We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“#18 is right next to the elevator!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa
Ranked #22 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Saratoga, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“#18 is right next to the elevator!”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We spent 5 nights this time. The first 2 nights was terrible. The room is right next to the elevator and you can hear the rumbling sound when it goes up and down. Also the room is in weird shape that we had to stand to watch TV. We asked for another room but no available one until the 3rd night. Once we moved away from the elevator, it was much better and the room is in normal shape for us to watch TV from the bed. I was very upset with first 2 nights experience that deserves nothing but 0 star, but the rest of 3 nights was OK. I did enjoy the pool and spa. Also I love the fitness center so 2 stars for that.

Room Tip: Check the title of this review!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Aloha,

We are sorry that your stay was unsatisfactory due to your room assignment. We are glad the front desk was able to relocate you and we hope you shared your comments with the odd position of the television with our team while you were visiting so they could further research the issue. We are pleased to read that you did enjoy the second room, the gym and the spa.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,243
    1,863
    690
    223
    151
See reviews for
1,663
2,050
195
322
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We spent 8 nights at the Hyatt Regency in June. We were on the 21st floor with ocean view which we found amazing. We were able to see everything that was going on in the street, including 2 parades, and each evening watched a sea turtle come in and feed. The room was spacious and clean but the bathrooms are very old and dated. We found the staff very friendly and helpful. We had no problems with booking in or our account. Breakfast was a little disappointing. You could not get a better position for a hotel in Waikiki.
Our only real problem was with booking a tour through the concierge which didn't go through to the tour company. This was the second time this had happened on this trip, the other was at The Grand Hyatt on Kauai and this was very disappointing as we had spent a lot of money flying from Australia only to miss island tours. We were refunded our money but missed out on the experiences. My advice double check any tours booked through the Hyatt with Expedia.
Apart from this we really enjoyed our stay at the Hyatt. Great coffee downstairs at Kia Coffee.

Room Tip: I think it is important to pay the extra and have the amazing ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wright0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for reviewing your stay. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit to Waikiki and were able to leave with some very special memories from cultural events to sea turtles. We are sorry to read about the difficulties you experienced with the tours. While we do not personally operate the tour desk we have shared your comments and unfortunate experience with our Front Desk Manager who will follow up with Expedia representatives.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Our previous stay was less than satisfactory and we still went back in june 2014. Our complaints had been totally addressed from our stay in 2011 and it is amazing how great things are. Rooms are being refurbished, housekeeping improved, maintenance of the common areas very good. It is obvious that the executive staff listens to guests concerns. Now we look forward to returning there.

Room Tip: Just advise them what your expectations are
See more room tips
Green Features: It is not only the hotel, THE PEOPLE OF HAWAII show their love and concern for the waters, various tourist spots, and their land. Get a CD of songs by IZ it explains a lot of the love Hawaiians have for the State
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for the compliments and for selecting us for a return trip. We are glad to read that you found the services improved and that you felt your concerns from your previous visit were listened to and acted upon. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on a girls trip.. Had the regency club floor entry which gave us 24/7 access to food and bev.. Great location, might as well have had our feet in the sand.. Central to everything.. Fantastic. Will return

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirsten B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and the new hours at the Regency Club Lounge. We've shared your compliments with our guest services manager.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

My wife and I made the long haul from Australia for our third visit to Hawaii and enjoyed our time in Kauai and Honolulu . We experienced none of the problems some of the reviewers expressed .
We booked an ocean view room and were up graded to an ocean front on 28th floor . The room was nice without being luxurious . We had wonderful views and the hotel was in a central location just across from the beach . I found the service to be outstanding , with the staff prepared to have a chat when time permitted and always attentive , offering suggestions to help make our stay at the hotel special .
The only negatives was the tired old bathroom , really needs an update . I was disappointed to find this when the room rates are quite expensive .
Overall a very nice place to stay if you have the dollars .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tennisjrb .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for sharing your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and the services provided. We've also noted your comments regarding the bathroom and assure you they are currently be addressed. We hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Currently staying for 2 nights as Diamond Club member with my wife and 3 year old son. It has not been very impressive. It is an old hotel which I knew so it was o.k. However, quality of service was something I was more looking for. Overall, it was more of an disappointing experience.

+ Great location and spacious room

+ Shawn at Front desk did a great job welcoming us for check-in. We were given a room with good view (3656) which was good but the keys were not working so had to wait for someone to come in and open the door.

- We had two small items need to be refrigerated so asked front desk if they can help us. First person at the front desk told that they are not supposed to do and suggested go down stair ask bell man if they can help us. I was sure that bellman is not going to be effective resolving the issue so waited in the line and asked Shawn. He graciously took time to look for ways and finally helped us by coordinating with restaurant manager at third floor, but it took us almost 30 mins waiting in the lobby with our 3 yr old son.

- First night, keys not working again. Had to go down to front desk and got new one.

+ & -: For breakfast, I asked front desk (Xian) if we could have it at the restaurant (shore) instead of busy regency lounge since I normally get full breakfast at other Hyatt properties. I was told that the hotel does not honor Diamond benefit which was o.k (although I enjoyed full breakfast available at hyatt properties in Asas and Euroe in the past) so came back to my room but got a phone call with good news that I could have it at the restaurant which was very very nice of her. We went down to the restaurant for breakfast and were told that they were communicated only one person and asked me to go down stair to speak with front desk again. I did it and Xian called them again. After going back and forth, finally, we were able to get in but wasn't a great experience at all. We felt like we were bagging for something..

- After having a good time at the beach in the afternoon, came back. keys not working again. asked floor manager to help us because there was a long line at the front desk. It took 20 mins waiting in front of our room door. Finally, someone came and helped us. Took ~ 40 mins to finally get re-programmed keys.

Overall, most of staff was great but some was not. It does not seem quality of service is consistent. I understand it is a huge hotel but definitely there is an urgent need to put thing together to make things better.

Room Tip: Ask room 3656. Pretty good room. very spacious and great view toward the waikiki beach
See more room tips
Green Features: I am not sure if they are making extra effort compared to other hotels. Rooms was clean but does not seem they use any chemicals that impact in a negative way. I assume HI states should have pretty high standard to keep the islands clean.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are very sorry to read that you had such mixed services while visiting. We have shared your comments with the Front Desk supervisor with the suggestion that perhaps many of your requests could have been better served through the Regency Club Lounge managers. We will have this properly investigated by the team.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natchitoches, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This was the 3rd time my wife and I stayed here. The 1st time was tremendous, 2nd time a little hassle, the 3rd and final time.... was terrible. We reserved the deluxe ocean view as usual. We were given a partial ocean view, apparently they over booked. The kicker is that they kept adding charges to my card daily usually $1200. We had to go DAILY and get this corrected. The last day after we checked out and was out for a last minute activity. We decided to check our card, you guessed it they charged $3500 to it. I went back to the office and this time they "couldn't" get the funds released or explain why this happened. Made no apologies for any inconvenience Finally had them pay out a partial cash payment. We are very disappointed in the management and the way they made us feel for wanting an explanation. I can say that was the last time we visit them.

Room Tip: If you decide to visit, definitely stay in the diamond head tower. The EWA tower is rather loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doug W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,241 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#6 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,834 reviews
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa

Property: Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa
Address: 2424 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3233
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#25 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 1230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore the excitement of Oahu in one of Hawaii's most fashionable zip codes. Just steps from renowned warm waters and spectacular views of Waikiki Beach, the property features newly remodeled guest rooms, an award-winning spa, retail shopping, cultural activities and cuisine from celebrated chefs. Close to Honolulu's most visited attractions, including the USS Arizona Memorial at Pearl Harbor, Iolani Palace and Diamond Head Crater, the hotel is the ideal solution for those who want it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Priceline, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort And Spa
Hyatt Regency Honolulu
Hyatt Honolulu
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing