We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa
Ranked #21 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

The only bad part about my stay was that it was so short. I spent 2 nights at the Hyatt Regency Waikiki in a comfortable room with a to-die-for view of both the ocean and Diamond Head. Service was excellent from the bell desk to the front desk to the Regency Club attendants. Special shout out to Hannah, the VIP manager, who went out of her way to make my stay amazing. Thank you, Hannah!

The location is terrific for both beach and shopping, with plenty of food options at every price point nearby. The staff is more than happy to help direct you if you're looking for something specific or just need some suggestions. Iyasume Musubi is right behind the hotel in a tiny alleyway and it has the absolute best musubi. I picked a few up every morning and went and ate them on the beach.

I was able to get a massage at the spa, which is gorgeous. The only con was that my treatment room backed up to a parking structure, and a car alarm kept going off. But the massage itself was excellent. You might ask for a room on the beach side of the hotel if that sort of thing would really bother you.

I look forward to staying at this hotel again, hopefully sooner than later!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for the great review of the hotel and the spa. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we thank you for the kind remarks to Hannah, our associates, and the spa. We've shared them with all and look forward to serving you again.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,022 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,153
    1,827
    676
    219
    147
See reviews for
1,609
1,990
187
314
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,089)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed here one night of our Waikiki trip in March. The hotel staff were absolutely amazing. I had booked through a third party agency and when we arrived, they had no more rooms with a king in the category I selected. The front desk receptionist went above and beyond to upgrade us with the least cost to something we wanted. It was pretty painless and didn't end up costing us too much more than we had originally paid. The room we had was huge and the bathroom was great. I love the dressing room with sinks outside from the shower. The view from the 39th floor is unbelieveable!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kattjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for the review. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay. We hope you will return again in the future and maybe stay a few more nights to experience some of our on-site activities.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halesowen
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon. The travel agents contacted them in advance to let them know this was the case. First room was a twin, second room was next to the lift, so after being awake for 21hours I didn't appreciate my 3 hour sleep. It was like sleeping under a roller coaster. The 3rd room was perfect until I tried to go out on the balcony and that was bolted shut. They did upgrade us to a some sort of special card holder thing but sadly didn't tell us until we checked out!

Everyone that works there seemed very nice however they didn't do anything right. They even booked our transfer for 4.30am when we flew 11.30am (15mins from airport)

Was not happy. We are planning on going to Hawaii again but I will not be stopping here!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bigbleupaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for sharing your feedback and for bringing these issues to our attention. We are sorry that your stay during such a special occasion was unsatisfactorily handled regarding your room assignments and communication. We value your comments and have shared your post with our Front Desk supervisor for further review and discussion with our associates.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kapaa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Great location in Waikiki great walking distance to all the shopping and dining.
Beautiful hotel and great friendly staff.
Rooms were so wonderful and we had a ocean view it's so comfortable we didn't want to leave the room.
Would love tollways stay here!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sparkelingdiamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for the great review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to serving you again.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We arrived right at 3 pm and were given our room quickly even thought the hotel was booked. We were originally booked in a Waikiki view room (street view) with 2 beds since our son was with us. However, they only had king beds available. I simply asked for a higher floor further from the elevators and we were given an excellent room overlooking the beach from the 34th floor.
The pool was terrible, but who cares when you can walk across the street to one of the most famous beaches in the world. We just stopped by the pool to pick up our towels for the beach and they even gave us chairs and beach toys for our son to use! Also offered him freezer pops :) They offered a lot of little extras. You can borrow a robe, curling iron, flat iron, etc. And they give you all the toiletries you could ever need. Shampoo, conditioner, body wash, soap, toothpaste, shaving cream, razors, deodorant... And even if they didn't have something you needed, you can always pick it up at the ABC store within the hotel for normal prices (grocery store price). We skipped the hotel food as it was pricey and ate cereal for breakfast and sandwiches from ABC for lunch for $3. I would recommend this place. The only downfall was the AC. We had it set to 60, but it never got below 75. If you open the lanai doors, the AC shuts off automatically. Other than that, no complaints here!

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise, as do the rooms further from the elevators. But even on the 34th floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bethg1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for the review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, in particular the services at the pool desk and rooms. We hope that you contacted staff regarding the A/C issues while you were on property and that they responded quickly and efficiently. We will make sure to share your review with our engineering team as well.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Many thanks to Dan K at the front desk. He greeted us with a smile, a lei and an upgraded ocean front room. There was construction on that side of the building so we couldn't use the balcony, Dan did waive the resort fee to make up for it. That was ok as we don't usually sit out anyway. The downside was the construction on the floors above. It was very loud and very annoying Had there been mention of it on the expedia booking site we might have chosen elsewhere. Particularly annoying was having the outside construction crew on our balcony. A little advance notice of that would have been nice.
The breakfast (which we had included in our package for minimal cost) was fantastic. The food was good, the service great and the setting could not be beat. This was a great way to start each morning. Happy hour at Swim was great. Again great food and great service, but I would suggest you skip happy hour at Shor. The food was not great and being stuck in the dark bar area just ruins the atmosphere. Would be a happier hour if you could sit outside like you do for breakfast.
All in all I would stay at this hotel again but after the construction work is done.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maggie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Aloha,

We thank you for taking the time to share your experiences and we are sorry about the noise issues. We have shared your comments with the Front Desk, in particular Dan, as well as the teams at SWIM and SHOR. All of your comments are being discussed by our team.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cypress, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

I really wanted to love this hotel but left having very mixed feelings. I think the rating is more between a three and a four. I thought that the staff was what really made this hotel better for me. Everyone was very friendly and welcoming. I did not have one complaint about the staff. The room was very underwhelming and was in need of a renovation. It was also really spacious almost to spacious. They could fit another king bed in the room which was very odd to me. The toilets were extremely loud and I could hear the person above me flushing. I thought the room service menu was a bit limited but the food was better than average. I did enjoy the location right across from the beach but I don't think I will be staying here again on my next visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor to avoid some of the noise from outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SaintsFanGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are sorry you were not more pleased with your stay. The rooms are some of the largest in Waikiki and are currently undergoing a remodel. Some features include the option of queen or king sized beds and new bathrooms. We are glad that you were pleased with the services received from our associates and we will be certain to share your comments with our team.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,726 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,101 reviews
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa

Property: Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa
Address: 2424 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3233
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#25 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 1230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore the excitement of Oahu in one of Hawaii's most fashionable zip codes. Just steps from renowned warm waters and spectacular views of Waikiki Beach, the property features newly remodeled guest rooms, an award-winning spa, retail shopping, cultural activities and cuisine from celebrated chefs. Close to Honolulu's most visited attractions, including the USS Arizona Memorial at Pearl Harbor, Iolani Palace and Diamond Head Crater, the hotel is the ideal solution for those who want it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Southall Travel so you can book your Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort And Spa
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Hyatt Regency Honolulu
Hyatt Honolulu
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing