We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Makai Suite, older BnB, good location, rather quiet, too economical host concerning food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Diamond Head Bed And Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Honolulu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Diamond Head Bed And Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 7 Honolulu B&B and Inns
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
222 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Makai Suite, older BnB, good location, rather quiet, too economical host concerning food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

First of all, the location of this B&B is very convenient. You can walk within fifteen minutes to Kuhio Beach Park at Waikiki Beach. A very nice place to swim. Within a short walk you are in the midst of the streets of Waikiki. Furthermore the room was spacious and it was quiet. In the morning you will awake to the sound of lot of birds. It is great to be so close to town and feel like to be in the countryside. The BnB is an older property and has a nice large garden. The hosts are friendly. The breakfast starts usually with lots of fruit, followed by some other food. What I was annoyed about was at breakfast one morning. Usually there was a little bowl with butter. One morning the butter was one hard yellow piece. The host explained that mistakenly she had melted the butter but froze it again to serve. That looked quiet disgusting and I wouldn’t dare to serve such butter even to friends. We also were served the last pieces of bread left. According to host: at the moment there is no more. That was a pity.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pika_candid_reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    14
    5
    5
    3
See reviews for
10
35
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Joanne is a lovely hostess who immediately impresses with her smile and gentle sense of humor. We arrived fairly late and were delighted when we found cold water and beer in the fridge in our room to help us overcome the 10 hour flight from Newark.

Waking up to singing birds, was followed by excellent breakfasts; a huge variety of fresh fruit, different kinds of scones, Portuguese Bread and eggs, sausages and mushrooms on another morning were delicious and filling.

The location - a 15 minute walk to the start of the Waikiki beach scene, close to restaurants, to Diamond Head is a real bonus.

After returning from dinner, we were joined by Joanne and her son (and we met one of her daughters) on the back lanai where we talked, laughed and enjoyed their company.

A great place to stay in Honolulu and a great introduction to Hawaii. Thanks Joanne for your hospitality.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms were quiet and the breeze was great.
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank Blackdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

A visit to Diamond Head Bed and Breakfast is like a visit with your favorite aunt. Not everything is exactly as you would like, but the love and care more than compensate. Some quirks we enjoyed were discovering an oil painting hanging inside our closet, a giant bed, formerly owned by a real live princess, and the serenade of many birds each morning.

The very quiet 'hood continues to excude a sense of calm. This includes the B&B. All rooms were packed with Joanne's own paintings and carvings. Almost a museum! The beach, zoo, aquarium, and parks are in walking distance. The breakfasts were first-rate, with fresh fruit, eggs, and yogurt.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Malcolm A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Don’t ruin your Hawaii trip by staying at Diamond Head Bed and Breakfast. Here are a few things we experienced:
1. roaches in our room
2. two big dogs growling at us when coming in after dinner – that wouldn’t let us get to our room
3. no person in charge when coming in at night
4. room wasn’t clean when arriving
5. hoarder house that wasn’t clean
6. website pictures were unrepresentative
7. junk cars and broken furniture piled in back yard next to exit gate
8. poor parking
9. junk piled at end of dining table
10. no air-conditioning
11. kitchen wasn’t clean enough for bed and breakfast
12. house unlocked and rooms didn’t have locks

Room Tip: don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Artboecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 413 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

Diamond Head b&b is unusual. It's a comfortable older home in the quiet upscale Diamond Head neighborhood. The owner Joanne and her live-in housekeeper Sumiko are 2 kind seniors who continue to tackle the challenge of running a b&b.

There aren't any curtains on any of the windows, but the trees and mature gardens outside the windows provide privacy in your room. You won't be given any keys to the house nor to your room. The ladies wait up at night and lock up the house after the last guest has returned. (So if you are planning to stay out past midnight, you are keeping them awake.) No problem for us, since we like to go to bed by 11:00pm.

When you leave your room to sight-see, it is unlocked. Keep in mind there are only a total of 3 guest rooms, and you are in a private home.

My advice: If you need help with your luggage, or you need your towels to smell like bleach, you should stay in one of the major expensive chain hotels in Waikiki. But if you have your own car, and are an independent traveler, and want to avoid sleeping in noisy, touristy, expensive Waikiki, then Diamond Head b&b is the place for you.

Two senior ladies cannot help you with your luggage, so you will have to carry it upstairs if your room is upstairs, and it has been many a year since they have been out partying, so if you want night-life, you should do your own research before you arrive at this b&b.

We had the best room, in my opinion. The Makai room is upstairs, and it has the best view from the large lanai...a view of the lights of Waikiki at night. The room has a comfortable Queen bed and also a double bed, and an ensuite bathroom with shower. The shower had plenty of water pressure and enough hot water. The lanai also has a table and 2 chairs, so I recommend you get some wine and a dinner to go, and eat a sunset dinner on the lanai! There were also 2 love-seat-sized outdoor sofas on our lanai.

The Makai room rents for anywhere between $130 and $160, not including taxes. We paid $130 plus taxes, so I'm pretty sure the Makai room is one of the best deals for romance on a budget on the island of Oahu!

We also saw Princess Ruth's room, with a huge bed. It's a lovely room, with a view of Diamond Head. But in our opinion, the Makai room has the better view, which is the view of Waikiki (romantic view at night.)

As with most older houses in damp climates, it's a little musty here and there. But the bed linens are very clean.

Don't scare away the 2 cute green geckos, as they won't bother you, and guess what geckos eat? They eat insects, they eat the mosquitoes etc. So we didn't see any mosquitoes nor spiders during our stay at Diamond Head b&b! So please respect the geckos. Someone mentioned noisy geckos in a previous review, but there wasn't any noise from geckos during our stay. There was plenty of birdsong in the morning though, so you will find yourself waking up with the birds. (-:

Other reviewers have mentioned clutter in the house. Yes there is some clutter. But our room was neat, and no problems with clutter in our room. It's a spacious and comfortable room.

BREAKFAST:
Breakfast was ok. Every morning there was ripe fruit, which usually included sweet papaya, and sometimes starfruit or apple bananas, or other fruits. In addition there was a different item each morning. One morning there were poached eggs; another morning there were sausages and fried plantain; one morning cereal and cheeses. Coffee was very good, and the tea selection was nice. Joanne sits and chats with guests during the communal breakfast, which was interesting and sociable. We enjoyed that. While the breakfast wasn't outstanding nor gourmet, it was tasty and homey, and a good value for the price you are paying for your room. Breakfast is between 7:30 and 9:00, but Joanne said if we wanted to sleep in, she could accommodate with a late breakfast. (We ended up always eating by 9:00.) They can also give you an early breakfast to take with you if you have an early flight.

Ask Joanne to show you how to take the shortcut through her property and out the back gate...you can walk to Diamond Head Market & Grill and get a great fish dinner to go, and eat it on your lanai.

There was a frig in our room stocked with water and complimentary sodas every day! I think there were even a coupla beers in there, as my husband enjoyed one.

The ladies have an interesting recycling plan. A cabinet in the bathroom has shampoos and other items left behind by other guests, and you are free to use anything you need. One guest left Calamine lotion. There is also a shampoo and conditioner dispenser in the shower. Free bars of soap.

Cash only, no credit cards. You need to mail in a check with 1 night's fee as a deposit in advance.

We didn't try to walk to Waikiki from Diamond Head b&b, as it would have taken us over 20 minutes, and I have some foot issues. Instead we drove and parked near Waikiki, then walked from there. Sometimes there was parking near the zoo after the zoo was closed. This helped.

I have tried to include all the details that I didn't know when I booked Diamond Head b&b. We enjoyed our stay. It's not the place for everyone, but for some of you, it will be just the right choice. Be kind to Joanne and Sumiko, as I know they will be kind to you. Keep in mind that one of the ladies is a little hard of hearing. I'm glad to answer questions if there is something I forgot to mention.

I will have some photos to add to this review as soon as my husband helps me load them onto my computer.

Room Tip: The makai room has a lanai with a romantic view of the lights of Waikiki and the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
28 Thank Melissa5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013 via mobile

Joanne and Sumiko are delightful and the historic home and upscale neighborhood are amazing. Close to everything, excellent breakfasts, musical birdsong, bountiful trade winds, great views and easy street parking. Vastly better than a sterile hotel. We won't stay anywhere else in Honolulu. The price is right and the rooms are clean and spacious. Very highly recommended.

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
10 Thank PSato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owatonna, Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

right after Christmas 2012. Loved the room (grandpa's room), the location and the food. Joanne and Sumuki were wonderful and very helpful. Wish we would have stayed here a few more nights rather than the hotels downtown. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Todd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#10 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,097 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,726 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Manoa Valley Inn
#3 of 7 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond Head Bed And Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Head Bed And Breakfast

Property: Diamond Head Bed And Breakfast
Address: 3240 Noela Dr, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-4516
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Diamond Head b&b
Diamond Head Bed And Hotel Honolulu
Diamond Head Bed And Breakfast Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing