We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LOOK NO FURTHER”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
Ranked #21 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“LOOK NO FURTHER”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

If you are not looking for a resort hotel, but looking for a hotel in a great central location, with nice, clean rooms and efficient service, look no further than the Shoreline. We had seven nights here in May 2014 and really enjoyed staying there. It is a cute little hotel, modernized and very comfortable. The bed and pillows were great and I am very fussy! We had a view of the disgusting building next door, and a tiny peep of the sea! Honestly, given the quality of the hotel, the cost, and the little time we spent in our room, it was not a big deal. Why would you pay for a resort hotel and view when it appears you can use the facilities of the pools on the beach anyway during the day. If we ever return to Waikiki, we will be staying at the Shoreline again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Megan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreline H, Front Office Manager at Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Aloha Megan F
Thank you for your 4 star review. We are thrilled knowing we exceeded your expectations and were able to provide a memorable stay. While it is true we are not a bigger resort our hotel more than makes up for it with our centralized location, complimentary amenities, and competitive room rates. Not to mention our hotel does not charge any “resort fees” that bigger hotels charge. While it is unfortunate that the view from your room was not to your liking our city view accommodations face the surrounding areas of where this building is placed. For your next trip please consider booking one of our partial ocean view rooms. Thank you once again for your kind words we hope to be able to accommodate you once again.
Mahalo,
Daniel Floren,
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    696
    571
    156
    46
    15
See reviews for
205
810
163
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Longmeadow, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
179 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

A very nice place to begin our Hawaiian vacation. We did not have a car and the location proved to be just fine. We were able to walk to the beach, to a number of excellent restaurants, and was accessible to trolleys or buses. The room was clean and well appointed. There was a great chalkboard welcoming newlyweds and teaching us non-Hawaiians some Hawaiian terminology - a nice homey touch. The front desk staff was great; very pleasant and very knowledgeable. A great first choice of hotel for our trip ...

Room Tip: We chose a high level room and we were able to see the mountains from one direction on our porch and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreline H, Front Office Manager at Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Aloha Deb G,
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your review. Yes I do agree that while staying in Waikiki a car is not needed being that everything is in walking distance from our hotel. Kudos to you for being a savvy traveler. We are delighted that you found our room clean and well-appointed and honored by your compliment regarding our Front Desk Hosts. Once again thank you for taking the time out of your day to write your review. Please do see again sooner rather than later.
Mahalo,
Daniel Floren
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here for five nights in April - May 2014. I was really impressed by the location of the hotel for the price, it was a really short walk to Waikiki beach and the main shopping/dining area. The decor in the room and lobby is nice and it feels really clean and modern. I think it is stretching it to call the view we had a 'city view' as it is more a view of the apartment next door but it didn't really bother us due to the view from the beach a short walk away.
I really enjoyed the quirky touches in the hotel, like the pineapple ice-tea, flavoured water and pink lemonade available in the lobby and the chalkboard with facts and information about the area. The staff were all really friendly and had some good recommendations on places to visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MeganJones88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreline H, Front Office Manager at Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Aloha MeganJones88,
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. We are thrilled that the location and price point of our hotel fit your budget and that our staff was able to accommodate you well. The centralized location of the hotel as well as our competitive price are a major reason guests choose to stay with us, and also not to mention our various complimentary amenities as well. If your travels bring you back to the Waikiki area please contact us directly for our best available rates.
Mahalo,
Daniel Floren
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, MI
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We got a great deal on this hotel for 3 nights and I'm glad we stayed there vs our backup plan which was closer to Diamond Head. The front desk staff was friendly and approachable (especially Ali), though some seemed to know the area better than others. The furnishings and decor were contemporary although the drawer/storage space was limited and the room certainly is small. This didn't bother us too much as we were only there for 3 nights before heading to the BI so we just kept everything in the suitcases in the closet.

The only cons were: no view to speak of; our room faced an adjacent apartment building, the laughably small balcony with one scrubby plastic chair, and the limited valet parking which forced us to park across the street every day.

The location was right in the midst of the shopping area with lots of moderately priced restaurants nearby and a short walk to the beach. Excellent value!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gweneddk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreline H, Front Office Manager at Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Aloha gwenddk,
Thank you for your kind words on Tripadvisor! We take absolute pride when our Front Desk Hosts are mentioned; we will definitely commend Aly and let her know to keep up the great work. While our “City View” rooms face the surrounding areas of the building our property also offers “Partial Ocean View” rooms that offer a more pleasing and relaxing view, for your next trip to Hawaii please consider booking one of these rooms. Thank you once again for taking the time to share your experience with us we greatly appreciate your comments.
Mahalo,
Daniel Floren
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Did a staycation here and the hotel is a pleasant surprise. It's double glass doors kept a lot of street noise out. It's actually a short block and half down an alley from the beach. Centrally located from shopping dining etc. The room fixtures look new, bath fixtures are modern. There is one warning for your shin, the bed frame extends beyond the mattress, so be careful not to kick it while walking in the dark. I enjoy it's shower a lot because the curtain frame is circular which keeps the curtain away from your body. Over all it's an excellent hotel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank drfish2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreline H, Front Office Manager at Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Aloha drfish2000 and Mahalo for your 5 star review!
Thank you for your kind comments we really appreciate them. It’s pleasing knowing that you found our hotel quiet, convenient, and relaxing. As for the bed frame protruding out past the mattress our housekeeping and maintenance departments work diligently so that mishaps like that can be avoided and have since corrected the issue. Once again thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us we hope to have the pleasure of having you stay with us again.
Mahalo,
Daniel Floren,
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

I would say this hotel is average. Our room was VERY small! So small that it was difficult to find a spot to put our luggage and eventually resorted to storing one of our bags in the closet and had to keep the door open for it to fit. Good price and close to the beach. I think we could have found better for the price however.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sachique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreline H, Front Office Manager at Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Aloha Sachique,
Thank you for taking time to share your recent experience with us. While it is unfortunate that you found your recent accommodation to be small, we do offer larger room categories also at a competitive price that may better suit your needs. In the future consider booking one of our Junior Suites if your travels bring you back to the Waikiki area. Again thank you for your review and kind words.
Mahalo,
Daniel Floren,
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

stayed in the hotel from 29 April for 14 days with my daughter and grandaughter for 14 days and was extremely pleased with the choice. We stayed on the 14th floor in a junior suite - big enough for 3 females!!! even had a walk in wardrobe. arrived early and could not book in until 3pm but they held our baggage and gave us towels so that we could go to the pool or beach until our room was ready. after a walk along the beach we then went to the pool on the roof and although small was big enough. Hardly anyone there and we went every day, even I had a swim which was unusual. the hotel is so close to everything and was always spotlessly clean. Free wifi saved us a fortune as we used viper for contact to Australia. Free tea and coffee and also cool drinks were free (in the foyer) which was real good after coming in from the heat. Right opposite is a store called Ross, some really good deals for clothes. Staff at front desk were always friendly and helpful. Cannot fault this hotel and would definately stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 14th floor in a junior suite so was big enough for 3 people, noise was not a proble...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jemnlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreline H, Front Office Manager at Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Aloha jemnlady and thank you for your 5 star review of our hotel!
It is pleasing to know that we were able to accommodate you and your family well during your two week stay. Our front desk hosts love assisting our guests with directions, suggestions, and any other requests our guests have. We are glad the hotels proximity to restaurants, beaches, and shops were to your liking as well. Your kind comments will absolutely be shared with our staff. If your travels bring you back to the Waikiki area please visit us again.
Mahalo,
Daniel Floren
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#11 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#12 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,214 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Hotel Renew
Hotel Renew
#16 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,245 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,242 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#25 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shoreline Hotel Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shoreline Hotel Waikiki

Property: Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
Address: 342 Seaside Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2527 (Formerly Seaside Hotel )
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#19 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#28 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shoreline Hotel Waikiki 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a destination that’s famous for being popular, the Shoreline is comfortable in its own skin. The hotel — 135 rooms over 14 floors — has a scale absent from most Waikiki Resorts, and the 1970s design creates a contemporary feel. Accommodations are bright and well‑appointed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotelopia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shoreline Hotel Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing