We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, lots to do!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa
Ranked #23 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Centrally located in Honolulu, walking distance to most tourist attractions. Stay here if you're looking for the action, but certainly not for relaxation. The views are great, and there is much to do without leaving the hotel. Great stay, would stay there again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fabthunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your visit, the location of the hotel, and on property amenities. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,445)
There are newer reviews for Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,213 - 2,219 of 5,445 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

We were due to stay here for the first 4 nights of a Hawaii tour and so booked an extra night pre-tour through our TA. We were concerned that we might have to move rooms, but the hotel were very accomodating and we had the same room for our entire stay. We were on the 40th floor, which, once you got over the vertigo, provided excellent views. We didn't have an ocean view, but were more than happy. The room was clean, comfortable and more than adequate for our needs. The hotel staff at all levels were welcoming, helpful and friendly. This was our first experience of Hawaii and it was a great way to start. The hotel is just across the road from the beach in one direction and the King's village in the other. The ground floor area with the cascading waterfall is stunning. Breakfast, buffet style in Shor restaurant was the best we had ever had. The little birds that visited during breakfast made it a bit stressful for my wife, who has a phobia, but we soon learnt that is the way all over the islands! The view of the beach from the restaurant was beautiful. The pool was small but adequate and the Gym well equipped. If we came back to Waikiki, I would certainly try to stay here again.

Room Tip: I think the ocean view rooms might be noisier. The high rooms are very high!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TrebiKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Aloha,

Thank you for the review. We are pleased to read that you had such a wonderful visit. Your kind remarks have been shared with our Front Desk and SHOR supervisors.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This property is right smack in the middle of all the action of Waikiki Beach. Short walking distance to many restaurants, shops and bars. Great location but a little too much action for us. Next time we would probably choose a property in a not quite so busy area of Waikiki. Other than that, I can't complain. The staff was very friendly and helpful, rooms were clean and updated (although bathrooms were small and not as nice as the rest of the room). I enjoyed the farmer's market one evening and purchased fruit and cinnamon rolls for breakfast the next day. We didn't use the pool or restaurants so I can't comment on that. We did have a partial ocean view which was fine for the small amount of time we spent in the room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators as they are quite busy and I imagine would be disruptive.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NoDakMom42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Aloha,

Thank you for reviewing your stay and all the amenities you were able to experience during your visit. We are glad that for the most part you enjoyed our location and services. We will be certain to share your comments with our team.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

First and foremost, we had a great stay here and would stay here again if we ever return to Honolulu. The staff were all super friendly and helpful. The service was on par with what you'd get in a 5 star hotel. Can't think of a single employee who failed to smile at us. We wished we had taken more small bills for tips. The only suggestion we have for the staff is for them to Slow Down in the parking deck. The deck is extremely tight and it's hard for two vehicles to squeeze past each other. It helps if you're not rounding the corners at 40 mph.
We were upgraded a bit to an Ocean Front "pure" room. We appreciated how big it was, with plenty of space to spread out our suitcases and we weren't tripping over them. Bathroom was in need of a remodel and the sink area needed more electrical outlets. Also, there was no exhaust fan in the shower/toilet room. The bed was fantastic--comfortable, with nice linens and pillows--and we slept well in it. The A/C was a little tricky and it would blow freezing air in your face if you sat at the desk while it was running. This room category comes with an air purifier which we ran the whole time. We found that it helped drown out the street noise, especially at night. Housekeeping was excellent and the room was clean, but we didn't feel like it was especially "pure."
The hotel is oceanfront except for a few lanes of traffic to cross. There are no buildings blocking your view of the surfers across the street. Hyatt provides free beach chairs and towels that you can take to the beach, but Waikiki is incredibly crowded. We tried it one day and gave up after just two hours. Luckily, the hotel is just a short drive from several good beaches and about an hour from some really great ones. We loaded our free chairs/towels in our rental car and went beach-hopping around Oahu. This alone made the Hyatt the best choice for us. If you don't like the beach, the pool/pool bar is a terrific place to hang out.
Breakfast was included with our room, so we ate at the hotel several mornings. The food was good, but it's more Japanese than Hawaiian. Maybe coconut syrup isn't authentic Hawaiian, but we expected to see it on the buffet. They brought us some from the kitchen when we asked. The hotel also offers an express breakfast so you can just grab food and go. This is a great option if you have an early tour or if you want to hit the gym first, then take breakfast to eat on your own private balcony. (The hotel gym is another feature we highly recommend).
Overall, we felt this hotel was a great value. We're so glad we didn't shell out the extra cash for an ocean view room at the Westin or the Royal Hawaiian. Many thanks to everyone at Hyatt who took care of us on our vacation!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank KBandMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Aloha,

Thank you for reviewing your stay and for all the kind remarks regarding the services you received. We are sorry to read about your parking lot experiences and have shared your comments regarding it and the buffet with our supervisors. They will address your concerns with our associates.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My husband and I visited Hawaii in May 2014 for our second anniversary! He actually lived in Kailua several years ago and is very familiar with the island of Oahu. However, this was my first trip to the island and it was perfect in every way! My husband has stayed here several times in the past and wanted me to have the "Hyatt Experience"! It was AMAZING. . .very nice and helpful employees, clean rooms, awesome view of the ocean, and wonderful atmosphere! The view from our balcony included everything. . .ocean, beach, buildings, street, Diamond Head. . .SO BEAUTIFUL!!! Loved the location. . .right on the strip of all the activity. . .we could walk to shops and great restaurants! This was the trip of a lifetime for me and my husband! We would highly recommend this resort to anyone and would definitely consider staying here again if we ever have the opportunity to return!!

Room Tip: Our ocean view room was GREAT!!!!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank April O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Aloha,

Thank you for the review. We are honored you husband suggested our hotel for your first visit to the island. Having a guide familiar with Oahu must have made it an incredible anniversary vacation. Thank you for considering us for any future visits.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We went to Hawaii for a treat to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary and my 50th birthday we had the most amazing holiday even though we both had leg injuries at the time. The bar staff were very friendly the hotel was very clean. the Hotel is situated just in front of Waikiki beach outside the Honolulu police station amazing views.
Ample room around the pool area. Many ABC stores in Hawaii including 2 in our hotel. The Market was in the hotel lobby twice weekly and once across the road. we didn't get anything complimentary. you get 60mins free international calls for the stay which was nice but everyone got this. The shore bar is very nice and they make you feel welcome, seems like an age ago now would love to go back, its so relaxing. We got a partial sea view very nice. Car parking each night $30 or $35 for valet parking in the multi story car park owned by the hotel, great beach view from here. Excellent location with excellent service a must stay

Room Tip: south room mid tower is nice you get a good sea view
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fezile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Aloha,

Thank you for reviewing your stay and for spending two special occasions with us. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your visit especially the views, the restaurants and the pool. We hope that you will visit us again in the future.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I have stayed at The Hyatt Regency Spa in Waikiki for years and it has always given great service, comfortable beds and wonderful location. The breakfast Buffett at The Shor restaurant is great with a perfect morning view of the ocean and has very good service. The beds are comfortable and it is in the perfect location for everything . I just got back from a weekend trip and as always had a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: I joined Hyatt Gold passport club and usually get an ocean view upgrade
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deb33026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Aloha,

Thank you for the wonderful remarks and continued support. We look forward to serving you again soon.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#6 of 84 in Honolulu
4,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
232 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa

Address: 2424 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3233
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#25 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £192 - £344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 1230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience all the excitement of Waikiki from one incredible location. Steps from the azure blue waters and soft sands of Waikiki Beach, Hyatt Regency Waikiki Beach Resort and Spa offers magnificent personalized services and luxurious amenities including world-class dining, award-winning spa, interactive cultural activities, 24-hour fitness center, swimming pool overlooking the Pacific Ocean, and more than 60 on-site boutiques. The resort provides the perfect place for those who want to make the most of their island experience and connect with the heart of Hawaii. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelbag, Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort And Spa
Hyatt Regency Honolulu
Hyatt Honolulu
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing