We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, Affordable, Stylish”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
Ranked #18 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I was very pleasantly surprised by this hotel. I arrived late due to a delayed flight.... I was probably the last guest to check in that day about midnight, and the hotel clerk met me at the door and was expecting me! The check in and welcome could not have been better. The lobby has been freshly done with some beautiful lighting and decor, as have the rooms. I was happy and impressed by the quality of the bed and the size of the room.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a prime location but traveling on a tight budget. It's located right next to the best hotels but for a fraction of the price.

The hotel staff were immensely friendly and helpful.... a real change from the giant neighboring hotels whose staff are always overwhelmed by crowds of people. The only cons to this hotel are the limited views... mine looked into an adjacent apartment building, and the lack of an on-site restaurant.

If you want a nice affordable place this is a great option.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MenOnVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreline H, Front Office Manager at Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Aloha MenOnVacation,
Thank you for your detailed review of our hotel. Friendly, Affordable, and Stylish are words that are routinely used when describing the Shoreline Hotel Waikiki. We are thrilled that our services exceeded your expectations during your stay. We hope your travels bring you back to Waikiki in the future so that we can welcome you back to our hotel again.
Mahalo,
Daniel Floren
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,715)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,235 - 1,241 of 1,715 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

I stayed at the Shoreline Hotel in Waikiki for 2 nights in January, travelling from Australia. My flight arrived at 6am local time and despite not being able to guarantee early check in, as is normal for most hotels, the staff were very accommodating and had my room ready as soon as I arrived. I was also offered a complimentary bottle of red or white wine, or 2 bottles of water. I had booked a City View King Room for just myself as I was travelling alone however it is definitely big enough for two people. The free wifi was also a bonus! The room was spotless as well as the bathroom. The safe was also very secure to hold items such as passports, money and jewellery. The hotel also offered complimentary coffee, tea and water to their guests. Guest services also gave guests a beach pack for when they went to the beach. I was also very impressed with the staff who always had a smile on their face and offered great service. I recommend this hotel to families and couples looking for an inexpensive, clean and modern hotel to stay in whilst in Waikiki. It is located one block back from Kalakaua Ave (The main shopping strip of Waikiki), and from Waikiki Beach.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank presst224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreline H, Front Office Manager at Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Aloha presst224 and a huge Mahalo! For your 5 star review!
Thank you for taking time out of your day to write your review. We’re thrilled that our Front Desk Hosts were able to accommodate you with an early check in and that our selection of wines for our Joy of Life Club members was to your liking. Make sure when staying at any JDV hotel to book directly and add your JOLC membership number so that you can enjoy this complimentary amenity. It’s pleasing to know that our room features, complimentary amenities, and Front Desk Hosts were able to exceed your expectations. We hope to see you again!
Mahalo,
Daniel Floren
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed at the Shoreline for 3 nights and it was fantastic! Location was good. Susan Makio and her staff were friendly and welcoming. The lobby has complementary coffee, tea, fruits and an assortment of cold drinks. I would stay there again and definitely recommend to friends.Close walking distance to the beach and the Cheesecake Factory. :-)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marlene254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreline H, Front Office Manager at Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Aloha Marlene254,
Thank you for choosing the Shoreline Hotel Waikiki as your home away from home. We are glad you found Susan and the rest of our Front Desk Host Staff friendly and welcoming, as they all love accommodating our guests all the while showing their unique “Aloha Spirit.” Please share your experience with your friends and family and the next time in Waikiki please choose to stay with us again.
Mahalo,
Daniel Floren
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel after reading rave reviews from previous travellers. Everything said was spot on. The location was fantastic! Two min walk to trolley depot from which to travel to other destinations, from bus stops and best of all, my fave find (Marukame Udon). I loved everything about this hotel and it was perfect for my needs. I will definitely stay at Shoreline in the future. The hotel restaurant is currently being renovated but there are a few breakfast places close by (e.g. Seaside Bar & Grill, IHop, McDonalds) if you need an early start.

Note this place is not for those who are accustomed to five star hotels.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rmyat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreline H, Front Office Manager at Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Aloha rmyat,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent travels. We are thrilled knowing that the hotels centralized location, complimentary amenities, and room features fit your needs during your stay. In the future please contact the hotel directly to secure our best available rate. Thank you for writing your review and we hope to see you soon.
Mahalo,
Daniel Floren
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We visited this hotel and stayed in room 1022 for more than a week. It was wonderful!!!
Beautifully hotel with clean rooms. Housekeeping was included every day :)
A short distance to the main street with all the designer stores. Very close walking distance to the beach. The hotel had even a pool on the roof.

Fruit, coffee, tea & water drinks included at the lobby.
Free Wifi was included, you could also use the computer at the lobby free of charge in 20 minutes.

The hotel had a great staff who were helpful, kind and provided a good service with everything you ask =) We loved this hotel and will definitely visit it again.

Very good price for a great hotel

Greetings from Sweden :)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RedRanch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreline H, Front Office Manager at Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Aloha RedRanch,
Thank you for your 5 star review on Tripadvisor! We are extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We take great pride when our staff as a whole is complimented on their hard work and dedication. Please do tell your friends and family of the great things the Shoreline Hotel Waikiki has to offer and we hope to be able to serve you again.
Mahalo,
Daniel Floren
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stayed at the Shoreline for 4 nights on our first trip to Honolulu. It was a convenient location with friendly staff. We loved the complimentary tea, coffee, apples and ice cold drinks available in the lobby, especially after a long day out and about. We booked the Partial Ocean View Room which was a reasonably sized room but it overlooked a car park. You had to step out onto the balcony to see a glimmer of water to the right. The rooms were nicely renovated with a microwave, bar fridge and coffee machine. The room and lobby wifi was very handy and the only thing that we would add is a coin-op washing machine and clothes dryer. We would definately stay here again on our next visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chriki21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreline H, Front Office Manager at Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Aloha chriki21,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Shoreline Hotel Waikiki. It was certainly our pleasure to have accommodated you and yours during your 4 nights on O’ahu. We appreciate all comments and use them as a way to improve our guest services for our guests so that each and every one of them leaves with a lasting impression. I’m glad that the hotels location, complimentary amenities, and friendly staff made your stay that much more comfortable. Be sure to pay us a visit the next time you plan a Hawaiian vacation.
Mahalo,
Daniel Floren
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Kia Ora (Greetings) from Aotearoa New Zealand. We spent our last 2 nights in Hawaii at The Shoreline, and unseasoned travellers as we are, found this a perfect place. On arrival the porter Sonny was helpful and friendly caring well with our luggage. Unfortunately the little outside lift for people with disabilities was not working. However the steps to the hotel were wide and shallow with sturdy handrails so I was able to get up with minimal difficulty and I could use my walking frame from there.
On arrival at the reception the two lovely ladies there made us very welcome and seeing I had a mobility issue changed our room to a disability unit. We had close relatives also staying and the ladies advised us which room they were in - not far from us on the 13th floor. These ladies were on the desk both evenings and were helpful and interested in our activities also providing directions and helpful hints for our sightseeing.
The room was spacious and well set out, the bathroom had a 'wet floor' shower with a folding seat attached to the wall, rails where needed and everything was spotlessly clean. The little balcony had beautiful views of the sea and the city and we enjoyed sitting out there just looking at the ever changing scenery. There was a slight ridge (over which I had to step very carefully)where the sliding doors led out to the balcony and only 1 chair, but my walking frame had a seat on it was no problem. Our wakeup call the next morning was on time and courteous. The room was quiet and the air conditioning unit appreciated.
The other couple also commented on the spotless state of their room, and although they didn't have a sea view enjoyed their city skyline.
The foyer was spacious and welcoming. We did not use the fitness centre or swimming pool, so cannot comment on that. Being a plain tea drinker I did miss my tea bags thought there were plenty of herbal teas available in the foyer.
The hotel was close to all manner of restaurants, and shops from high fashion to convenience stores with a bustling night life.
We would highly recommend this hotel for the traveller looking for a good price, clean rooms and friendly staff. We are just 'ordinary Kiwis (New Zealanders) living on a limited budget and as we said in our title, this was the perfect place to end our holiday of a lifetime

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OmaSmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreline H, Front Office Manager at Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Kia Ora from Hawaii OmaSmurf!
We here at the Shoreline Hotel Waikiki are absolutely thrilled that we were able to provide you with the perfect place to end your holiday of a lifetime. Our Front Desk Hosts love to accommodate our guests’ requests to ensure a comfortable stay. We really appreciate your detailed review regarding the ADA room that you stayed in as we were more than happy to give you a room that fit your personal needs. Once again thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to write this 5 star review.

Daniel Floren,
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#12 of 84 in Honolulu
2,608 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,215 reviews
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#11 of 84 in Honolulu
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Shore Waikiki
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
1,715 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#25 of 84 in Honolulu
651 reviews
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shoreline Hotel Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shoreline Hotel Waikiki

Address: 342 Seaside Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2527 (Formerly Seaside Hotel )
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#19 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: £128 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shoreline Hotel Waikiki 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a destination that’s famous for being popular, the Shoreline is comfortable in its own skin. The hotel — 135 rooms over 14 floors — has a scale absent from most Waikiki Resorts, and the 1970s design creates a contemporary feel. Accommodations are bright and well‑appointed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Shoreline Hotel Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing