We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat the location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
Ranked #21 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Can't beat the location”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed here for two nights in June. We chose this place based on our past positive experiences with his hotel chain and it's convenient location.
The check-in was smooth. Loved how the lobby always had the 24hr beverage stations as well as apples and newspapers. Shout out to Tyson from Dana Pointe at the front desk who was not only friendly and knowledgeable, but was breaking a sweat from multitasking whenever we saw him.
The room we got was a standard. So definitely not much room to move about, but still very modern and hip. I really like how the have energy saver air conditioner using your hotel key. The toiletries are of good quality as usual and you get a real hair dryer to use.
Note there is no gym here. There is a pool on the rooftop, but we did not use since the beach was close by.
The hotel is very central to all the shopping. No need really to rent a car if you aren't planning to venture far from Waikiki beach.
Just steps away from the hotel is a small japanese cafe/convenience store Masubi Cafe. Good food and super affordable. Would recommend checking it out if you're for a quick bite.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lucianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreline H, Front Office Manager at Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Aloha Lucianne,
Thank you for your kind words and giving a shout out to our front desk host Tyson. Tyson enjoys going the extra mile for our guests making sure they have an enjoyable stay. While our hotel does not have a gym we do offer day 24 Hour Fitness gym passes for a fee keep that in mind if you happen to stay with us again. The hotels centralized location and competitive pricing is an absolute benefit for all of our guests and just a few of the many reasons to stay with us. With that being said we hope to see you again if your travels bring you back to Waikiki.
Mahalo,
Daniel Floren,
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    703
    571
    156
    46
    15
See reviews for
206
815
164
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Country NSW
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed here for four nights and could not fault anything about this property. Staff were very helpful and friendly any time we approached the front desk. Rooms were clean and comfortable and very quiet. Daily newspaper, internet and free beverages were just the added extras that made our stay even more enjoyable. You get the impression that the staff are very interested in their jobs and the daily updates on the notice board were great to read. The location of this motel is fabulous. Walking distance to the beach (towels supplied daily at the front desk) and all the main restaurants and shops in Waikiki. We would certainly consider staying at the Shoreline again and were very impressed with this property.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LouiseS220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreline H, Front Office Manager at Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Aloha LouiseS220,
Thank you for sharing your review of your recent Hawaiian vacation. I take great pride when our front desk hosts are mentioned for their hard work all the while displaying the spirit of Aloha. They all know that they are the initial point of contact for our guests and love giving suggestions of where and how to enjoy the beauty that O’ahu has to offer. Once again thank you for your kind comments we hope to be able to accommodate you in the near future.
Mahalo,
Daniel Floren
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

we stayed here for 4 nights in november and we enjoyed ourselves. Easy valet parking and the staff were friendly and helpful. the bummer was that the restaurant wasnt open but im sure it is by now. our room was modern and clean and very comfortable. some people complain about the street noise but we didnt hear any.
Great location and a great price.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jg26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreline H, Front Office Manager at Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Aloha jg26,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to accommodate you well. Thank you for mentioning our Front Office Staff as each and every team member makes an emphasis to provide a memorable stay for each of our guests. If your travels bring you back to our beautiful island please contact us directly for our best available rates.
Mahalo,
Daniel Floren,
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

If you are not looking for a resort hotel, but looking for a hotel in a great central location, with nice, clean rooms and efficient service, look no further than the Shoreline. We had seven nights here in May 2014 and really enjoyed staying there. It is a cute little hotel, modernized and very comfortable. The bed and pillows were great and I am very fussy! We had a view of the disgusting building next door, and a tiny peep of the sea! Honestly, given the quality of the hotel, the cost, and the little time we spent in our room, it was not a big deal. Why would you pay for a resort hotel and view when it appears you can use the facilities of the pools on the beach anyway during the day. If we ever return to Waikiki, we will be staying at the Shoreline again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Megan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreline H, Front Office Manager at Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Aloha Megan F
Thank you for your 4 star review. We are thrilled knowing we exceeded your expectations and were able to provide a memorable stay. While it is true we are not a bigger resort our hotel more than makes up for it with our centralized location, complimentary amenities, and competitive room rates. Not to mention our hotel does not charge any “resort fees” that bigger hotels charge. While it is unfortunate that the view from your room was not to your liking our city view accommodations face the surrounding areas of where this building is placed. For your next trip please consider booking one of our partial ocean view rooms. Thank you once again for your kind words we hope to be able to accommodate you once again.
Mahalo,
Daniel Floren,
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longmeadow, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
179 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

A very nice place to begin our Hawaiian vacation. We did not have a car and the location proved to be just fine. We were able to walk to the beach, to a number of excellent restaurants, and was accessible to trolleys or buses. The room was clean and well appointed. There was a great chalkboard welcoming newlyweds and teaching us non-Hawaiians some Hawaiian terminology - a nice homey touch. The front desk staff was great; very pleasant and very knowledgeable. A great first choice of hotel for our trip ...

Room Tip: We chose a high level room and we were able to see the mountains from one direction on our porch and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreline H, Front Office Manager at Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Aloha Deb G,
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your review. Yes I do agree that while staying in Waikiki a car is not needed being that everything is in walking distance from our hotel. Kudos to you for being a savvy traveler. We are delighted that you found our room clean and well-appointed and honored by your compliment regarding our Front Desk Hosts. Once again thank you for taking the time out of your day to write your review. Please do see again sooner rather than later.
Mahalo,
Daniel Floren
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here for five nights in April - May 2014. I was really impressed by the location of the hotel for the price, it was a really short walk to Waikiki beach and the main shopping/dining area. The decor in the room and lobby is nice and it feels really clean and modern. I think it is stretching it to call the view we had a 'city view' as it is more a view of the apartment next door but it didn't really bother us due to the view from the beach a short walk away.
I really enjoyed the quirky touches in the hotel, like the pineapple ice-tea, flavoured water and pink lemonade available in the lobby and the chalkboard with facts and information about the area. The staff were all really friendly and had some good recommendations on places to visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MeganJones88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreline H, Front Office Manager at Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Aloha MeganJones88,
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. We are thrilled that the location and price point of our hotel fit your budget and that our staff was able to accommodate you well. The centralized location of the hotel as well as our competitive price are a major reason guests choose to stay with us, and also not to mention our various complimentary amenities as well. If your travels bring you back to the Waikiki area please contact us directly for our best available rates.
Mahalo,
Daniel Floren
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, MI
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We got a great deal on this hotel for 3 nights and I'm glad we stayed there vs our backup plan which was closer to Diamond Head. The front desk staff was friendly and approachable (especially Ali), though some seemed to know the area better than others. The furnishings and decor were contemporary although the drawer/storage space was limited and the room certainly is small. This didn't bother us too much as we were only there for 3 nights before heading to the BI so we just kept everything in the suitcases in the closet.

The only cons were: no view to speak of; our room faced an adjacent apartment building, the laughably small balcony with one scrubby plastic chair, and the limited valet parking which forced us to park across the street every day.

The location was right in the midst of the shopping area with lots of moderately priced restaurants nearby and a short walk to the beach. Excellent value!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gweneddk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreline H, Front Office Manager at Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Aloha gwenddk,
Thank you for your kind words on Tripadvisor! We take absolute pride when our Front Desk Hosts are mentioned; we will definitely commend Aly and let her know to keep up the great work. While our “City View” rooms face the surrounding areas of the building our property also offers “Partial Ocean View” rooms that offer a more pleasing and relaxing view, for your next trip to Hawaii please consider booking one of these rooms. Thank you once again for taking the time to share your experience with us we greatly appreciate your comments.
Mahalo,
Daniel Floren
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#10 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#12 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,220 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Hotel Renew
Hotel Renew
#16 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,246 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,251 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#25 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shoreline Hotel Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shoreline Hotel Waikiki

Property: Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
Address: 342 Seaside Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2527 (Formerly Seaside Hotel )
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#19 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#28 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shoreline Hotel Waikiki 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a destination that’s famous for being popular, the Shoreline is comfortable in its own skin. The hotel — 135 rooms over 14 floors — has a scale absent from most Waikiki Resorts, and the 1970s design creates a contemporary feel. Accommodations are bright and well‑appointed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shoreline Hotel Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing