have added a new suite category for families and suggest you take a look at these in the future as well. You may find the prices and/or amenities are perfect for a larger group.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The service at this hotel was truly exceptional. When I checked in, I relayed to the clerk (Dan) that I brought my mother (almost 79 years old) to Hawaii for long mother's day weekend since she had always wanted to visit Hawaii. I had booked the hotel as part of a package with Hawaiian Air and wanted to ensure we had 2 double beds. Dan checked us in quickly and told me there was a surprise for us in our room. He then gave us leis and sent us on our way. Our surprise was an oceanfront room with a wonderful view of Waikiki beach. Every morning, my early rising mom would make a cup of coffee from the in-room coffee maker & sit on the balcony watching the surfers catch the early waves.
Our last morning there, we went to the pool to enjoy the morning sun before we went to the airport. It had rained the evening before so we choose wicker chairs to sit since the lounge chairs were still damp. The pool staff came over quickly with several towels and “wrapped” up the chairs so we could recline on the lounge chairs without getting wet.
The valet service was friendly and quick. The rooms were clean and the maids efficient. My only criticism would be that the bathroom could use some updating. It reminded me of my master bather before we remodeled -large sink & vanity area and a “closet” which contains the toilet and tub. Once you closed the shower curtain, it was rather dark in the bathroom. A light over the tub would be appreciated.
I have stayed at many hotels as I travel for business quite frequently and this hotel’s service and staff friendliness truly stands out.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mellengal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for this wonderful review of our services. We are happy that our associates could help make this such a great visit for you and your mother. We've shared all comments, including the bathroom observations, with our teams.

Mahalao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#6 of 84 in Honolulu
4,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa

Property: Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa
Address: 2424 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3233
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#25 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 1230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience all the excitement of Waikiki from one incredible location. Steps from the azure blue waters and soft sands of Waikiki Beach, Hyatt Regency Waikiki Beach Resort and Spa offers magnificent personalized services and luxurious amenities including world-class dining, award-winning spa, interactive cultural activities, 24-hour fitness center, swimming pool overlooking the Pacific Ocean, and more than 60 on-site boutiques. The resort provides the perfect place for those who want to make the most of their island experience and connect with the heart of Hawaii. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Prestigia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort And Spa
Hyatt Regency Honolulu
Hyatt Honolulu
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing