We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service and great location ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
Ranked #24 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
99 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great service and great location ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Small boutique hotel between the two main drags in Waikiki. It's about a 4 to 5 minute walk to Waikiki beach, rooms have ac (even though this is a hotel, condos in Hawaii do not always have ac, we were thrilled to have a cool room after seventeen days traveling other islands and staying in places without ac). We were in a quiet, clean room, our bed was very comfortable. We had trouble getting to the hotel because the city had closed off the main road for a street party. The front desk staff was patient and kind to help guide me in a different way(my GPS was not cooperating ) when we arrived they were so nice to us they upgraded our room and made us feel very welcomed after a frustrating drive in. The parking attendant was waiting on us when we arrived and he quickly helped us get our luggage out and to our room, great service everywhere!) You want be disappointed, great price for the area. You can walk to great restaurants and shopping in minutes. If you want to drive to Pearl Harbor and to the north shore, you will need a car.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreline H, Front Office Manager at Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Aloha pglecher,

Thank you for your kind review. I understand that driving into Waikiki can be difficult at times and I am glad to hear that my staff was able to give you an alternative route getting to our hotel during the road closures. I am happy to read that after a rocky start your vacation was a memorable one. I hope to see you folks during your next Hawaiian vacation.

Daniel Floren
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    658
    561
    152
    46
    15
See reviews for
190
784
159
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

We had read mostly good things about this hotel, but some very bad ones.We had a bad experience and would not stay here again.We had booked through Expedia, which seemed to make our reservation inaccessible to Alex, the desk clerk. He had rooms, but would not assign us to one. We waited in their tiny lobby for two hours until a manager came, who assigned us a room. He would not look us in the eyes; he was obviously ashamed of their performance.

The room was a queen instead of the king which we had reserved, but we were beyond caring by then. The room was well equipped, with everything we expected, but after the bad introduction, we were glad to take the plane to Maui and get on with the rest of our visit to Hawaii.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jtp4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreline H, Front Office Manager at Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Aloha jtp4,
Mahalo for submitting your review. While it was unfortunate to learn that your party never actually booked a third reservation with your two original bookings – which would explain why there was no third room for you to check in to – we were very happy we could assist you in creating a third reservation to accommodate your unexpected needs! We’re delighted to hear our manager came in from home to personally assist you with this situation! Our staff loves going the extra mile for our guests and we are certainly proud of his performance in this case – thank you for mentioning it. It’s also great to hear you found the rooms to be well equipped.
Once again, mahalo for submitting your review. We wish you fun and the best of luck on planning out your next trip!

Daniel Floren
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

All though rooms are small, they are up to date and have a great view from the roof. Did I mention a roof top pool? The best part of staying there is the AMAZING staff. So friendly, accommodating and had great advice to give. By day 10 they were more like friends than staff members.

Room Tip: If your a couple get a queen bed room, you'll save on cost and the twins are small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kayla J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreline H, Front Office Manager at Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Aloha Kayla,

It is very nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Shoreline Hotel Waikiki. From the views from our rooftop pool to our “AMAZING” staff, I’m happy that everything we offered helped to make your Hawaiian vacation a memorable one.

Daniel Floren
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Brunswick
Level Contributor
98 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

We were exceptionally pleased with our stay here. In fact, it was much nicer than I had expected. It's central location in Waikiki is great. Lots of shopping a is stones throw away. Our room and our bed were very comfortable. The front desk staff were very helpful.

Room Tip: Ours was a room with a king size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelchick05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreline H, Front Office Manager at Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Aloha travelchick05,

I am very happy to see that your stay here with us at the Shoreline was an enjoyable one. Our centralized location and helpful front desk hosts are just a few of the many reasons people choose to stay with us. We hope to see you again soon.

Daniel Floren
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
109 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

I would give this hotel a 3.5 rating for a few reasons: Small rooms, photos in website can be deceiving, and I heard that quite a bit from other customers while we were there. Location is fair, walking distance to main attractions in Waikiki. Customer service was good, attentive, but nothing over the normal for a tourist-oriented place like Waikiki. I don't know, I guess I was expecting more from this place based on the pics, and other reviews I had seen, and let it be clear I'm not a picky person at all.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlosVent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreline H, Front Office Manager at Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Aloha CarlosVent,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. I am glad to see that you found our Front Desk team to be good and attentive. While it is unfortunate that we did not exceed your expectations, I am please you seemed to overall enjoy your stay.

Once again, Mahalo for your review!

Daniel Floren
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
185 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

This could have been a problem. Our travel agent booked us in a standard room. We checked in to discover that we were put in a small room with a double bed. I asked for a room change, and luckily got one a half hour later. We were given a nice room, a king bed, a mini fridge, a microwave, a big closet, a good enough bathroom. Whew! The hotel provides beach towels, and is steps away from a reasonable coffee shop for breakfast. Near the beach, lots of shopping, and all the action, the room is quiet.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank CamilleNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreline H, Front Office Manager at Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Aloha CamilleNewYorkCity,

Thank you for review! Our staff and I are delighted that we were able to accommodate you during your vacation. It seems that the two of you used the Shorelines centralized location to your advantage and were out and about enjoying the many sights and sounds that Hawaii has to offer. We hope to see you folks again on the time next around!

Daniel Floren
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

I stayed here for about 10 days, my partner almost 3 weeks, and got to say it was pretty enjoyable. Rates we paid were a little high a) because it was Christmas/New Year and b) because we booked pretty late. Admittedly, once past NYE, the rate dropped significantly and made it much more reasonable. Hotel is only a couple of blocks from Waikiki, so terrific location - that is, you are close enough to walk down, but also not right in the centre of it! For those looking for a great pool with bar atmosphere, this is not your place. The pool is on the roof, very small and only about 7 lounge chairs with NO bar. For those who want to go to the beach and frequent the bars on the beach (i.e. us!) this is a great place to stay. All of the staff were extremely helpful and were kind enough to let us stay for an extreme late check out seeing as one of our flights only left at midnight (admittedly the hotel wasn't full by this stage, but they still didn't have to to this). Rooms were average size, but clean. Showers were great - good pressure and nice and hot! As always, if you plan to rent a car, parking charge is $26/night. This is definitely a great alternative if you want to be close to the action, not necessarily in it, and don't want to pay extortionate nightly rates… Truth is, you're in Hawaii, so likely not spending that much in the room to warrant the extortionate rates. So Shoreline is a great choice!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Honey_Blax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreline H, Front Office Manager at Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Aloha Honey_Blax,

We are very happy that you enjoyed your Christmas/New Years Eve holiday with us. Being that we are in a centralized location we can see that you used this to your advantage during your vacation. We'll will definitely pass on your very kind words to our dedicated staff. Once again, we are thrill you enjoyed your time in Hawaii and even more grateful that the Shoreline could be a part of that!

Mahalo,
Daniel Floren
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#9 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#13 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,174 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#23 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Hotel Renew
Hotel Renew
#16 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,233 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,189 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shoreline Hotel Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shoreline Hotel Waikiki

Property: Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
Address: 342 Seaside Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2527 (Formerly Seaside Hotel )
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#19 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#28 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shoreline Hotel Waikiki 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a destination that’s famous for being popular, the Shoreline is comfortable in its own skin. The hotel — 135 rooms over 14 floors — has a scale absent from most Waikiki Resorts, and the 1970s design creates a contemporary feel. Accommodations are bright and well‑appointed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotelopia, TravelUp, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Shoreline Hotel Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing