We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place away from tourists”

Ala Moana Beach Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$82.74*
and up
Two HR Group Surf Lesson: Three Students Per Instructor at Ala Moana
More Info
US$108.00*
and up
Private Stand Up Paddle Boarding Lesson at Ala Moana Beach Park
More Info
US$79.98*
and up
Surf lesson at Ala Moana Beach
Ranked #29 of 328 things to do in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This gentle, protected beach has coarse sand and is ideal for swimming and water play.
Plano, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place away from tourists”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We learned about the Ala Moana Beach Park from a person at the pool. This beach is as nice or nicer than Waikiki and we had a great time.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lynn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,593 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    741
    621
    187
    30
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
926 reviews
396 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
“Okay Park”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Ala Moana park is a gathering lace for locals to swim and play sports. A lot of homeless people hang around the area. However at night they are required to vacate the area but I would not walk through the park at night. We have taken surfing lessons in the area and it has good surf for beginners. Locals fish off the pier. The park is across the street from Ala Moana Shopping center. The city bus goes to this area.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank haileythegolden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Mississippi
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Easy access, parking and swimming but not very pretty”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

We were looking for a beach that was easy to get to after we hiked Diamond Head, and this one fit the bill. There are hardly any waves, and the sand beach is full of small rocks. My kids (6 and 10) enjoyed splashing around in the water and laying in the sand. But it's not a very pretty beach, and I like the waves, so it wasn't one of my favorites. There also was a fair amount of trash around.

However, there is plenty of parking. We were able to show up late morning (around 11) and park close (which you just can't do at some of the other beaches!). There are also bathrooms and showers.

Thus beach us popular with locals and families. (I was wishing we'd made the trek up to Kaiula instead.)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MellyL04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern california
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Its worth a visit, but should not be the only beach you visit”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This beach is an alternative for wedding photo's because you can park easily. (depending on when you go) There are nice areas, but you will find some sketchy encampments here.

My preference is Fort DeRussy, if your staying downtown. (its an easy walk) Or out by the aquarium, this was les populated with good beach front.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MARK H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great for swimming and kids!”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Great beach for kids and swimming. The beach is nice and long and the water is pretty calm due to an outlying reef. This beach is great for stand up paddle boarding and you can rent them from Hawaii Beach TIme (808-585-1474) located in front of the tennis courts. Public showers and washrooms as well as lots of free parking. Great place to bring bbq stuff or a picnic. Many people also get wedding photos taken here! It gets deep pretty fast so keep an extra close eye on younger ones.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ala Moana Beach Park also viewed

 

Been to Ala Moana Beach Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing