We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Review on this Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa
Ranked #22 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cypress, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Mixed Review on this Hotel”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I really wanted to love this hotel but left having very mixed feelings. I think the rating is more between a three and a four. I thought that the staff was what really made this hotel better for me. Everyone was very friendly and welcoming. I did not have one complaint about the staff. The room was very underwhelming and was in need of a renovation. It was also really spacious almost to spacious. They could fit another king bed in the room which was very odd to me. The toilets were extremely loud and I could hear the person above me flushing. I thought the room service menu was a bit limited but the food was better than average. I did enjoy the location right across from the beach but I don't think I will be staying here again on my next visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor to avoid some of the noise from outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaintsFanGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are sorry you were not more pleased with your stay. The rooms are some of the largest in Waikiki and are currently undergoing a remodel. Some features include the option of queen or king sized beds and new bathrooms. We are glad that you were pleased with the services received from our associates and we will be certain to share your comments with our team.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,354
    1,922
    710
    228
    156
See reviews for
1,753
2,126
202
333
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Beautiful rooms, great view! We stayed in the ewa tower for 5 days. Room was always cleaned to perfection, accommodations were amazing! Pool area is great and even features adult swim hours. Kids loved the Friday aloha show. No breakfast on site, we had to search outside the hotel. Great location to beach, just across the street. Plenty of restaurants around. Will stay again!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank MarriageDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for the review. We will share all of your kind remarks with our team. We hope to serve you again in the future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We recently returned from 8 nights here. We could not fault this hotel! From the moment we arrived we experienced exceptional customer service. We were upgraded from an ocean view room to ocean front in the Diamond Head Tower. Our room on the 17th Floor was large and modern, with a king size bed and spectacular views of Waikiki Beach. The service throughout the hotel was excellent, and special mention to Michael at the pool and Andrea at breakfast! Yes there is a daily resort fee of $25 (like all hotels in Waikiki). We had joined the Hyatt Gold Passport Club after booking this holiday and were offered extra benefits during our stay (as well as receiving 50% off the resort fee). The fee also included the supply of chairs and towels for use at the beach which is right across the road. We also received cold bottled water whilst at the beach delivered by the Hyatt pool staff, and ice blocks and cold flannels at the pool! Had a fantastic time (though wasn't long enough) and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. This hotel is centrally located, great staff, and views to die for. What's not to like!!!

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for ocean view on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank socoldACT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for the review. We are happy to read that you had such a wonderful visit. We have shared all your kind comments with our team, especially Michael and Andrea. We thank you for becoming a Gold Passport member and we look forward to serving you again.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Recent trip staying at the 4 star Hyatt Recency resort has left me wondering if I would stay here again as it fell short of expectations with the brand Hyatt. The location was great and views from ocean view rooms spectacular but fell short in other areas which you would expect to find of a high quality hotel chain. The rooms are dated and noisy and need renovations and upgrading which I believe is in progress at time of writing but to what extent I not aware off and for how long could be of a concern if staying there. On the plus side the staff are friendly and attentive. Overall the stay was OK but did have a few issues that where dealt with but shouldn't have happened in the first place. Would I recommend or have a return visit to this hotel I'm not sure as there is plenty of competition in the area that you could look at that might provide a more pleasant stay experience.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are more expensive but spectacular views well worth the price. Adjoing rooms noisy...
See more room tips
Green Features: Wasn't aware of their practices apart from laundry practices.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DitchAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for providing your feedback. We are sorry that you were not more impressed with your visit. You are correct, we do have a guestroom remodel in progress and there is information on our website if you would like to see what will be coming soon. We also regret that you experienced any inconveniences as a result of service. We are glad that you addressed the situations with staff while you were on property so that they could respond and correct the error.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

First time to Hawaii. This is listed as 4 star resort but hotel rooms more like 3 star in my opinion. very tired and tatty and not even well cleaned (dusty)
décor appears very 70's. Our room was not adjacent to lift shafts but could still hear them during the night. The doors and windows rattled from the gusts of wind. Tried to get a move but hotel totally booked out. (not sure why)
So called free wifi pretty erratic and keeps dropping out. Hard to get in the rooms at all. That said had better luck on laptop than with phone.
Some of the staff quite nice and helpful but get the feeling any complaints are not new to them and they have little power to be able to help. we got daily resort fee halved and bottle of champagne for complaints but really it was about the money. We had two young kids and the rooms too small for 4 people. Pool is crazy small. Kids had fun but very uninspiring. Tiles around the pool very slippy when wet. We moved out as soon as we could find another option.
If you upgrade to Regency club makes the value a bit better. Location good for Waikiki beach.
Beds very soft....too soft me me

Room Tip: ask to be as far from lifts a poss
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clarke p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for sharing your feedback from your recent visit. We are sorry that you had such a negative experience while staying with us and that we could not resolve any of your issues while you were on property. Your post will be shared with our rooms and front desk departments for follow up and further discussion.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Just spent a week there with my daughter. The location and views were fantastic, easy walking distance to everything. The staff were all friendly and very helpful, and the breakfast especially the omelet station was amazing. Would definetly stay there again.

Room Tip: Most definetly get the ocean front room, the views are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carmel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for the great review. We are glad to read you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to serving you again in the future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

While the resort and location are impressive as a whole, the rooms leave much to be desired. The rooms are quite dated and the bathrooms are cramped. The view was good, but you can't see the sunset - so don't get the ocean facing view for that reason. The noise level never really stops and the doors and walls to the hallways are thin - you can hear pretty much everything that happens outside your room.

Our AC didn't work, neither did the shower or the phone receiver. We've complained to Hyatt and they are working on improving it, but doesn't improve our rating.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are sorry that you have run into several room issues as well as the noise. We are glad that you contacted associates on property to address the situation and hope the resolutions will be made quickly. We will also share your comments with our department supervisors.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#6 of 84 in Honolulu
4,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa

Property: Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa
Address: 2424 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3233
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#25 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 1230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience all the excitement of Waikiki from one incredible location. Steps from the azure blue waters and soft sands of Waikiki Beach, Hyatt Regency Waikiki Beach Resort and Spa offers magnificent personalized services and luxurious amenities including world-class dining, award-winning spa, interactive cultural activities, 24-hour fitness center, swimming pool overlooking the Pacific Ocean, and more than 60 on-site boutiques. The resort provides the perfect place for those who want to make the most of their island experience and connect with the heart of Hawaii. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort And Spa
Hyatt Regency Honolulu
Hyatt Honolulu
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing