We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and service though rooms a bit dated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa
Ranked #21 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great location and service though rooms a bit dated”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

This was my second time staying at this hotel after a few years. I was there for meetings and stayed in the Diamond Head tower. Access to Waikiki beach is only steps away from across the hotel and the view as you're waiting to check in or as you come down the escalators to ground level where the blue of the sky and ocean draws is fantastic. The Shor restaurant has wonderful seafood and other options but if you want to get out to eat, there are plenty of restaurants all around in addition to all the shopping.

The hotel has a refreshing open-air ground level which not only has a cafe, juice bar, and the usual selection of stores but also hosts a farmers market of sorts every Tuesday and Thursday evening. On Thursday, there was a live band playing at around 5.30 PM. Some reviewers have noted the noise levels in the hotel because of these activities and the sheer number of guests but I actually liked the liveliness.

I arrived after a long flight at 10 am, well ahead of check-in time at 3 pm but Sean at the front desk made every effort to try to get me a room as soon as possible, which I appreciated. He informed that while my allocated room was still occupied and needed to be refreshed, there was another room that was immediately available. He was honest in disclosing that it might get a little busy if I were to choose this room because of its location near the elevators although recent repairs no longer made it as noisy. I chose to wait and he said he would call as soon as my room was available around 12.30 pm. Sure enough, by that time, my room was ready.

Wifi in the hotel is included in the daily resort fee but reception isn't very fast and patchy at best in the room, which can be a little frustrating if you're trying to work and need Internet access. Most of the hotel, including the rooms, could stand to do with a little modernization but if you don't mind the slightly dated look, this is still a good hotel with great service and location.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Elina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Aloha Elina N,

Thank you for sharing your review and for the compliments to our staff. We've shared you kind remarks with the front desk supervisor. We value your review and are making changes to the WiFi and rooms. We are currently remodeling the guestrooms and each new room is outfitted with improved WiFi. We hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future and let us know what you think about the changes.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,084 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,190
    1,842
    683
    221
    148
See reviews for
1,636
2,006
191
319
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,093)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

I stay here regularly for work. Hawaii is part of my district so I stay here as this is a preferred hotel for my parent company. It is pretty expensive if you aren't a frequent traveller. I've stayed in both towers and they are about the same. The rooms are big and the beds are very comfortable. I usually get an ocean view room because of my frequent stays, and I highly recommend it. Very beautiful views. Very friendly staff that will help you quickly. The bottom floor has high end shops and a very good coffee shop. Get the Pour Over Kona coffee at least once. It's expensive but will be smooth and delicious. All their restaurants are great, but expensive. Good breakfast and brunch place. They have a good pool and hot tub but moved their great poolside bar from outside to just inside. It's real trendy looking and not as fun as it used to be. They have live music Friday and Saturday, usually a small trio, who is usually pretty good.

I'm not a fan of Waikiki as I have stayed there about 18 times in the last 4 years but there is a lot to do. Right across the street is Waikiki Beach which is very crowded but beautiful. You can rent surfboards and take on the small surf, great for beginners. Lots and Lots of high end shopping is all along the ave there and it's very busy and crowded most times of the day and night. If you are into the night life, go during Halloween, they treat it like Mardi Gras with lots of people in costumes all around. Great high end food options are all around and some chain restaurants as well. A hidden gem is Hugo's Cellar across the street (opposite of the beach). It's a downstairs restaurant that serves medium quality steak and meat dishes. It's pretty good and reasonably priced, especially for Waikiki. On some nights they have a piano player/singer. It's dark and old school and perfect for something different.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room if you can afford it. Request to be away from elevator as it can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Aloha Brad S,

Thank you for reviewing your many stays with us. We are certain many guests will appreciate your suggestions. We look forward to serving you again and hope that you'll be able to experience the remodeled guestrooms on your next visit. We'd enjoy receiving your feedback.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for one night on the last night of our honeymoon. Our room was not ready as we got there early so they upgraded us to an ocean view for $50. The ocean view was definitely worth it since the hotel is directly across from the beach. The rooms were very clean, but very out dated. The walls are also very thin and you could hear someone talking clearly through the walls. Room service was pretty bad. I ordered a burger and it was so salty and tasted worse than McDonalds. For a $35 hamburger I expect more. The rest of the restaurants were pretty good, but over priced. The staff was friendly and courteous. I would stay there again if I went back to Oahu.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stargem12mh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Aloha stargem12mh,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are glad to read that you would stay with us again in the future. We are sorry about the In Room Dining and like the guestroom remodels we assure you that changes are underway to improve the experience for guests. Your comments regarding the food have also been shared with our director of Food and Beverage for follow up with the culinary team.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Hyatt is always on exceptional! we had ocean view rooms and included breakfast. It was amazing. The selection is of fresh juice and food! It was great.
I recommend this to everyone, we all need a vacation to enjoy life and why not be at a best place that they provide supreme service! I will defently return

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debmarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Aloha Debmarina,

Thank you for all the kind remarks. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and will definitely pass along your compliments to the team at SHOR.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, oh
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

Visited this Hyatt on our honeymoon and loved every minute of it. It's located on a beautiful beach even though it's in middle of downtown.
Fantastic customer service too. Wish we could spend more time at this location since everyone was so helpful.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amalia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Aloha Amalia F,

Thank you for the review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will visit us again in the future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

Flip Flop Workshop is a retail shop located within the Hyatt Regency Arcade. Excellent activity if you are feeling creative and want to make yourself a unique pair of flip flops. I made four different pairs to take home as gifts for my niece and daughter in laws ... Oh and I made a pair for myself too! Great fun and a good idea. Staff are helpful and patient.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Shebz1719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biggera Waters, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

we upgraded to executive club access but found the ameneties, food and coffee were really not worth the extra cost. However, our room had a great view of the beach and ocean and was way above the other buildings. We werent in the DIamond tower but still happy with postion. No sun into the room at all which we would have liked but heaps on the beach so again no biggy. Breakfast was usual buffet, nice with awful coffee. Pay for a capacinno and they would go and get it from the automatic expresso machine from the executive club lounge right next door. One great thing was how they let you take food in a container for later, saving you having to by lunch. We were overcharged greatly for room and executive access at end of stay but after much discussion this was reduced.Check in and check out does take a long time even if you are "express". the bus pick ups for booked tours is a bit dogdy as you wait out the side road and have no idea who you have to go with and the pick up drivers dont know who they ahve to get ether. some sort of sign or wrist stickers would be a better option to help ensure all get to go on tours and not miss the transport pick up. Tours were organised speedily and well though, helicopter ride around the island with no doors was awesome as was hiring a convertable mustang...both a must do

Room Tip: higher floors so you can see the beach..ocean view is only from the balcony, must upgrade to full be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pickledcactus4215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Aloha pickledcactus4215,

Thank you for sharing a review of your stay. We are sorry you were not more pleased with the Regency Club rooms and amenities and will definitely share your comments regarding the coffee. We hope that you also expressed your feelings while you were on property so the issue could be addressed at the time and staff could better assess what it was about the beverage that you did not like. Your comments will also be shared with the tour desk services team. While the tours are operated by independent companies your recommendations will be helpful for the operators.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,172 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
3,779 reviews
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa

Property: Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa
Address: 2424 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3233
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#25 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 1230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore the excitement of Oahu in one of Hawaii's most fashionable zip codes. Just steps from renowned warm waters and spectacular views of Waikiki Beach, the property features newly remodeled guest rooms, an award-winning spa, retail shopping, cultural activities and cuisine from celebrated chefs. Close to Honolulu's most visited attractions, including the USS Arizona Memorial at Pearl Harbor, Iolani Palace and Diamond Head Crater, the hotel is the ideal solution for those who want it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TravelUp, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort And Spa
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Hyatt Regency Honolulu
Hyatt Honolulu
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing