We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
Ranked #21 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney - Winmalee
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing Hotel”
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel was amazing,I'm so glade we ended up going with this one.

The location is great it is only a minutes walk to the strip with all the restaurants and the beach,and the bus stop is also right there too.

The Hotel may not be on the beach line, but it doesn't need to be as it feels so close.

Would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emperorkevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreline H, Front Office Manager at Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Aloha Kevin G!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Shoreline during your recent vacation. We're happy that the hotels centralized location worked well for you and the activities that you had during your stay being that we are just a stones throw away from the beach and Waikiki’s shops and restaurants. We hope to see you again the next time you visit O’ahu.

Mahalo,
Daniel Floren
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    703
    571
    156
    46
    15
See reviews for
206
815
164
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
58 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Quick review:
We were on the 9th floor, in a very small queen bed room facing North.

Pros:
- Good price/newly updated hotel
- Staff is very friendly and made our day more than once (Alex and Aly both were great)
- Location - right in the middle of things, 5-10min walk to beach
- Free fast internet in the room (read reports of slow speeds, we watched netflix, so ours was fast)
- Balcony (only 1 chair though)
- Fridge, microwave and free beach towels at front desk to use

Cons:
- Pool is not good, it is tiny, cold and next to some industrial sized fans on the room, not sure why others are saying it was nice. We sat there for about 10mins one day.
- Other tourists smoking on the balcony's, forces you to close your door
- Tiny room, asked about an upgrade, they said it would be $25 a night extra, we decided to rent a car for 2 days instead ($26 for valet parking...) I think the bigger rooms would be totally worth it.
- No ventilation in the bathroom - means that your swimsuits, towels, etc will never get dry

Overall:
I would stay here again, but only in a bigger king sized room, we didn't have much issue with street noise, I think those complaints always come from people who live in the suburbs and then stay in a downtown area hotel. They are doing construction down the street that involved some late night 'beeping' that was mildly annoying. The walk to the beach is not bad at all, just a few blocks, but it is far enough that you wouldn't want to go back and forth.
I wouldn't recommend this hotel for families due to the walk to the beach and the pool, but for couples it was perfect.

Tips - McDonald's is just behind the hotel, good for a quick breakfast, it was $40 each way for our taxi, take advantage of all the happy hour food/drink deals down in the beachwalk area (Yard House, Cheeseburgerland, PF Changs) will save you some $ and is only a block away.

Room Tip: Likely higher is better, plus pay for the extra size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wrldtvler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Aloha! We are from Australia and recently stayed here. I would recommend this place to everyone. It is very affordable, clean & modern. Also the staff are fantastic and so friendly. We got along with everyone that works there including Pete, Alex and Christi. We loved this place! Next time I am in town I will be staying here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MC0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

The Shoreline Waikiki is well located so it was a very handy place to stay. We were never more than a 5 to 10 minute walk from any place in Waikiki. We were also very close to several routes of The Bus. The front desk staff were great and answered any question we came up with. The room is on the smaller side but it didn't matter to us as we like being out and about. The free coffee & tea in the lobby was a lovely perk. The biggest perk was the mini fridge & microwave. We only ate in restaurants if we felt like it and could store leftovers in our fridge for later. The pool on the rooftop was nice as well. A computer was available in the lobby, the first 15 or 20 minutes were free and after that there was a fee. You could use it everyday free provided you didn't go over the time limit. Their wi-fi was good as well.

The not so great part, being woken up every day around 5:30am to the beeping of trucks backing up. I've stayed in Waikiki before and know that it's never perfectly silent but this was ridiculous. After the trucks between 5:30 and 6:30, came the tour buses and people waiting for tour buses 6:30-8:00. Luckily I brought ear plugs so after the first two early morning, I wised up so didn't bother to request a room change.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kedgwick New brunswick canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We stayed at the Shoreline hotel for 7 days from 28 Déc 2013 to 4 Jan 2014 ,
the rooms are very nice and clean, you have everything you need in your rooms.
The staff, and front desk are very Nice and helpful, à special thank's to Alex from front desk he was very Nice to us.
This hotel is very close to the beach, to main street, and all the shopping.
Just go and have fun it is a great place to stay.

if we go back to Waikiki we will stay at Shoreline again

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pitre R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Price – $151 total per night.
Cleanliness - excellent.
Quietness - excellent.
Comfort - excellent.
Location - excellent; very short walk to Waikiki attractions.
Parking – none that we're aware of, but wouldn't recommend driving in the area.
Friendliness - very good.
Classiness – very good.
Room Size – fine.
Room included - tv; coffee making; bath/shower.
Facilities included – obliging left luggage.
Nice touch – free wifi & easy boarding pass printing.
What’s needed – bit more character perhaps, but really it's very good.
Would stay here again if the price is right.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dfkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I booked this hotel for 4 nights after reading reviews on here. Was happy to see upon arrival that it was nice inside, and our room was good. Our view sucked, but I purposely picked a room that didn't have a view to save money, so it was fine. Our A/C broke the first night we arrived and they fixed it immediately after we called the front desk, so things worked out great. There's a small pool on the roof which was nice to visit, but we spent the bulk of our stay here at Waikiki beach and other Oahu attractions so we didn't use the pool much. Adequate place to stay and it was clean. In a good location - easy walk to the beach. Also, they gave us towels to use at the beach. I would stay here again and I'd recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geologygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#10 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#12 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,220 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Hotel Renew
Hotel Renew
#16 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,245 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,251 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#25 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shoreline Hotel Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shoreline Hotel Waikiki

Property: Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
Address: 342 Seaside Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2527 (Formerly Seaside Hotel )
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#19 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#28 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shoreline Hotel Waikiki 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a destination that’s famous for being popular, the Shoreline is comfortable in its own skin. The hotel — 135 rooms over 14 floors — has a scale absent from most Waikiki Resorts, and the 1970s design creates a contemporary feel. Accommodations are bright and well‑appointed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Shoreline Hotel Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing